the black mirror

Posted by: judith

the black mirror - 06/24/13 03:54 PM

About a month ago, I had to do a clean install on my xp; so now I'm loading & replaying a lot of older games. I don't ever remember having this problem before, but after installing black mirror & restarting the comp. which it asks us to do, I click on the desk icon for the game, & it just restarts my comp. I have the boxed version (2cd's). It doesn't even give me a chance to type in the identification code, just keeps restarting my comp. I realize it's an old game, but if anyone can help, I'd appreciate it. Thanks Judy
Posted by: Cathy1

Re: the black mirror - 06/24/13 05:03 PM

Do a google search for The Black Mirror no cd patch and install that and it should work.
Posted by: judith

Re: the black mirror - 06/24/13 06:52 PM

I found a site to remove StarForce driver, do you think I should try that, or will it mess up my computer? On a serious note, are the floods affecting you Cathy?
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: the black mirror - 06/25/13 08:38 AM

If you're talking about this site
http://www.onlinesecurity-on.com/protect.phtml?c=55
http://www.onlinesecurity-on.com/info.phtml?c=91

Download link at
http://onlinesecurity-on.com/downloads/sfcdrvrem.zip

That's the company that makes StarForce, and the tool should be safe.
Posted by: Cathy1

Re: the black mirror - 06/25/13 12:15 PM

Hi Judith
The floods are 3 blocks away from us. We were some of the lucky ones. We have electricity. a lot of folks don't. Thanks for asking. How about you ?

Cathy
Posted by: InlandAZ

Re: the black mirror - 06/25/13 01:03 PM

That's interesting, the version of Starforce that shipped with the game was compatible with XP, newer versions are not. If I had to guess, I'd bet that you've installed another game that updated the drivers to a newer version.

Use the links Jenny provided, remove Starforce, and re-install the game.
Posted by: judith

Re: the black mirror - 06/25/13 01:16 PM

Hi everyone; thanks for all your help. I waited until my hubby came home. We got rid of the starforce, but It took 3 tries to get the no CD patch to work. I don't know what to tell you InlandAZ, I never had a problem before with the game, it played perfectly, & this time I had problems. When I installed the game, I also installed Black Mirror 2 & 3 that I bought at Walmart. Maybe that's where the problem lies.
Cathy, everyone here is keeping an eye on the Ft. Saskatchewan river, it is very high. You keep safe. Judy
Posted by: InlandAZ

Re: the black mirror - 06/25/13 01:53 PM

The Black Mirror 2 & 3 used Starforce V5, the original V3 - that's probably why you had the issue.
Posted by: oldmariner

Re: the black mirror - 06/28/13 03:03 AM

Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
The Black Mirror 2 & 3 used Starforce V5, the original V3 - that's probably why you had the issue.


Inland

That is exactly why I bought 2+3 from GOG. I have a no Starforce policy. That includes anything SONY.
Posted by: InlandAZ

Re: the black mirror - 06/28/13 11:08 AM

Wow, I wasn't aware that GOG sold the games -
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: the black mirror - 06/28/13 10:15 PM

He probably bought them at Shiny Loot
http://www.shinyloot.com/adventure-games

According to Shiny Loot, the Black Mirror 2 and 3 they sell have no "protection" type.