GB HOMEPAGE

Snowy day Baldur's Gate

Posted By: fildil

Snowy day Baldur's Gate - 02/12/06 07:28 PM

Since it started snowing yesterday long before they said it would, I knew that I would be snowed in for a while. I started Baldur's Gate which I have had for quite some time and could never play. Just a couple of questions please. What is the minimum amount of people you should have in your party? I'm not good with handling a lot and having them fight around me. I tend to lose track of them and all of a sudden they're dead. eek Can I just have Imoen with me and complete the game? Also, is there some trick with fighting? I keep whacking people and things with my sword and I keep getting an identifying sign telling me what or who they are and it's very hard to kill them. I'm really at the beginning of the game (I just got to the Friendly Arms Inn) but I don't find it easy. I may just play this game until the snow melts. laugh
Posted By: Sig Segorn

Re: Snowy day Baldur's Gate - 02/12/06 08:56 PM

Hi, Fildil. You don't have to have other party members, but it's recommended, as the combat gets more challenging. Imoen's good to have for thief-type duties, but you'd be hard-pressed to complete the game with just her and your main character. But it's a big game with a number of recruitable characters here and there, so there's no rush on fleshing out your party. I'd recommend using a walkthrough, and, if you need it (like I did), there's a character editor available that helps. Can't remember the gameplay well enough to give you any fighting tips, but I think you have to take enemies' resistances and vulnerabilities into account to make your attacks more effective. It's a real good game, but you sorta gotta sink your teeth into it, if you know what I mean.
Posted By: Schwab35

Re: Snowy day Baldur's Gate - 02/12/06 09:30 PM

Like Sig said, the game is considerably harder with a smaller party, especially for the bigger fights along the main storyline.