Black Mirror 1 and Starforce

Posted by: JoAJ

Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 01:21 AM

There was an old thread re this problem. I have the game which I bought when it first was released, still have the key code to type into Starforce but it just won't let me type it in no matter what I do. Very strange. So I downloaded a Starforce remover and also a No CD app. but can't open either of them for some strange reason (I have 7 Zip) In fact I can't even find them in 7 Zip, they are in my downloads files though. I tried putting them directly into Black Mirror to try and open them there but no luck. I also searched the reg. files, something I've done numerous times in the past although I think that may have been in the old XP computer not this one which is Win 7. Starforce did not show up when I searched, just said nothing there. I tried something else messed around so much I don't even remember what! but whatever it was said there was no "protection" installed.

I know I could buy the game again, but certainly won't seeing I already own it.

Please, if anyone has any solution, I'd be most grateful smile
Posted by: oldbroad

Re: Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 01:43 AM

Wait for it to go on sale at GOG. You can probably get it for 2 or 3 dollars.
Posted by: JoAJ

Re: Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 02:05 AM

Thanks but we live in Australia and the currency rate isn't in our favour - well, last time I looked. Anyway I really don't see why anyone should feel they have to re-buy a game just because of some stupid Starforce, I never buy games with that in it anymore, in fact I'm not even sure if it's even used still.

Still don't see why the key code can't even be typed in - crazy!
Posted by: oldbroad

Re: Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 02:07 AM

Sorry JaAJ. I just replied with what would be easiest to me. I don't know about the tech stuff.
Posted by: Mad

Re: Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 07:44 AM

I often do what oldbroad suggests if techie stuff prevents me from enjoying a game.
For me it's worth the little bit of extra spending to be able to play "hassle free".
And in my opinion GOG prices are always very fair thumbsup
Posted by: Draclvr

Re: Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 10:03 AM

Plus the fact that you aren't forced to install Starforce on your computer.
Posted by: Jenny100

Re: Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 10:49 AM

Microsoft blocks StarForce v3 from installing its low level driver on Windows Vista/7/8/10.
StarForce v3 attempts to install the first time you attempt to run the game. It doesn't install when you install the game, and on Windows Vista/7/8/10 it shouldn't install at all.

In StarForce-v3-infected games, the game exe is crippled so it won't run without StarForce v3 running. So on Vista/7/8/10 there's no way to run the StarForce-infected CD version of the game without a NoCD. However you should not need a StarForce remover.

Quote:
but can't open either of them for some strange reason (I have 7 Zip) In fact I can't even find them in 7 Zip, they are in my downloads files though.

If you open 7zip, it will probably only look for .7z files.
Most NoCD's are distributed as rar files, not .7z files.
Right-click the file you want to extract in your Downloads folder, and look for "extract with 7zip" (or however they phrase it)

I'd still recommend getting the GOG version of the game when they have a sale. It's much easier and no risk of virus.
Posted by: Robert Gault

Re: Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 04:59 PM

It is possible that you did not get a good No CD package. When I read the original message, I Googled for a No CD package and found that some are junk.

You will want a package that replaces several game files: agds.exe, data.abd, majer.chr, and majerk.chr. The package I found had the wrong name for one of the files and it needed to be changed from mejerk.chr to majerk.chr.

After replacing the above files, the game played without a CD under WinXP. What will happen with Win7, I don't know. You might have DirectX issues although the game states that "7.1 or higher" will work.
Posted by: Marian

Re: Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 06:06 PM

The no-CD patch worked for me on Windows 7.
Posted by: JoAJ

Re: Black Mirror 1 and Starforce - 10/25/17 06:36 PM

Hi, thanks so much for all your input. What I found when I looked closely at the Starforce thingy that came up and I hadn't noticed it previously, is that in small pale yellow letters it has a message saying that there is a Starforce error!! Anyway I did eventually manage to download and install the No CD app. by using Win Rar (which I had on an old computer but not on this one) It's just a "trial" version which you can only use for a short time but worth a go. So.. I did replace the files as it instructed (and I've done this sort of thing quite often in the past with no problems). All seemed to go O.K. but when I tried to start the game I couldn't access the game at all, not something I've ever found previously and I used the same site that I always have. So I'm assuming that it must be the incorrect No CD app. as Robert Gault stated as it only replaced two files, namely agds and ims something or other, not all the ones you mentioned. So....back to the drawing board, I'm stubbon and very rarely let computer problems stump me!! LOL smile