ACPI multiprocessor pc

Posted by: family

ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 06:07 PM

i have and put that imagecfg in dracula, but i cannot figure out what to put in the command prompt, can you help me.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 06:12 PM

I have no idea what you are talking about, family. Which Dracula game and what are you trying to do?
Posted by: mj2c

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 06:23 PM

I think he's trying to use the imgconfig utility to set the affinity of the Dracula executable.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 06:26 PM

You've got me! And which Dracula game is this?
Posted by: mj2c

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 06:44 PM

Any:-)
Posted by: family

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 06:48 PM

i am talking about dracula resurrection and my gameis freezing at the opening credits so i found this legacy and hyperthreading by inferno, so i went by it and got got to a part and cot coulding figure it out.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 06:48 PM

He, he! Just looking at my shelf I have Dracula The Masquerade Redemption, Dracula the Masquerade Bloodlines, Dracula Resurrection, Dracula The Last Sanctuary, Dracula Origin, Dracula 3...

Anyone see a pattern here?! grin
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 08:39 PM

Originally Posted By: Draclvr
He, he! Just looking at my shelf I have Dracula The Masquerade Redemption, Dracula the Masquerade Bloodlines, Dracula Resurrection, Dracula The Last Sanctuary, Dracula Origin, Dracula 3...

Anyone see a pattern here?! grin

And even your name!!!! **gasp** You're infected!!!!

+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+


But back to the imagecfg thing...

Family,
Have you checked our "Legacy Games and Hyperthreading" thread? It has a description by Steve Metzler of how to use imagecfg. It really should be called "Legacy Games, Hyperthreading, and Multiple Processors" because the tweaks are the same for both Hyperthreading and Multiple Processors.

Quote:
Using the "imagecfg.exe" Utility Program (by metzomagic)

If your PC does have hyperthreading enabled, there is a universal patch programme that you can run to permanently bind a particular application to a single processor. We have archived it for you here: imagecfg.zip. Just download that file and unzip it. Then copy the IMAGECFG.EXE file to the folder:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32

Now you can run this programme from anywhere. To fix up a particular game, install the game first. Then open a Command Prompt via:

Start > All Programs > Accessories > Command Prompt

Figure out where your game's main executable file is (right-clicking on the game's icon and examining the Properties is a pretty safe bet). Using Grim Fandango as an example, you would enter something like this at the Command Prompt (note the quotation marks around the path to Grim.exe. These are only necessary if the path contains any spaces, but it does no harm to include them anyway):

imagecfg -a 0x1 "C:\Program Files\LucasArts\GRIM\Grim.exe"

And you should see the following output:

C:\Program Files\LucasArts\GRIM\Grim.exe contains no configuration infor,br> mation
C:\Program Files\LucasArts\GRIM\Grim.exe contains a Subsystem Version of 4.0
C:\Program Files\LucasArts\GRIM\Grim.exe updated with the following configuration information:
Process Affinity Mask: 00000001

Done! Now you shouldn't even have to run the game in Windows 95/98 Compatibility Mode.

Only instead of Grim.exe you'll use the executable file for Dracula Resurrection. Also the path will be different, depending on where you've installed Dracula. If you're not sure what the path is, do what Steve Metzler suggested and right click the game shortcut and select Properties from the context menu. You should see the correct path in there. I forget if it's on the first or the second tab.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 10:23 PM

Yes, guess I'm "bitten!"

Just an aside... I got Dracula Resurrection to run on my old XP computer which had a processor with hyperthreading simply by running it in Windows 98 Compatibility Mode.
Posted by: family

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/29/12 10:46 PM

okay thank you very much i will try that and that window 98 or 95 and see if they work.
Posted by: InlandAZ

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/30/12 11:06 AM

As an alternative, you can limit the number of processors the game will use in Task Manager. Once the game starts, press Ctrl+Alt+Del and enter Task Manager - from there select the game on the Applications tab, right click and peruse to Go To Processes. Right click the process and select Set Affinity.
Posted by: family

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 11/30/12 11:36 PM

i finally got it to work by window 98 and me and mystery manor patch, thanks everybody for your help.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 12/01/12 11:31 AM

Glad you got it working.
Enjoy the game.
Posted by: family

Re: ACPI multiprocessor pc - 12/01/12 05:24 PM

okay thank you very much.