Booting from a floppy.

Posted by: Jen

Booting from a floppy. - 04/04/04 12:17 PM

I'm trying to boot from a floppy so that i can reformat the computer but it wont let me. I've changed it in the setup so it says that it should start with the floppy when it boots up but it says "non-system disk or disk error replace and press any key" than it wont go any furthur until i take this disk out which means it doesn't boot to the floppy. i must have done something wrong?!
Any ideas (again)
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/04/04 01:24 PM

Where did you get the boot floppy?
It sounds like it wasn't made "bootable."

To make a floppy bootable, you need to type
SYS A:
at a DOS prompt, or, when you first format it, use the /S switch so the line is
FORMAT A: /S
(leave a space before the /S)

It's best to start with a bootable floppy before you add files to it.
Posted by: Jen

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/06/04 07:00 AM

woohoo! I did it! I'm so proud. The only problem is that it must have deleted the software for my sound card and I haven't got it on disk and I don't know what sound card I have so I am gonna have to buy a new one!
Something bad was bound to happen!
Posted by: BillyBob

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/06/04 08:31 AM

If you buy a new sound card then you'll have to take out the old one......why not take it out now and see what you can find printed on it to tell you which brand and model it is. Then you could probably go to the manufacturer's internet site and download new drivers. laugh
Posted by: MrLipid

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/06/04 10:17 AM

What is on this bootable floppy? Does it have autoexec.bat and config.sys files? Once the system has booted, are the drivers for the CD, mouse and soundcard installed?
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/06/04 01:35 PM

Check this thread , Mr. Lipid.
Posted by: MrLipid

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/06/04 01:54 PM

Ah, yes...that thread. I'd comment, but I just washed my hands and I can't do a thing with them.
Posted by: Jen

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/06/04 02:08 PM

Is that sarcasm Mr Lipid?! Just becuase I'm useless...
Posted by: MrLipid

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/06/04 02:24 PM

Not a bit of it. In no way were my comments directed at you, Jen.

I would never suggest that anyone confronting the rat's nest of modern computing is useless. Ever.
Posted by: Llewton

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/07/04 08:53 PM

In windows help look up making a "startup disk". Follow the directions and the computer will make a startup disk for you. If you have Windows 98 or SE (with ME or XP go to Windows Help and type in Startup disk) you can do this:
open the Add/Remove Programs Properties dialog box at the Startup Disk tab by clicking Start, pointing to Settings, clicking Control Panel, double-clicking Add/Remove Programs, and then clicking the Startup Disk tab.
To make a startup disk, you will need one floppy disk with at least 1.2 MB capacity.
When you insert the startup disk in your computer before restarting, the computer starts from that disk, not from your hard drive.
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/08/04 12:09 PM

To make a bootable floppy the easy way:

1 insert a blank floppy
2 go to CONTROL PANEL, ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS
3 click STARTUP tab
4 click CREATE DISK

...........Bingo, good luck
Posted by: Llewton

Re: Booting from a floppy. - 04/08/04 12:29 PM

Ziggy, see post above yours, LOL