WOT

Posted by: Mary

WOT - 07/15/13 03:29 PM

I downloaded WOT but am having problems installing it. I keep getting a message that I need IE6 in order to run the program and that I should upgrade.
However, I am using IE 10!
Any suggestions?
Posted by: Cathy1

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 03:33 PM

What is WOT ?
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 03:36 PM

It's a program called Web of Trust.
Posted by: Cathy1

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 03:44 PM

What operating system are you using ? XP win 7 or what ? Here's what I found at their site.

The installer says IE 6 or later is required even though I have a newer version.



This problem is often caused by insufficient privileges. Here's a process that has worked for other users who have come across this issue on Windows 7 or Vista:1.When you download the IE add-on, save the MSI file to your hard drive instead of running it from the browser.
2.Open Start menu -> Accessories, right click on Command Prompt and select "Run as Administrator"
3.Move to the directory where you saved the MSI file. For example, if you saved the file to your Desktop folder, type in something like: cd "C:\Users\User Name\Desktop"
4.Run the MSI file from the command prompt. For example, type in: WOT-latest-en.msi
Your installation should start immediately after pressing enter.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 04:01 PM

I'm also running IE 10, but WOT installed just fine for me.

I was going to suggest what Cathy posted - that instead of running the add-on program, download and install by right clicking and selecting Run as Administrator.
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 04:31 PM

I AM the "administrator" on this computer, and am running Win7.
I'm afraid those instructions are daunting to me. I don't know DOS commands and when I'm told "type in SOMETHING like...." or "run the MSI file from the command prompt..." it reminds me how ineffective I was trying to use DOS during the "good old days" of gaming.

Thanks for the suggestions, but I think I'll try to reinstall and see if I do any better.
Posted by: traveler

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 04:48 PM

Mary,

I'm also the administrator on my computer but sometimes a game or program requires you to do what Draclvr said and it's simple.
Once the program/game is installed, Right Click on the icon on your desktop and select Run as Administrator.
That's all you have to do.
Btw, if you're running Win 7, it will put a little shield on the icon to let you know you're running it with administrative privileges.

Gil.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 09:50 PM

Why would Web of Trust require an out-of-date browser like IE6? Isn't there an up to date version of Web of Trust that you can install? Where did you find this version that requires IE6?
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 09:57 PM

There is only one WOT and I assumed that it was requiring a "minimum" of IE6. But your question, Jenny, made me wonder if Mary was not using the legitimate website.

Mary, the one and only place to get this browser add-on is here...

My WOT
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 09:58 PM

Jenny, I'm not sure anymore where I got the download. I was trying to find a free version--maybe CNET? I truly don't remember because I downloaded it a while ago and forgot about it until I saw it mentioned on one of the forums here.

Gil, thanks for the heads-up about the administrative privileges and the shield (yes, I'm running Win 7).
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 09:59 PM

Mary, see my post - the only place to get it is from the official website.
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 10:32 PM

Draclvr,
Okay, I installed WOT(I think)from the site you gave me. I say "I think" because it shows up in the list of installed programs when I look to uninstall it, an icon was installed on my desktop, but on my "start" panel if I ask to see all programs, it is not listed there.
Also, shouldn't I see little green or red circles up on the top of each site I open? Maybe I'm not understanding exactly what WOT does?
My WOT icon "properties" tab says that it's the Windows Installer Package.
Am I supposed to install the program from what I just downloaded?

It's getting late and I feel like I'm going around in circles now, so maybe I'll step away for now since I'm getting no place fast (as my mother would have said).
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/15/13 11:34 PM

Circle the wagons and start again tomorrow morning! WOT is simply a browser add-on... You should not see anything in your "add/remove programs" in the Control Panel, nor should you have an icon on your desktop. That only indicates that you have downloaded rogue software. Can you uninstall from add/remove programs? I would run Malwarebytes and your antivirus program too.
Posted by: traveler

Re: WOT - 07/16/13 12:01 AM

I apologize for leading you astray, Mary.
I'd never heard of WOT so I didn't realize it was a browser add-on and not a downloaded program.
That said, Run as Administrator for a program that requires it is as easy to get going as I said.
A LOT of my games, especially older ones, need Run as Administrator enabled.

Gil.
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/16/13 10:40 AM

Okay, I looked at what is listed on the Uninstall list under the Control Panel:

WOT for Internet Explorer, Publisher WOT Services OY, 3.04MB, Version 12.8.2.0

I have uninstalled it.

