GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Amerzone #88279
07/14/02 02:47 AM
07/14/02 02:47 AM
pretzel Offline OP
Shy Boomer
pretzel  Offline OP
Shy Boomer

I have just finished Amerzone yesterday, and enjoyed this game so much, that I had an urge to write about it. I have never written a review before, so this is going to be a bit unstructued...

Overall impression : A great game, and a great experience! If you never played it, do it now! If you have, you're probably "seeing" the cutscenes in your mind right now.

Score : A

This is a strange beast. It's weird because when cut down to the elements that make an adventure game, most of them are mediocre and even bad. But somehow, the game has so much charm that all is forgiven. For this reason, I will not give scores to the elements.

The elements :

Story
The story is good and with a lot of potential. Before you start out on your journey you already know most of it, and are intrigued by it.
Once you're on your journey, not much advancement is made in the story.

Interface
The gaming interface is simple and standard. The printed-matter interface is annoying. Once a page has been read, you can't go back. You will have to finish reading whatever you're reading and start over.
Also, at some point in the game, you have to operate the hydrafloat in a specific way. While it is clear what you must do, the interface there is so bad that it took me another session to manage doing it. And even then it was by accident.

Stability
The game freezed on me at least once on every session. Also, the cut-scenes were very blocky on my computer.