Aura patch available!

Posted by: friedmonky

Aura patch available! - 08/07/04 06:21 PM

I know alot of you were waiting for this!

You can get it here:
http://www.3dgamers.com/games/aura/#filelist

Rusty smile
Posted by: MaG

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/07/04 07:21 PM

Thanks, Rusty! Good find! <img border="0" alt="bravo" title="" src="graemlins/bravo.gif " />

Hope it helps most of the video problems.
Posted by: friedmonky

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/07/04 07:59 PM

You're welcome MaG! Glad to help out.

Rusty smile
Posted by: SillyEagle

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/07/04 09:27 PM

whooo hooo! Maybe I'll finally get to play the game tonight! Thanks fm!
Posted by: Glynn

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/07/04 11:35 PM

Thanks Rusty! Well....I just downloaded the patch, maybe I did it wrong, but as soon as it downloaded and I clicked on it to extract the files, it did that and "reinstalled" the game..which took about 30 minutes..no change in the stuttering! Now I am wondering if the patch was applied to the game, or if I need to do that still??? anyone know?? MaG? Wahhhh.. frown Glynn
Posted by: Renee63

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/07/04 11:53 PM

I guess there is a patch...........
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 12:13 AM

I wish that patch had come with more information.
When I unzipped it, it opened to a file called Aura1Patch.msp

I've never seen a patch as an .msp file before.
I wish it had come with instructions and a list of what it fixed.
Posted by: Renee63

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 12:18 AM

So do I definitely have to install this patch or what? Does it automatically install to the game or what problems did you have Jenny?
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 12:24 AM

You don't definitely need to install it. I think it was supposed to solve the problem of the cursor becoming unresponsive (which many gamers have had, but not everyone). Maybe it was for something else too.
I was waiting for the patch before playing Aura in order to avoid the cursor problem.
Posted by: SillyEagle

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 12:44 AM

Well... I still can't play the game. I got 1 step ahead of where it kept crashing the LAST time.. and it still keeps crashing straight to the desktop.

Not that I'm a whiner.. but I sort of resent paying someone 20 bucks for something I can't play, and they won't support. I don't think it's fair to rely on message forum regulars to do their tech support for them. This sux. mad

I was really looking forward to playing the game. No reason it shouldn't play on any of my systems either.

I'll keep an eye out here.. if anyone has ANY ideas which might help... I'm open to hear them. I've already gleaned alot of info from the boards, but nothing so far has helped. Thanks.
Posted by: Glynn

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 07:48 AM

SillyEagle, How did the patch install into your game? Did it re-install the entire game? mine did, I had to insert each of the 3 disks, that's why I'm not sure I did it right. Anyway...I wrote a note to Sergey and asked what the patch was supposed to be for, and also mentioned that it didn't help with the game crashing or the stuttering/stalling problem I had...will post when/if I hear anything! Glynn
Posted by: Glynn

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 07:57 AM

Jenny...I wonder if this subject should be posted in "Games Discussion" ? I almost missed it here in "Glitches" as I don't always check here! smile Glynn [Thanks again Rusty!]

Edit...Oh Geez..sorry blush I didn't see it in "Discussions"
Posted by: SillyEagle

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 08:21 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by Glynn:
SillyEagle, How did the patch install into your game? Did it re-install the entire game? mine did, I had to insert each of the 3 disks, that's why I'm not sure I did it right. Anyway...I wrote a note to Sergey and asked what the patch was supposed to be for, and also mentioned that it didn't help with the game crashing or the stuttering/stalling problem I had...will post when/if I hear anything! Glynn
Glynn... yes. I had the same experience. The msp file is just an executable.. so I executed it. LOL And it reinstalled the entire thing.. also calling for the entire set of discs. Soooo... I guess we just hurry up and wait. I'll watch for a response.. thanks for writing to him. I'm too aggravated and I probably wouldn't be very nice about it. laugh
Posted by: Glynn

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 08:28 AM

I am aggravated too..but I thought a little "honey" might go better right now.. smile Glynn
Posted by: friedmonky

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 09:12 AM

Sorry everyone, I assumed it was a patch to correct the problems. It obviously isn't! mad
Where is the support for this game? I'm getting tired of TAC releasing games and then offering no support. They don't even have this "patch" available. Only place to find it is on 3DGamers. Well, what do they care? They already have your money. mad

Rusty
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 02:09 PM

This is the first time I heard of a patch calling for the game CD's and reinstalling the whole game.

