jigsaw

Posted by: robert gray

jigsaw - 11/22/12 06:33 PM

Hello. i enjoyed doing the free online Daily Mail jigsaw puzzle every day until one day, it wouldn't load up. the only thing that changed was my monitor, which died. i didn't change the CPU. - strange! can you help please? robert.
Posted by: InlandAZ

Re: jigsaw - 11/23/12 11:45 AM

If it's a new flat screen monitor, did you set the desktop to it's native resolution?
Posted by: robert gray

Re: jigsaw - 11/23/12 12:38 PM

i will try that, thanks, InlandAZ. robert.
Posted by: robert gray

Re: jigsaw - 11/23/12 01:45 PM

hi, i changed to native resolution but no effect. i still can't get the jigsaw to load. does Adobe Shockwave have anything to do with it? i tried to download Shockwave but it asked me questions about 32 or 64 bits i did not understand. please explain if yes, thanks, robert.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: jigsaw - 11/23/12 04:33 PM

Originally Posted By: robert gray
I tried to download Shockwave but it asked me questions about 32 or 64 bits

The "32 or 64 bits" it's asking about has to do with your operating system. Do you have a 32-bit version of Windows or a 64-bit version of Windows?

If you have XP, it will be 32-bit unless you went out of your way to buy a 64-bit XP and install it yourself.

For Vista and Windows 7, check the procedure here
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001121.htm

Here's another way of getting to the same screen
http://www.hillca.com/2011/05/32or64/
Posted by: robert gray

Re: jigsaw - 11/23/12 04:47 PM

hi, i have a 64 bit system - now what? robert.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: jigsaw - 11/23/12 04:59 PM

You thought the puzzle might use Shockwave (and I think you may be right). So try installing the 64-bit version of Shockwave and see if the puzzle works afterwards.

If you want to test Shockwave alone, Adobe has a test page here
http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/welcome/