Where to DL vesa drivers.

Posted by: chrisdist

Where to DL vesa drivers. - 06/19/03 11:28 PM

I'm trying to play Master lu and it installed fine but when I go to play it it tells me I need to install a vesa driver and try again. I have a Nvidia TNT2 32 PCI card. Does anyone know where i can get a driver and how to install........? chris
Posted by: Albert

Re: Where to DL vesa drivers. - 06/20/03 06:44 AM

Hey Chris,
I'm a little surprised your TNT2 doesn't have VESA drivers. I'd check the video card manufacturers website first. If that doesn't work, look at www.nvidia.com . Their driver support is the best there is in my opinion.

Best wishes, Master Lu is a really good game.

Albert
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Where to DL vesa drivers. - 06/20/03 02:55 PM

I'm pretty sure Syd played ROML with a TNT2 card.

I'm not sure where is the best place to go for VESA drivers. But SciTech still has a download page for older products they no longer sell
http://www.scitechsoft.com/products/enterprise/free_titles.html

Maybe the UniVBE is what you need?
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Where to DL vesa drivers. - 06/20/03 03:22 PM

Here's another site that has links for uvesa.zip and other vesa drivers
http://www.elys.com/software/vesa/
Posted by: chrisdist

Re: Where to DL vesa drivers. - 06/20/03 04:22 PM

Found the drivers but it says I don't have enough memory to install it. Or it can't find super vga.........?
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Where to DL vesa drivers. - 06/20/03 04:35 PM

You mean in DOS mode you don't have enough memory or in Windows you don't have enough memory?

If you don't have enough memory in DOS mode, you may have to load himem.sys and emm386.exe in your C:\config.sys file. There are some instructions on increasing memory in DOS here
http://www.gameboomers.com/DOS.htm
Posted by: chrisdist

Re: Where to DL vesa drivers. - 06/20/03 04:41 PM

Windows-needs more 'convential'memory. DOS say it can't find Super VGA.
Posted by: chrisdist

Re: Where to DL vesa drivers. - 06/20/03 04:43 PM

PS Its not the game its when I try to install the Vesa driver (which I swear I have since i just played Ripper, I think, which needed one.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Where to DL vesa drivers. - 06/20/03 04:47 PM

Maybe Ripper requires a different VESA than ROML. I know I had trouble with ROML on my P2 400 but Ripper played fine.

Syd? How did you get ROML to work with your TNT 2 card?