GB HOMEPAGE

hungarian goulash casserole question

Posted By: family

hungarian goulash casserole question - 08/08/18 04:30 PM

can i use beef instead of pork, and paprika instead of Hungarian sweet paprika. cool lab puppy
Posted By: looney4labs

Re: hungarian goulash casserole question - 08/08/18 05:09 PM

Family, I always used beef in my goulash. Regular paprika will not taste exactly the same as sweet paprika. However, you will likely not notice the difference in the finished dish. luck
Posted By: Winfrey

Re: hungarian goulash casserole question - 08/08/18 05:23 PM

We use beef... I would try very hard to find the sweet paprika...

Re: hungarian goulash casserole question - 08/08/18 05:32 PM

thank you guys very much.
Posted By: Draclvr

Re: hungarian goulash casserole question - 08/08/18 06:41 PM

We always only use beef. I use smoked paprika in mine.
Posted By: Sparkle

Re: hungarian goulash casserole question - 08/08/18 08:33 PM

My background is Hungarian. Is this a dish that uses ground meat? We always used beef stew meat in goulash. And the regular paprika is just fine. I've seen recipes for a dish using ground meat. This isn't authentic goulash. But either way, beef is fine and don't worry if you don't have a certain kind of paprika. Most people won't taste the difference.

Re: hungarian goulash casserole question - 08/08/18 09:29 PM

i am having a hard time finding ground pork, and my husband is tried of me buying spices.
Posted By: BrownEyedTigre

Re: hungarian goulash casserole question - 08/08/18 09:54 PM

There is a recipe circulating FaceBook that is called Hungarian Goulash that is absolutely NOT and is actually like an American Chili Mac. My parents are from that region of the world and cut up beef is what you used. And it had to be sweet Hungarian Paprika.

Re: hungarian goulash casserole question - 08/08/18 10:24 PM