Syberia

Posted by: Duststorm

Syberia - 12/30/03 08:53 PM

I am trying to play Syberia. "Trying" is the key word here. The game plays perfectly until I get to the point where Oscar tell Kate to take a seat as the train is leaving. When the scene fades so does my monitor. My moniter goes blank and I have to boot up in the safe mode. I check my device manager and I see that all of a sudden I have a driver installed for three other monitors than what I have. Also some strange drivers installed,
one of them is duplicated five times, under the heading of systems. Once I clear all of this and restart I try to play the game and when the menu appears no matter what I click on the game freezes and require a manual boot.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Syberia - 12/30/03 11:16 PM

That's weird.
I've never heard of this problem before.
Is Syberia the only game it's happened with?
Do the extra monitor drivers appear when you try to run other games?
Posted by: Duststorm

Re: Syberia - 12/31/03 11:01 AM

This is the only game I have played that caused any of these problems. Do you think that if I could get a saved game, from some generous Boomer,that would get me past this point it would allow me to continue?
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Syberia - 12/31/03 12:32 PM

It's worth a try. If you could get a saved game past that location where you get the crash, hopefully there would be no more problems.

Also, there is a patch for Syberia here
http://www.adventurecompanygames.com/tac/support/syberia.html

It is supposed to fix "Random freezing when descending giant robot komkolzgrad." Did you apply the patch before starting the game?

I don't know what to do about those extra monitor drivers though. Do they come back even if you don't play the game? Maybe they have nothing to do with the game and it's coincidental that you found them at the same time you were having troubles with Syberia.
Posted by: Howard the Doc

Re: Syberia - 12/31/03 01:21 PM

What about running antivirus software just on the Siberia folder? (I hope this is not in the patch. I have run the patch but not played since then.)
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Syberia - 12/31/03 02:48 PM

If you mean scanning the Syberia folder with your antivirus, there's no problem with that. But I wouldn't recommed using an antivirus while you're playing the game.
Posted by: Duststorm

Re: Syberia - 12/31/03 04:37 PM

Thanks Jennie, the only time I have had this problem is when I am running Syberia. I checked the computer drive before I tried to run this game again and they were not on my computer.When I came to the train leaving again my computer glitched the same way and then when I checked the drivers for the other monitors were there again.
If I asked for a saved game should I go to the Help section and post. I could send my last save game that was just before the crash.Maybe someone could play off that one and send it back to me after the station.
Don
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Syberia - 12/31/03 04:49 PM

If you want a saved game, you might try posting over in Hints.

By the way, that's such bizarre behavior having those drivers added. I wonder if you have a corrupt installation. Maybe you should try uninstalling and reinstalling. It might also be a bad CD that is the culprit.
Posted by: Duststorm

Re: Syberia - 12/31/03 07:31 PM

Thanks, I will post over in hints. I have uninstalled and reloaded more than once. I also have installed this game from two different games. I get the same results from both. My friend installed one of the games on his computer and it runs great. He had no trouble when he has left the station. A person thinks he has seen it all and then something like this crops up.
Thanks for your help Jennie