I am running Malwarebytes (paid version).

I icon says " WOT-latest-en-x64
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/16/13 01:11 PM

Try installing the WOT add-on again - only from the link above - and see what happens. Delete that icon from the dekstop too.
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/16/13 01:19 PM

If I hit the download button on your site, it asks whether I want to run it or save it. I've been saving it. Should I just "run" it?
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/16/13 01:50 PM

Just run it.
Posted by: Homer6

Re: WOT - 07/16/13 02:22 PM

Mary I just installed WOT on my computer for IE 10 and Opera, really just to see what happens during installation.

With Opera I was just asked if I wanted to add it to Opera. With IE 10 I was asked whether to Save or Run the program. I chose Run.

The Security Check was preformed, then the Install Wizard went to work, and brought up the usual window with the User Agreement. Checking the check box in this window allows installation to continue. My system is set up with two accounts, a regular user and an administrator. I can install new programs/apps/etc. from both accounts but must input a password if doing so from the regular account. If this is the case on your computer then you will be asked for a password before installation can continue. If this is not the case on your system then Install Wizard should continue without any problems.

Once installation is complete you will see a window on the WOT site open, asking for the level of security you want. You will also be asked to register since you are a new user to the site; user name, e-mail address, password, confirm password are all they ask. Two tick boxes at the bottom can also be check if desired.

Once WOT is installed, or added on to the browser, there is a doughnut looking icon in the upper left corner of the IE window, next to the URL address box. In Opera it's in the upper right corner. Safe rated sites show a green doughnut, and it goes down to red, unsafe. GB has a very safe rating of dark green.

I did not try installing this add-on by first Saving then running, but I suspect the same User Agreement/Install Wizard, etc. will occur.
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/16/13 03:05 PM

Homer, Everything happened just as you described, BUT, even though I had the little green circle at the top left corner while I was on the WOT site, once I entered BigFish in my address line, the site opened with NO circle at all; shouldn't there always be a circle there, or not?

On the Control Panel I do, indeed, have a Wot listed as a program.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/16/13 03:52 PM

You may have to restart IE for the little green circle to show up on the right at the top.
Posted by: Homer6

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 02:21 AM

There should be a doughnut in the upper left side of IE. I say upper left side, instead of what I previously said, because now my WOT doughnut is showing up on a separate tool bar line in the upper left corner of IE 10.

I just check my IE by going to Big Fish and did have a WOT doughnut where I just explained above. I even have a WOT doughnut for MSN.com.

As to having an icon in the Control Panel, I donna know about that one. I checked the Control Panel with both Opera and IE 10 open but didn't see an icon for WOT. I do see a listing for WOT under Programs and Features, the place where programs can be uninstalled, showing the program is 1.33 MB in size.

Follow Drac's advice about restarting IE, Mary, then once you open it again, look very carefully around the parameter of the IE window to see if the WOT doughnut is displaying.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 08:48 AM

I did a Team Viewer session last night with someone up in NW Iowa to finish cleaning up the computer which had been a mess. In her Add/Remove Programs I found several things like SpeedItUp Free. So I downloaded WOT to both her IE and Chrome. I then showed her the red circle when I did a search for SpeedItUp Free and the comments that it was spyware. I did see WOT in her Add/Remove programs for IE, but not for Chrome.
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 09:39 AM

What you see is the white flag of my surrender. I give up. I've tried everything (that I can think of) and even though I've gotten to the point of actually seeing the little green circle on the WOT site, once I leave that site I don't have a circle of ANY color on any other site I open. Maybe I'm missing something that I'm supposed to do on the WOT site to complete the process, but I don't what that could be. I'll continue to be vigilant in being careful with the sites I visit.

I appreciate all the suggestions, but I see no reason to pursue this matter.
Thank you all.
Posted by: Homer6

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 11:32 AM

Mary go to the WOT site and contact their Support. Explain what you've done both on your computer and at their site. Explain to them you're not seeing any WOT doughnut displayed on your browser when you visit a site. See if they can help figure out what's going on and how to fix it.
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 12:16 PM

Homer,
I posted at the WOT forum; we'll see if anyone comes up with a solution for me.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 12:38 PM

Mary, check in your add-ons to be sure it is enabled.

What happens if you do a search for something in your IE. Try doing a search using the word screensavers. I use this one as an example a lot because the majority of the search results will have a red circle. But a few have the orange and green circles.

