wifi for Gateway 552ge

Posted by: SharonB

wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 10:41 AM

I currently have internet connections from my ethernet port and wired router. These work fine and I don't necessarily want to change them.

However I have a Kindle and would like to have wifi for it. What do I need to do? I'm thinking a usb wifi adapter would work. Then what? Do I need another router? How does it get setup? Can I do it only for the Kindle and maybe my cell phone?

I'm pretty clueless on this. Advice appreciated.
Posted by: Winfrey

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 10:49 AM

Is it a Kindle Fire?
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 10:54 AM

In order to have WiFi, you will need to have a WiFi router. Some routers are both wired ethernet and WiFi. You don't need a USB adapter for your computer if your going to leave it wired. The adapter is for the device; the router is to provide the WiFi signal which the adapter can pick up.

The Kindle doesn't need an adapter - it has built-in WiFi.

Once you have a WiFi signal in your house, any device with WiFi capabilities will be able to pick it up.

So, it depends on what kind of router you have now or if you need to get a new one.
Posted by: Winfrey

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 10:59 AM

You might want to watch this also..
Touch
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcnTX4_GAOA

Good point Drac... here is one for the Fire

Fire
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0V27FBcXhY
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 11:03 AM

Good video, Winfrey. If you have a Kindle Fire, the process is different, Sharon.
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 01:18 PM

I have a D-Link 4100 DGL. My Kindle currently works off 3G but I may replace it and I would rather simplify with wifi. I may go Fire, I'm not sure yet.

Will my router which is wired also handle wireless?

This whole wireless business is like a snakepit to me. I'm afraid I'm going to get stuck trying to work it out. But First Things First. I need to know what equipment is needed and then what the next step would be.

I have roku, blueray, my pc, Xbox currently hooked up. I don't have a network that I know of.

Thanks for your quick responses.
Posted by: Winfrey

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 01:36 PM

Sharon, soon I am sure a techie will be along.. but til then.. I do not believe your router is wireless... look at this link.. it is a wireless router.

DGL-4300
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 01:51 PM

The DGL 4100 is not a WiFi Router. If you want to go WiFi, you will have to get a WiFi router. The link Winfrey provided is a good comparison to your router. They are very old technology from 2005. The new ones are MUCH more secure and faster to boot.

If you want to stay with D-Link, this is an example of a wireless router that also has 4 ethernet ports for wired connections. So, if that's what you want, you could continue to have all 4 of your devices plugged in to an ethernet port. But if any of them are wireless (WiFi), you might be able to get rid of some ethernet cables.

D-Link Wireless Router
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 02:29 PM

Thanks Winfrey. I agree. It doesn't look like my router is capable of Wifi. I looked at this model but wasn't completely happy with it.

If I have to get a new router can someone recommend one that is N-band capable and more up to date that will work with my system?
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 02:38 PM

Thanks Draclvr. I was looking at this model.

Is my router limited to 4 connections be they wired or not? I was thinking I could have 4 wired connections and maybe a couple wireless.

I realize now my phone is on the internet too.

edit: I really don't understand how this works.
Posted by: Winfrey

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 02:46 PM

until Drac comes back... you only need one wireless.. all your wireless connections connect to the wireless feature
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 03:05 PM

You can have 4 wired connections on this particular router and as many wireless connections as you have wireless devices. Of course, if you have too many using the internet "pipeline" at the same time, it can bog down the speed depending on what kind of internet service you have.
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 06:53 PM

So if I buy a wired & wireless capable router it connects to my computer via ethernet? or do I need an adapter?

And once I have the router, I can setup a home network and I'm good to go???
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 07:16 PM

I assume you have cable or DSL or something like that for your internet service. You plug the cable for the internet service into the port that says Internet (on this router model). That brings the internet to the router. Then you just plug your computer into one of the four ethernet ports. It will pretty much work exactly like the one you have now, except it will also be putting out a WiFi signal. If someone comes to your house with a smart phone, give them your password and they can connect to your WiFi. Get a Kindle Fire and you can connect it to your WiFi. And on like that.

To be honest, you really don't even need to set up a home network unless you have multiple computers that you want to share data between. Just plug in your wired components and set up your wireless components. D-Link or whatever brand you get will pretty much walk you through getting it all set up. Just make sure you set up security preferably using the WPA2 standard. Again, this will all be specified for the wireless router you buy.
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 07:26 PM

Thanks so much Draclvr and Winfrey. I feel much better now.


Yes I have cable internet. I was questioning the port needed on my computer for that connection.

Is there any particular router you would recommend? I would like to get something up to date, but simple.
Posted by: kjos

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 07:34 PM

I'm using a netgear wireless. Easy to set up. It finds to my android tablet real good. I have three pc running off of it.
Richard
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 07:45 PM

It will be the same as you are using right now.

I have a Linksys and like it very much. Wal Mart, Office Max, Best Buy etc. all sell them. Or go to Amazon or Newegg and do a search on wireless routers. Find some in your price range and then read the customer reviews. Look for one with the 802.11 b\g\n WiFi protocol. 802.11 b and g are older technology. Make sure you get one with n.
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 08:22 PM

What do you think of this model? A little more than I intended to pay, but I'm thinking future expansion.

