GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#973996 - 08/18/14 07:19 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35566
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: JKEerie
Well...the response from Asus was to re-install my operating system and restore the laptop to its out-of-the-box condition. This seems rather drastic considering I am having an issue with a single game only and otherwise the laptop is working fine. (I would really hate to lose all the programs and game downloads I have installed.) Does this seem like a reasonable suggestion to anyone?

Usually the restore to factory defaults only takes about 10 minutes (assuming you're using a restore partition). But then you'd have all those Windows updates to do afterwards, which would take much longer. It would get rid of damaged files. But it's possible the game still won't work, since we don't really know why it won't work.

Quote:
I just filed a ticket with AMD and will see if they can suggest a repair to the Open GL files. If they cannot, I may take the laptop to a local computer guy and have him update drivers and BIOS, VBIOS etc, since I have not upgraded any of this since I purchased it in 2010. When I have tried to update the graphics driver myself, it installs but I lose the native 1600x900 screen resolution on the laptop so I always end up rolling back to the Asus driver.

I'm not sure I understand. Do you mean the 1600x900 resolution isn't available when you access the Display options? If it isn't, did you check "List All Modes?"
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/255-screen-resolution-display-settings.html

Top
#973998 - 08/18/14 07:50 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
Thank you for your response, Jenny100.

To answer your question, the 1600x900 resolution does not display on the dropdown list of resolutions when I go to Screen Resolution when I right click on the desktop. The top resolution is 1152 (or something like that x ? (can't recall the 2nd number). I have never checked the "list all modes" under the advanced settings.

Top
#974694 - 08/23/14 04:35 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
One more update and I wish to report SUCCESS!

I got a response from the folks at AMD about the graphics driver. They believe that the atioglxx.dll was corrupted during install. Rather than having me uninstall the driver and reinstall using the AMD Install Manager...which is what I did prior...they had me use the Control panel to change the AMD Catalyst Install, and remove all the AMD software including the Install Manager. Then they suggested I use Driver Fusion to clean any remaining files and the registry. Unfortunately, Driver Fusion just hung on my system causing a hard restart. So I used Driver Sweeper instead to perform the task. I then reinstalled the drivers from ASUS (strongly recommended my AMD as their reference drivers are not always compatible with laptop drivers.) The result is now, Alter Ego launches and plays with no difficulties on the ASUS machine.

So...problem solved. Thanks to all who offered support via this thread. The solution sure beat reinstalling the operating system!

Top
#974766 - 08/24/14 07:41 AM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
Cathy1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 05/10/03
Posts: 7263
Loc: Calgary Alberta Canada
Congrats JK.
_________________________
" If Cornoil Comes From Corn
Where Doe's Babyoil Come From "

Top
#974780 - 08/24/14 11:12 AM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10155
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I'm not going to lie - I never thought you even hear back from AMD! Interesting resolution - I have filed Driver Sweeper for future reference as I've never used it.

Persistence pays off once again!
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#974789 - 08/24/14 12:01 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35566
Loc: southeast USA
Thank you for describing the details of what helped you, JKEerie.
It's interesting that they suggest not using the reference drivers.
It used to be that it wasn't even possible to install anything but the laptop drivers from the laptop manufacturer on a laptop -- the install simply stopped if the installer didn't detect the appropriate hardware.

Damaged drivers often require a complete uninstall by something like Driver Cleaner. Simply updating the drivers won't get rid of damaged files if both sets of drivers use the same damaged file.

If you want to know what has to be done to completely remove drivers, someone posted a manual procedure here
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=379461

As you can see, it's not just a matter of deleting files. There are also many registry entries. This is why people use tools like Driver Sweeper -- quicker to use and less prone to error.

ATI used to have their own driver removal tool that you could download from their website, but they seem to be relying on outside sources now -- maybe because tools like Driver Sweeper worked better than their own tool.

Top
#974840 - 08/24/14 03:31 PM Re: Alter Ego strikes again [Re: JKEerie]
JKEerie Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/30/04
Posts: 895
Loc: WNY
Thank you, Cathy1!

Drac: It took a couple of days for AMD to respond, but they did. Interesting that their response included a disclaimer for Driver Fusion, LOL. Considering it gave my system fits I don't blame them. I'm surprised that ASUS didn't suggest a possible corruption and removal/reinstall of the driver, versus the drastic measure of restoring my computer to "out of the box" condition.
Driver Sweeper was very easy to use, BTW.

Jenny100: ASUS has a Republic of Gaming Website where a moderator has posted links to drivers not on the ASUS support site for the various notebook computers. Hard core gamers require more frequent driver updates, particularly for the graphics. However, ASUS does not officially recommend anything other than their drivers. Considering they market this laptop and others as gaming laptops, you would think they would provide updated drivers, but they don't.

As to ATI, their instructions were very good and acknowledged basically what you said. They mentioned how their reference drivers are tweaked by the laptop manufacturers to optimize the laptop. That's why they don't recommend not using the manufacturer drivers due to compatibility issues. Their driver setup provides an uninstall option prior to reinstall, but as you pointed out, it does not do a thorough job.

This was a learning experience for me, and I always learn so much from the gurus in these threads. I wanted to post to acknowledge that a solution was found and thank those who offered support and encouragement. It is much appreciated.

Top
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
7 registered (kjos, ViktorTheBoar, SharonB, Redz, CCbomber, BobH, aretha), 47 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Newest Members
ViktorTheBoar, ryan_khatam, BabyBloomer, denton9, TheProphet
8567 Registered Users