question about KVM switch / refresh rate

Posted by: fov

question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 12/30/03 05:42 PM

I am going to buy a KVM switch soon so I can put my newer and older computers on the same monitor. I'm looking at the all-in-one styles from Belkin or Iogear.

My XP machine is set to 1024 x 768 / 100 Hz. The refresh rate needs to be this high because there's an electromagnetic force right outside my apartment. My older computer is set to 800 x 600 -- I'm not sure of the refresh rate, but it's definitely lower than 100 Hz. (I am not actually sure if win98 supports that high of a rate?) For whatever reason, it wasn't an option for me to set it that high on the older machine.

If I get a KVM switch, do I need to have the two computers set at the same resolution for the switch to work correctly? If I'm on XP with a refresh rate of 100Hz, and I switch over to the 98 machine without changing to refresh rate to something lower (i.e., switching with a refresh rate that win98 doesn't support), is something bad going to happen?

I don't mind changing the resolution / refresh rate on one computer before switching over to the other, but knowing me I'll forget to do that.

-emily
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 12/30/03 05:54 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by fov:
apartment. My older computer is set to 800 x 600 -- I'm not sure of the refresh rate, but it's definitely lower than 100 Hz. (I am not actually sure if win98 supports that high of a rate?)
Possibly a limitation of Plug 'n Play drivers for the monitor or a limitation of the video card.
I've had refresh rates of up to 160 Hz available for my Win 98. If you want a higher refresh rate, you might check for new monitor drivers for your specific monitor.

Quote:

If I get a KVM switch, do I need to have the two computers set at the same resolution for the switch to work correctly?
No. The monitor should detect the change in what it's attached to and adjust accordingly. You'll probably see it flicker a few times as it adjusts to the change in computers, no matter what the refresh rates are set for.

Quote:

If I'm on XP with a refresh rate of 100Hz, and I switch over to the 98 machine without changing to refresh rate to something lower (i.e., switching with a refresh rate that win98 doesn't support), is something bad going to happen?
I doubt it. Not if you have a good quality KVM.
Posted by: fov

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 12/30/03 05:59 PM

Quote:
Possibly a limitation of Plug 'n Play drivers for the monitor or a limitation of the video card. I've had refresh rates of up to 160 Hz available for my Win 98. If you want a higher refresh rate, you might check for new monitor drivers for your specific monitor.
I never even thought of this!

Since the win98 machine isn't online (no modem), a lot of the drivers on there are plug-and-play. I just never bothered to get better ones. As far as I know, the video is just onboard video (the machine used to be an NT workstation in my office -- it's a Dell Optiplex). The monitor's a Dell too... I will check Dell's site and see if there are better drivers I should be using.

smile emily
Posted by: lasanidine

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 12/30/03 06:34 PM

The refresh rate is supported by your monitor and depends on it and on the video card. I have 2 computers on a Belkin KVM Switch and each is set at a different refresh rate.

This is not your poblem but sound could be depending on what kind of switch you buy. There are switches that support sound. If you buy one that does not than you have to buy a sound splitter to your speakers unless you have a monitor with built in speakers. I have separate speakers and use a splitter from US Electronics.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 12/30/03 08:02 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by fov:


Since the win98 machine isn't online (no modem), a lot of the drivers on there are plug-and-play. I just never bothered to get better ones. As far as I know, the video is just onboard video (the machine used to be an NT workstation in my office -- it's a Dell Optiplex). The monitor's a Dell too... I will check Dell's site and see if there are better drivers I should be using.

smile emily
Monitor drivers usually consist of an inf file that is only a few KB. Very small download. Look for monitor drivers for your model monitor on the website of the company that made the monitor. However, an onboard video card may not be capable of higher refresh rates than what you're getting.
Posted by: ladyyve

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 12/30/03 08:10 PM

I'm using an Iogear kvm switch with no problems.
Posted by: lasanidine

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 01/01/04 05:55 PM

I have one of those with the cables attached, that is the one that I need the sound splittler with.
Posted by: Gamehound

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 01/01/04 07:57 PM

What your resoultion and refresh rate are set to depends on the OS and/or the computer you boot into. The monitor takes direction from the video card settings within the OS. You can have 800x600 on one OS of a dual boot computer, and 1024x768 on another boot on the same computer (both using the same video card). On another computer entirely, you can have 640x480 set.