If anyone hears for sure what the patch is for, please post. It's my understanding that Sergey was working on a patch for the problem of the cursor becoming unresponsive.
I don't know if it was supposed to fix anything else.
Posted by: SillyEagle

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 08:53 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by Jenny100:
This is the first time I heard of a patch calling for the game CD's and reinstalling the whole game.

If anyone hears for sure what the patch is for, please post. It's my understanding that Sergey was working on a patch for the problem of the cursor becoming unresponsive.
I don't know if it was supposed to fix anything else.
Jenny...It was pretty weird to have to install the whole thing all over again.. Even stranger... altho I didn't get very far past the beginning of the game, I saved it.. and the savgame was still there when I fired up Aura!

Basically [and I probably should have verified this before I bothered with the file!].. an MSI is an MS installer package. Maybe it DID patch Aura.. and they just forgot to write out all the rest of it? Don't know.. don't care. I'd just like to be able to play the game.. someday.
Posted by: Glynn

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 10:59 PM

SillyEagle, C'ris posted in the "discussions" thread that it fixed the problem with the "cursor" So who know's maybe they will still come up with something that will work..meantime..I am going to quit messing with the game..too aggrivating! smile Glynn
Posted by: dragonia

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 10:59 PM

HAPPY DANCE!!!!! Finished Aura, cool ending! The patch worked for me. I got a email from Dreamcatcher tonight. It fixed the no cursor syndrome. Here is the info they gave me. And yes you do have to install the game all over but worth it!

MESSAGE:
We now have a patch that addresses this issue. I have included a link
to download it and instructions on how to install the patch.

Aura Patch Link
http://www.adventurecompanygames.com/tac/support/media/Aura1Patch.zip

To use the patch:

- Install game
- Click on the link above to download the patch and save it to your
desktop
- Unzip & extract patch to a new folder (it may be easier to create a
folder on your desktop)
- Insert cd1 again and press SHIFT Key so that the system will not start
reading the CD
- Double click on Aura1Patch file
- A dialogue box will open
- Select "Repair Aura Fate of the Ages"
- Click ok and the installation/repair will start again, it takes
approximately 20 minutes

When finished, the files will be repaired and you can start playing the
game.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Aura patch available! - 08/08/04 11:00 PM

Someone emailed me that this is what the patch is for:
Quote:

1. Random crash (fixed in Aura1.exe)
2. Crash in certain points in the game (fix in GlobalSettings.def)
2. Bell can be picked up in 3rd world prematurely (fixed in scene 577)
3. Direction cursor disappearing (fixed in Aura1.exe)
4. Fixes save/load problem with cursor disappearing (fixed in Aura1.exe)
5. Fix for empty load problem (fixed in Puzzle_load)
So it sounds like it should have fixed the crash.
Posted by: reza

Re: Aura patch available! - 09/02/04 03:31 AM

hello
I have a problem
When i go to thw spirit world for the first time; another click to move forward... and it get out to desktop. I have used the patch but it does not work. I wonder if anyone can help me.
if you have savegames right after that area you con help me with sendig it to me
reza3rezaei@yahoo.com
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Aura patch available! - 09/02/04 11:19 PM

I spoke to Dreamcatcher support over the phone. They told me another patch was under development and that I should upgrade my DirectX to 9.0c to fix the crashes. I tried this and all it did was change it so that instead of getting no error when it crashed I now get error messages. The first was a crash related to ntdll.dll. Most crashes with this error are caused by something in the program being incompatible with XP. I decided to try the game in compatibility mode. This time I got one of 2 errors. Under Windows 98/ME mode dmime.dll caused the crash and under 2000 mode dmsynth.dll caused the crash. Both of these dlls are part of DirectMusic. This tells me it is sound card related. I am using Soundblaster Live with the latest Creative drivers. I've tried adjusting the acceleration but it didn't make a difference. I hope this next patch does something. I am going to call them again to see if the errors tell them anything.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Aura patch available! - 09/02/04 11:50 PM

Thanks for posting the update on the status of the Aura patch, Jbhypno, and welcome to the forum.