E2500
Posted by: Winfrey

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 08:25 PM

I have a Linksys E2000 ... I have my computer.. and direct tv hooked up to it..and wirelessly my laptops and kindle..
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/04/13 09:00 PM

The E2500 is an older router, but would probably suit your needs just fine. I have an E4200 which is a couple of years old and I like it a lot. Their setup is pretty straight forward.
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/05/13 05:59 AM

Just looking at the newer model of this router - EA4500 and it says you need a wifi enabled pc.
Not sure what this means. What do you think of this model?

Linksys EA4500
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/05/13 09:55 AM

You'll see the E2500 says the same thing. This assumes you will be using the PC wirelessly too. Which you are not going to do. If you were going to use your PC wirelessly, you would have to purchase an adapter. That's the way I have my PCs set up because my wireless router is two rooms away.

I looked this router up on Newegg to read reviews and similar to the Amazon reviews, it gets mixed reviews. It may have features you don't need such as Cloud Connect which lets you control how devices are used from a remote location. But it does have other features that sound good for a home theater.

The E2500 is an older router, but it is a basic, no frills option. The EA4500 is one with all the bells and whistles. Just depends on what you want and how much you want to spend.
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/05/13 11:20 AM

I wonder about the usb port. Is that something I might use and enjoy? Do you have that option and if so how do you use it?

I get carried away with my purchases. I really only need to link my kindle right now. Although I think I will also try to link the blue ray and the xbox wirelessly as well. Not sure about the tv if it has wireless or not. The roku will stay on the wire because I need fast reliable service for that.

Think I will throttle down the "More Power" urge and go with the 2500 for now. I can always upgrade later. thumbsup

Thanks so much for all your help and good advice winfrey and draclvr. You have made me much less nervous about this purchase. praise

I'm going to order it now. Can't wait till it gets here. happydance penguin yay
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/05/13 11:36 AM

No, my router is 2 years old, so doesn't have that option.

Quote:
USB Storage Port - Add external storage, printers and other devices to share across your network


I take this to mean you can use for other devices such as printers or storage drives on a network.

I don't have any idea how it works, but I'm sure you could look up the user's manual on the internet are read more about it. I'm sort of curious myself.

It was interesting to read some of the reviews that say parents were using the Cloud Access to control their children's computer access when they weren't at home!
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/05/13 12:13 PM

Update: I changed my mind. I'm going with this router - Linksys EA 3200

It's a couple dollars less than the 2500 and has a few more options, including a usb port. All being equal this should be the better buy.

All this decision making is driving me crazy. I hope this is the right choice. slapforehead
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/05/13 01:16 PM

You made a GREAT choice! I think you will enjoy having wireless available and you can still keep your PC as a wired connection.
Posted by: SharonB

UPDATE: Router - 02/19/13 11:28 AM

I wanted you all to know that my router came and I installed it. Sort of. My computer is now receiving a wifi signal - maybe. I have a cable between the computer and the router.

Actually I'm a bit confused about what I did but the router told me I needed a link between the computer and or router or modem. I did what it said at the time and after rebooting it straightened out and I was able to access my web pages again.

My Kindle is connected, but again I am confused about this password and identity business. I left it on the default.

Have not yet connected anything else. Will get to it.

Having medical issues and just physically and mentally tired.

Thanks Draclvr and Winfrey and all who gave me their input to help me make this difficult decision. Just a little further and I will be all set. thumbsup catrub
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: UPDATE: Router - 02/19/13 12:21 PM

When you feel better, make sure you set up a password and enable the security on your wireless router. We can all help you get through it!
Posted by: SharonB

Re: UPDATE: Router - 02/21/13 08:15 AM

Enable security? Didn't I do that? I have an SSID name and a password they gave me and that seems to be working okay. I may want to change the password to something I can remember.

Have hooked up : PC, Kindle, BlueRay, cable box and xbox. All appear to be working.

Now I have to go through that snake's nest of wires and fish out all the ones not in use.

How do I change my password?
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/21/13 10:04 AM

You should also change the SSID name. That password can be used by anyone who wants to get into your system. If someone nearby searches for available WiFi networks, yours will show up as unsecured and anyone can access it.

The easiest way to set all this up is through their web-based setup. This page explains it all pretty well. You should have gotten a users manual or something with the router - maybe even on the driver disk.

Linsys Router Setup
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/21/13 01:49 PM

Thanks Draclver, this is really helpful. I'll get right on it after I warm up! shiver
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/21/13 05:57 PM

That would be awhile for me! Snow, sleet, rain and lots of gusty winds here - yuck!
Posted by: SharonB

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/24/13 06:15 AM

Draclvr, I updated my SSID and Password. My network shows a locked lock next to it. However my guest network (?) doesn't show a lock - closed or open. It does ask for a password. Is this safe?

Thanks for your advice/info!

PS: My Xbox and Kindle have both been updated to the new user info.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: wifi for Gateway 552ge - 02/24/13 10:36 AM

Sounds like you have it all under control. My guest network shows the same thing, but I have it set for a password. So no one can use it unless they have the password.

Woo hoo, you did it!