Gamehound
Posted by: granny

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 01/01/04 09:57 PM

I just posted this on my WOOT!! thread. It's a GREAT price for the whole deal.
...............
FYI - thumbsup
I found the perfect KVM Switch WITH Audio, and all the goodies that it needs for installation here-

link for KVM switch with audio
Posted by: fov

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 01/01/04 11:25 PM

Thanks for all the responses.

This is the one I'm looking at.

I think I am going to just deal with plugging my speakers into one computer or the other... or ultimately, may buy a new set of speakers for $8ish for the second machine.

-emily
Posted by: BillyBob

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 01/02/04 08:50 AM

fov.........

I've been thinking of getting one of these type switches, too. Hadn't thought of the speaker problem though. I notice the one for $ 24/25 conveniently doesn't mention the sound although the more expensive one does. That is quite a difference in price but both say, except for speakers, pretty much the same thing. laugh
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 01/02/04 09:19 AM

KVM switches don't normally come with audio, so usually don't mention if they don't have it.
KVM stands for Keyboard Video Mouse.
Posted by: Gamehound

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 01/02/04 09:21 AM

I found that 6 foot cables can be a problem at times. For me, I opted for a 4-port KVM (I believe I paid $60 for it at the time) and 10 foot cables (browse to the KVM section... apparently this board doesn't like long URLs, or I would have posted a direct link to them).

The IOGear model you posted, with 6ft cables, may suffice for your needs though.


Gamehound
Posted by: syd

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 01/02/04 05:01 PM

Emily that's the KVM switch I have right now and it works great - I have my W98 and XP hooked up to it. I don't leave both computers on at the same time since I will only be using the W98 for games that won't play on XP. Can't see leaving that one on to burn up electricity laugh I use headphones so I have a set plugged into each computer - it's so nice not to have to crawl under the table and disconnect all the time.

The 6' cords work fine for me but my computers are close to each other so it's not a problem.
Posted by: maryc64

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 04/04/04 01:34 AM

KVM speaker switches??
I read this thread. Just bought a KVM thingie to connect two computers to use same keyboard, mouse, and monitor.
Is there one for speakers? I have a Creative system with three, green, black, light orange cords.
Darn! Is there a KVM switch to cover all the above items? Have I made a mistake? Oh well...
Is there one for just the speakers? I need links or eBay links. I know little about this and just learned, here, about KVM switches and ran and bought one for the description above and they didn't have one for speakers.
What to order? Thanks! I'm sorry, I have to come here for straight answers and sorry to bump threads. But sometimes it's just easier to come here as I tried searches and get lost as I'm not techie enough!
Posted by: MrLipid

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 04/04/04 08:03 AM

Sounds like you are looking for something like the Belkin OmniView 4-port KVM/audio/USB/PS2 Switch.

You can read a review HERE .
Posted by: maryc64

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 04/04/04 03:01 PM

I just want to thank you! Sometimes thanking people isn't frequent enough here. We need to support each other!
If you are checking out the threads and have more knowledge, please share, please!
I have a few other threads going and others added their questions, too, at times, like the one about backing up Win XP!http://www.gameboomers.com/ubboard/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=5;t=005435
The mods can't do it all so any help in this forum is much appreciated for those of us who are less techie! /bow!
Posted by: BillyBob

Re: question about KVM switch / refresh rate - 04/04/04 06:12 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by maryc64:
The mods can't do it all so any help in this forum is much appreciated for those of us who are less techie! /bow!
I do the best I can with the little "smarts" I have. laugh