The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box

Posted by: lexxy

The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/11/13 08:01 PM

I had The Dame Was Loaded years ago and enjoyed it on my old W95 but time has moved on and I am now running Windows 7 and it won't run , can I put Dos on this computer and run that grand old game?
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/11/13 11:38 PM

"The Dame Was Loaded" is supposed to be playable in DOSBox
http://www.dosbox.com/comp_list.php?showID=2000&letter=T

Don't bother trying to install real DOS on a modern computer. Even if you installed it inside a virtual machine, it would run the game way too fast on a modern computer.

DOSBox has a way to adjust the speed -- unlike real DOS.
Posted by: lexxy

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/12/13 05:20 AM

I still have my old W98 in my spare room, I wonder if I could run it there. Maybe some day it will show up on GOG, that would be a treat.
Posted by: Kaki's Sister

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/12/13 06:04 AM

Lexxy I'll bet it would play on W98 in compatibility mode. You ought to try it.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/12/13 08:13 AM

Kaki's Sister,
I don't think compatibility mode will help with DOS games like "The Dame Was Loaded." DOS games use 16-bit code. If Lexxy has 64-bit Windows 7, like most people do, games with 16-bit code will not even install, let alone play, unless you use something like DOSBox or a VM. "The Dame Was Loaded" was made for DOS 5.0 and is not a Windows game even though it played on older Win95/98 computers.

Lexxy,
The game may work in Windows 98, though that will probably depend on the computer and what sound card it has. Some DOS games have an option to play without sound if you're having trouble with the sound card, but I'm not sure about this one.
Posted by: Mad

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/12/13 12:39 PM

I no longer have the game but it did work in Win98SE for me - although if I remember correctly there was a bug that lots of people encountered and to get past it a file download was required. But where the file was available from I can't remember now, sorry !! frown

[Someone like Mrbill might know ??]
Posted by: Marian

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/12/13 12:40 PM

I've played the game using DOSBox. wave
Posted by: Mad

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/12/13 02:26 PM

Did you encounter the bug, Marian ??

I think it was to do with accessing an office at some stage woozy
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/12/13 04:40 PM

There are some saves at ***Savegameserver*** but I don't know if one of them gets you by the bug you're talking about.
Posted by: lexxy

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/12/13 05:27 PM

Thanks so much everyone for your input. I will try it on my old W98se and tell you if it works. I did find the complete uploaded game by someone who played it at Youtube. Even if I can no longer I will keep it for old times sake.
Posted by: Mad

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/12/13 05:37 PM

Good site Jenny100 !! thumbsup

I'm pretty sure the problem of the day when I was playing the game had to do with using a key to get into an upstairs office somewhere.
[Not the Detective's own office.]
However, I can't tell from the descriptions given on site whether any of the saves they offer address that problem specifically.
Posted by: Kaki's Sister

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/13/13 06:09 AM

Jenny100 I was just referring to Lexxy's old computer with W98 on it not the newer one. Sorry I should have been clearer in my response.
Posted by: Marian

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/13/13 06:21 PM

Mad, I don't recall experiencing that bug. wave
Posted by: Mad

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/13/13 11:01 PM

Marian (and all) I am so sorry !! rolleyes

After investigating further, it turns out that the game that had the bug wasn't "The Dame Was Loaded" after all - but "Noire : A Shadowy Thriller" redface

I played them both around the same time and that's my only excuse crazy

I do apologise slapforehead
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/14/13 08:57 AM

Thanks for the clarification, Mad.
I'm sure we've all confused games we've played once in a while.
Posted by: Mad

Re: The Dame Was Loaded & DOS Box - 02/15/13 12:05 AM

I probably do it more often than "once in a while" Jenny100 but thank you !! grin