GB HOMEPAGE

Red wine sauce

Posted By: Niki

Red wine sauce - 11/03/12 08:43 PM

When I look up a recipe for red wine sauce it doesn`t tell me which red wine to use and as I am not an expert I haven`t a clue which one to buy

anyone help me please smile
Posted By: MaG

Re: Red wine sauce - 11/03/12 08:58 PM

Usually - it is any red wine that you like or able to drink. I would not recommend using the ones labeled cooking wine. They are not really good.

I usually use Cabernet. If I have Pinot Noir, it ends up inside me instead of the pot. lol

Check here or here.
Posted By: Draclvr

Re: Red wine sauce - 11/03/12 09:09 PM

What MaG said... especially the part about a good Pinot Noir usually ending up inside me!

It depends on the end result desired - a sweet red for a bit more of a sweet taste and a dryer wine for less sweetness. Cabernet is also my first choice, but I've found an unoaked Merlot that I really like too. Unfortunately, it's also one that usually ends up inside me!

Re: Red wine sauce - 11/03/12 09:22 PM

thanks Mag and Draclvr smile

I don`t like dry wines so are any that you have mentioned a sweet wine?

will go look at the links now Mag smile
Posted By: Kaki's Sister

Re: Red wine sauce - 11/04/12 10:41 AM

Niki the label on the wine bottle will tell you if it's sweet or dry. For cooking it doesn't have to be expensive.

Re: Red wine sauce - 11/04/12 03:16 PM

My rule of thumb is if I won't drink it, I won't cook with it. This is a pretty good summary of how to choose a cooking wine.

Five Tips for Choosing a Cooking Wine

Re: Red wine sauce - 11/04/12 03:28 PM

oh thanks Gerry, I didn`t know that smile

It has to be a sweet wine so I can drink what I don`t use in the sauce
A dry wine would just get thrown away
Posted By: Sorta Blonde

Re: Red wine sauce - 11/04/12 05:02 PM