GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Adventure games with arcade components #953971
05/03/14 10:14 PM
05/03/14 10:14 PM
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Reenie Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Reenie  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

I've been playing adventure games for more than 25 years now. Big fan here. I love to explore, solve pesky problems and puzzles, etc. I don't play Action games and RPGs, although I've played a few adventure games where I've had to shoot to survive a tough spot. It is OK in small doses if it is essential to the story but I don't go looking for it. I am even less of an Arcade or Platform gamer. Far less. I'm temperamentally unsuited for high-pressure, nerve-wracking timed sequences that must be played over and over again until you finally get the timing or the jumping or the juggling of cats just right. I'll leave that to those who love it.

What I've encountered in the past couple of years is more of both these elements (Action and Arcade) included in the standard Adventure genre. Being unable to get past an arcade-type sequence has forced me to bail on more than one game, and in one case, only part way into it. Disappointing, to say the least.

Is it a general trend to conflate these game genre or was I just unlucky enough to encounter the few Adventure games that did this? I'd sure like to avoid it in the future. Just curious.

Re: Adventure games with arcade components [Re: Reenie] #953987
05/04/14 12:42 AM
05/04/14 12:42 AM
Rivellon
T
traveler Offline
Addicted Boomer
traveler  Offline
Addicted Boomer
T

Rivellon
Avoid Gemini Rue then.
Luckily, I played a demo before I plunked any money down on it.