GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141212
02/10/18 02:35 PM
02/10/18 02:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
What do you mean by plug? Are you talking about the interface between the card and the motherboard? Are you trying to insert it into the correct slot which should be the same one your old card was in? If you take out the old card, and compare the interface, are they the same? They should both be PCI-e.

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1742091/identify-pci-express-pci-controller-slot.html


In my PC corner for the winter, my little heater by my side, to game, read and knit.
Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141214
02/10/18 03:03 PM
02/10/18 03:03 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
M
mbday630 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
mbday630  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
M

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
There are two plugs we are wondering about. There was a plug that plugged into the video driver, but, also the plug in the back to put the cord in is different. Hubby is trying to get an old cord to work now by taking out some of the pins. crapski.

Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141215
02/10/18 03:06 PM
02/10/18 03:06 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
M
mbday630 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
mbday630  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
M

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
there is no place to plug in the video card to my monitor. he got it in but my monitor is totally black.

Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141218
02/10/18 03:20 PM
02/10/18 03:20 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
M
mbday630 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
mbday630  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
M

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
according to hubby, this board will not work. Please advise me. the 4 - pronged plug that went to the card is missing.

Last edited by mbday630; 02/10/18 03:24 PM.
Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141220
02/10/18 03:53 PM
02/10/18 03:53 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
This is all kind of confusing... so the card is inserted into the motherboard, right??? Are you talking about a plug for the video card which will run the fan? That will come from the power supply, not the motherboard. If your old video card had a fan, are you saying it was not plugged into the power supply?

Don't understand what you are saying here at all..
Quote:
There was a plug that plugged into the video driver, but, also the plug in the back to put the cord in is different. Hubby is trying to get an old cord to work now by taking out some of the pins.


Do you mean a plug that went into the video card? A plug in the back of what? I'm looking at the pictures of that video card Jenny linked to and I don't see where it has a need for a 4-pin plug from the power supply.

Do I have this right or is there something I'm missing?


In my PC corner for the winter, my little heater by my side, to game, read and knit.
Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141226
02/10/18 04:58 PM
02/10/18 04:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,502
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,502
southeast USA
Quote:
the 4 - pronged plug that went to the card is missing.

When a video card is a high performance type and needs extra power, there is a 4-pin power connector that goes from the computer's power supply to the card.

Low end cards don't need the 4-pin connector and get all the power they need through the PCI-E slot.

Quote:
there is no place to plug in the video card to my monitor. he got it in but my monitor is totally black.

Are you saying the DVI connectors on the video card don't match your monitor cable? This is the picture Amazon had:
https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/61shYScafBL._SL1200_.jpg

Wikipedia page of DVI connections
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:DVI_Connector_Types.svg
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVI#Connector

One other thing to check is whether you've plugged the cable into the DVI port that gets preference. I think it's the connector closest to the motherboard that gets preference.

If your computer has onboard graphics, make sure that the computer isn't expecting the onboard graphics to be what's getting used.

Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141227
02/10/18 05:20 PM
02/10/18 05:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
If mbday ordered the one you linked to, Jenny, it doesn't need the 4 pin connector from the power supply. It also has 2 DVI ports on the back as you linked to, so I don't understand why she said, there is no place to plug the monitor in. Unless her monitor has an older VGA connection?

Multiple DVI ports getting a preference is a new one to me! Both of mine work equally well.

Lots of confusing information, so I hope we hear back from her soon.


In my PC corner for the winter, my little heater by my side, to game, read and knit.
Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141230
02/10/18 05:35 PM
02/10/18 05:35 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
M
mbday630 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
mbday630  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
M

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
Hubby said that it is a VGA connection to my monitor. I don't know how he knew that, but, that is what he said. so, do I just need a different plug in thingy? I am wondering why there was a big plug inside the computer that went to the video card and this one doesn't have that.

Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141231
02/10/18 05:57 PM
02/10/18 05:57 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
That's because this new video card doesn't need one. It is powered from the motherboard itself. You can get a VGA to DVI adapter to plug in your older monitor.


In my PC corner for the winter, my little heater by my side, to game, read and knit.
Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141233
02/10/18 06:03 PM
02/10/18 06:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,502
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,502
southeast USA
VGA ports look like this
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:SVGA_port.jpg

The ends of a VGA cable look like this
https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/71UDHnnbnaL._SL1500_.jpg

There's no way you could fit a VGA cable on a DVI port.

Now if your monitor requires an analog connection (DVD-I) and doesn't work with DVI-D (digital) connectors, you might get the connectors confused. I haven't seen a monitor that couldn't work with DVI-D in years though.

What model monitor do you have?

Here's more about DVI connectors
http://www.datapro.net/techinfo/dvi_info.html

If your monitor can't accept a digital signal, you'll have to be very careful about what video card you buy. I think all the current model video cards are DVI-D like the one you just bought.

Quote:
I am wondering why there was a big plug inside the computer that went to the video card and this one doesn't have that.

If you're talking about the extra connector, as seen on this card,
https://images10.newegg.com/ProductImageCompressAll1280/14-487-244-15.jpg

the card you bought doesn't need that connector because it doesn't consume much power, so it gets all it needs through the PCI-E slot and doesn't need the extra connector. The card you're replacing consumed more power and it did need the connector.

Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141234
02/10/18 07:03 PM
02/10/18 07:03 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
M
mbday630 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
mbday630  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
M

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
I am so confused but hubby seems less confused. he just ordered this and we are hoping that it will work. TNP Active DVI to VGA Adapter Cable (6FT) DVI 24+1 DVI-D Male to VGA Male w/ Chip & 1080P High Resolution Gold Plated Contact Connector Converter Wire Cord for Computer PC DVD Monitor HDTV
Sold by: TNP Direct Product question? Ask Seller
$11.99
Condition: New

Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141237
02/10/18 07:24 PM
02/10/18 07:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,502
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,502
southeast USA

Hope that solves your problem.
From what you've told us, it sounds like the right thing.

Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141244
02/10/18 08:38 PM
02/10/18 08:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,805
Michigan
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer
Geo  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,805
Michigan
FYI--sometimes if you change a video card the new card will require a small 4-pin connector from the power supply where the old card didn't have that connector. If your power supply doesn't have that connector fear not because they make an adapter to convert a regular 4-pin fan type connector to that small connector. Its only a couple of bucks and good to have on hand.

Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141249
02/10/18 11:09 PM
02/10/18 11:09 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 13,783
In Missouri near St. Louis
But this new video card did not require a connection from the power supply. I have used those little adapters and they have come in handy for me a couple of times.

Or just a simple VGA to DVI adapter like this one...

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a...8-101-_-Product


In my PC corner for the winter, my little heater by my side, to game, read and knit.
Re: hardware acceleration disabled [Re: mbday630] #1141274
02/11/18 10:01 AM
02/11/18 10:01 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
M
mbday630 Offline OP
Settled Boomer
mbday630  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
M

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 444
Thanks again for your help. we were wondering why it had a cord inside that plugged into the card and it is good to know that we don't need that. you all are the best!

Page 2 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Redz), 7 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
sandrar, Majid, Graphium_Studio, Tecknomage, SOLO
9066 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™