chaos on deponia from steam

Posted by: mbday630

chaos on deponia from steam - 06/15/13 05:08 PM

I just bought this game, and can't get through the first chapter... or the first 10 minutes. the talk stutters quite a bit, but, I could live with that. it hangs up for minutes at a time too. when I step on the bellows I get a runtime error. I have looked on the steam forum and posted about this, but, haven't heard anything back. I looked for a patch for this, but couldn't find that either. does anyone know if there is a patch for this game? or how to fix this runtime error? Thanks.
Posted by: Winfrey

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 06/15/13 06:37 PM

I found this link... take a look.. it talks about having the latest Directx..

link
Posted by: mbday630

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 06/16/13 08:55 AM

Thanks Winfrey. I already had the latest DX but, I did download a driver from Nvidia and now it is working! At least I got past that first part. the talking still stutters, but, I can live with that.
Posted by: mbday630

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 07/04/13 11:51 AM

well, unfortunately, it is working that I don't have a black screen or a runtime error, but, now it still hangs up for minutes at a time. also, occasionally the voice stutters, but, that isn't of consequence. So, this morning I went to device driver and updated my video card again hoping that would help, but, alas, it still hangs up to the point where it is almost impossible to play, unless I would have the patience of Job or something. I really want to play this game, but, getting very frustrated. I have a Nvidia Geforce 7300 LE video card. Any ideas?
Posted by: InlandAZ

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 07/04/13 01:04 PM

Quote:
I have a Nvidia Geforce 7300 LE video card. Any ideas?


The 7300 LE has a very small memory bandwidth. Your best bet is to upgrade the video card, assuming you have an adequate power supply.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 07/04/13 07:06 PM

The minimum requirements listed at Steam say you need a video card with 512 MB of video memory.
http://store.steampowered.com/app/220740
That would be discrete video memory, not shared memory.
Posted by: mbday630

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 07/04/13 07:11 PM

Okay, I need to buy a new video card? Which one? Are there only certain ones that work with an old Dell XP computer? I read this:

"What is the physical memory for the GeForce 7300 LE?
You will see a lot of GeForce 7300 LE-based cards with 128MB of on-board memory, supporting 256MB of memory in a 512MB system. You will also see GeForce 7300 LE-based cards with 256MB of on-board memory that support 512MB of memory in a 1GB system."

that is greek to me. so, I only have 256 MB of memory? what does it mean that it supports 512 MB of memory?
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 07/04/13 07:51 PM

Quote:
You will see a lot of GeForce 7300 LE-based cards with 128MB of on-board memory, supporting 256MB of memory in a 512MB system. You will also see GeForce 7300 LE-based cards with 256MB of on-board memory that support 512MB of memory in a 1GB system."

That sounds like the video card is borrowing memory (using shared memory) according to what your total system memory is. If you have only 512 MB of system memory, the video card will use part of that as video memory for a total of 256MB. And that there are other 7300LE cards that will borrow enough system memory to total 512 MB if you have 1GB of system memory in your computer.

However shared memory is much slower than memory that's built into the video card, and some games will not work with shared memory at all -- despite what certain video card manufacturers would have you believe.

If you need to buy a new video card, you may also need to buy a power supply that can support the new video card. We can't really advise you without knowing more about your computer -- like the wattage of your power supply and what type of video card slot you have (AGP or PCI-E). If your computer has a model number, we might be able to find what power supply shipped with it.
Posted by: mbday630

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 07/05/13 07:00 AM

according to my dxdiag I do have approximately 512MB memory. I shouldn't have to have shared memory then, should I? and when you say I may also need to buy a power supply, well, what is that? motherboard?
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 07/05/13 09:47 AM

That 512MB probably includes shared memory. As far as I can tell from Googling, the card either comes with 128 MB or 256 MB of dedicated memory, and shares the rest.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: chaos on deponia from steam - 07/05/13 10:54 AM

mbday, if you have to upgrade your video card, you will probably have to upgrade your power supply. It's the large square thing in the case that provides the power for your motherboard and everything attached to the motherboard. Most power supplies on older branded computers are puny and do not supply enough wattage for upgraded video cards.

So, we would need to have more of the information that Jenny suggested.

If this is your main computer, you may need to consider a new one if it's not worth spending a lot of money to upgrade.