the longest journey

Posted by: robert gray

the longest journey - 06/17/13 06:57 PM

hi, can anyone figure out why my 'yes or no' boxes can't be accessed when trying to quit this game? my screen resolution doesn't make any difference. robert.
Posted by: mj2c

Re: the longest journey - 06/17/13 07:08 PM

So you tried setting your desktop resolution to the same resolution that the game plays in before starting the game?
Posted by: robert gray

Re: the longest journey - 06/18/13 08:09 AM

what resolution should i have used? robert.
Posted by: mj2c

Re: the longest journey - 06/18/13 08:15 AM

Find what resolution the game plays at then set your desktop resolution to that before you start the game. Ive had situations were the mouse still works on the desktop coords for some reason even though you are viewing the game. A way to see if this is the problem is to have the same res for both game and desktop. Could be a totally different problem of course but its something to try.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: the longest journey - 06/18/13 08:44 AM

According to this thread, TLJ uses 640x480
http://forums.longestjourney.com/showthread.php?t=6749
Posted by: robert gray

Re: the longest journey - 06/18/13 11:00 AM

jenny,i am not sure how to run TLJ in a window. can you please ell me how? robert.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: the longest journey - 06/18/13 02:46 PM

I don't think TLJ would play in a windows unless you used Virtual PC or VMware or something.

Can you change your desktop to 640x480 or something similar before starting the game?
Posted by: robert gray

Re: the longest journey - 06/18/13 03:44 PM

jenny my screen resolution will only go as low as 800x600. robert.
Posted by: InlandAZ

Re: the longest journey - 06/18/13 04:17 PM

To run TLJ in a window peruse the link below -

The Longest Journey won't run on Windows 7

The location of my own preferences.ini was in Program Files(x86)\TLJ. Once you've located your own, open Notepad (right click and select Run as Administrator) and edit the file.

Change bool_StartFullscreen=1 to bool_StartFullscreen=0