Try that and let us know - if you see the circles, then WOT is installed.
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 01:00 PM

Okay, now I'm REALLY confused! If I click on the IE icon in my bottom toolbar, MSN opens up with a green donut at the top and when I search using BING and the word "screensavers" many of the results show red or orange donuts.

If I pull up "Google" and do the same search, none of the results are rated.

The WOT add-on is enabled.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 01:50 PM

When you say you pull up Google, do you mean you go to the Google website using IE?
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 02:26 PM

I have the Google site pinned on my toolbar. Since I use IE for everything, Google opens in IE when I click on the icon; I use Google to search almost exclusively.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 04:18 PM

That's sort of odd...

Try this... open up IE and go to Google from there. In IE10, just type Google in the address bar and use the arrow to go straight to the search results. When I do, I see Google listed and all the little circles. When I click on Google and use it for a search, I also get all the little circles. I don't use IE or Bing unless I have to, so I'm not sure why going to Google through a taskbar link doesn't work.

If you use the Favorites bar, can you pin Google there and use it within IE?

Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 05:22 PM

If I put Google in the address bar of IE, it comes up with the green donuts.
If I search for Google on Bing, it also comes up with the green donuts.

If I'm on a site, say AOL (which has no donut)and I open google on the next available tab, it has NO donuts.

If I open google using the icon that's "pinned" to my bottom toolbar, it has no donuts.

My GameBoomers site is bookmarked and when I open it, there are no donuts.
If I do the same procedure as with Google, enter the name in the address bar of IE and hit the arrow, GameBoomers has it's green donut.

I think I see a pattern.....
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 05:27 PM

Once you figure it out, let me know!
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 06:55 PM

Sorry, just tried some more sites and it broke the pattern I thought was forming: having to type in a site address manually.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 07:05 PM

I really only rely on it for searches. And I use Firefox, so I'm not getting any of this somewhat erratic behavior that you are.

You can see why I use the search for "screensavers" as an example for the people whose computers I put it on!
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 07:48 PM

I think I'm just going to uninstall this program since it's not helping me one iota. I like using my icons to access my favorite sites and being able to add "tabs" to the top of my page and have several sites at my fingertips all at once. WOT doesn't work for me on any of those things. Oh, well.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/17/13 08:35 PM

Can't say you didn't try, Mary!
Posted by: Homer6

Re: WOT - 07/18/13 01:05 AM

I followed Mary's moves, I think, and had no problems getting WOT doughnuts. I click on Google in the taskbar in IE 10, searched for screensavers and saw WOT doughnuts next to the links. I entered screensavers into the search window next to Google on the taskbar and saw WOT doughnuts next to the links. I entered Google into the IE 10 address window and then searched for screensavers and again saw WOT doughnuts next to the links. Even using Opera I saw WOT doughnuts.

Mary if you haven't uninstalled WOT, look in the Control Panel under Programs and Features and see what size the WOT file is. Mine shows 1.33 MB. I'm just curious to know what yours shows.

Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/18/13 09:44 AM

My WOT installation is 3.04 MB.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/18/13 09:58 AM

Mine is 3.04 MB too... version 12.8.2.0

Homer, you said you clicked on the taskbar in IE 10... Maybe I'm wrong, but I think Mary was clicking on Google from the taskbar at the bottom of the screen in Windows?
Posted by: Mary

Re: WOT - 07/18/13 10:06 AM

I have my favorite sites pinned at the bottom of my screen. I use those to click on to access them.

I also use AOL as my opening page every morning, and then just add more "tabs" at the top of the page as I need to open more sites.

I won't be changing those procedures for WOT.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/18/13 10:20 AM

I wouldn't either. If you have something that works for you, keep it that way.
Posted by: Homer6

Re: WOT - 07/18/13 12:54 PM

Ah, okay, I don't have Google pinned on the bottom taskbar.

But the difference in my file size, 1.33 MB, and what you two say you have, 3.04 MB, has me wondering. I downloaded the file from the site you linked to Drac, mywot.com, and it's version 12.8.2.0 for IE and version 1.11 for Opera. But...WOT is working despite the file size difference.
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: WOT - 07/18/13 01:24 PM

Perhaps that's because the WOT size we're seeing is for IE, not Opera?
Posted by: Homer6

Re: WOT - 07/19/13 12:33 PM

I don't know Drac, the file says Wot for Internet Explorer. And I downloaded the file for IE before doing Opera. In fact I didn't specify which file to download for which browser, the WOT site did all that. Which I thought was pretty neat.

Regardless, WOT is working as it should in both IE 10 and Opera.