GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Quicktime versions #135015
03/15/04 07:32 PM
03/15/04 07:32 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,004
USA
looney Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
looney  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,004
USA
Hi! I have a question about Quicktime...I know some of the older games need the earlier version to play, and I wonder, can you have more than one version of QT installed at the same time or do you have to delete each version?

Thank you!!! wave


Banana phone!
Re: Quicktime versions #135016
03/15/04 07:56 PM
03/15/04 07:56 PM
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 12,307
Body in California/Heart in Ha...
syd Offline
Adept Boomer
syd  Offline
Adept Boomer

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 12,307
Body in California/Heart in Ha...
In theory you can have more than one version - I've had several at the same time, but you're better off with only the version that the current game you're playing uses - especially the older games.


Dark Side : Risen
Light Side:

I can only please one person a day. Today isn't your day. Tomorrow's not looking good either.
Re: Quicktime versions #135017
03/15/04 08:15 PM
03/15/04 08:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,004
USA
looney Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
looney  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,004
USA
Thanks Syd! i was thinking that...one at a time! I guess that would be best huh?

Game on!!! wave


Banana phone!
Re: Quicktime versions #135018
03/15/04 09:27 PM
03/15/04 09:27 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 821
SNOHOMISH, WA
maryc64 Offline
Settled Boomer
maryc64  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 821
SNOHOMISH, WA
I believe there were major problems for running Riven if one had another version of QT on compy at the same time. I believe this was a question I asked here or TAC and that was the problem for Riven not working until I used just the one needed. I could be totally wrong about the game name. Good question.


maryc64
Re: Quicktime versions #135019
03/15/04 10:08 PM
03/15/04 10:08 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,410
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,410
southeast USA
Usually QuickTime 2 does not interfere with later versions, at least up through QuickTime 4. But I don't know if QuickTime 2 conflicts with QuickTime later than 4.

Re: Quicktime versions #135020
03/15/04 10:41 PM
03/15/04 10:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer
MrLipid  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
It's been my experience that the later versions conflict with the earlier versions. Blackstone Chronicles won't run if QuickTime 6.0 is installed. And the Puzz3D games won't run if any version above 4.1 is installed.

I have found, however, that it is sometimes possible to install a more recent version of QuickTime once an older game and its preferred version have been installed. Sometimes, not always.

Re: Quicktime versions #135021
03/15/04 11:05 PM
03/15/04 11:05 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,410
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,410
southeast USA
Blackstone Chronicles uses QuickTime 3.
I think QuickTime 3 and later all install in the same folder.

QuickTime 2 installs in a different folder from the later QuickTimes, which is why, at least sometimes, it can exist alongside later versions.

Re: Quicktime versions #135022
03/15/04 11:16 PM
03/15/04 11:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer
MrLipid  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
Quote:
Originally posted by Jenny100:
Blackstone Chronicles uses QuickTime 3.
True.
Quote:
I think QuickTime 3 and later all install in the same folder.
Not necessarily. It is possible to force installs to different directories. That's how I wound up with both QuickTime 3 and QuickTime 6 on the same system. wink

QuickTime 2 and 3 were designed to co-exist. Once 4 came along, all efforts at co-existence or backward compatibility pretty much ended. Which is why, in 2004, we're still fiddling with all the different flavors of QuickTime. laugh

Re: Quicktime versions #135023
03/16/04 01:06 PM
03/16/04 01:06 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,410
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,410
southeast USA
Quote:
Originally posted by MrLipid:
[QUOTE]It is possible to force installs to different directories. That's how I wound up with both QuickTime 3 and QuickTime 6 on the same system.
Which one does the Windows registry recognize and use when you run a QuickTime game?

Quote:

QuickTime 2 and 3 were designed to co-exist. Once 4 came along, all efforts at co-existence or backward compatibility pretty much ended.
I've had 2 and 4 together though, with no problems. But I've heard of people with QuickTime 2 and 5 having problems playing QuickTime 2 games.

Re: Quicktime versions #135024
03/16/04 01:35 PM
03/16/04 01:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer
MrLipid  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,947
Land of 10,000 Lakes
Quote:
Originally posted by Jenny100:
Originally posted by MrLipid:
[b]
Quote:
It is possible to force installs to different directories. That's how I wound up with both QuickTime 3 and QuickTime 6 on the same system.
Which one does the Windows registry recognize and use when you run a QuickTime game?[/b]
It has been my experience that it appears to be more closely tied to the file extension than to the Registry.

Quote:

QuickTime 2 and 3 were designed to co-exist. Once 4 came along, all efforts at co-existence or backward compatibility pretty much ended.
Quote:
I've had 2 and 4 together though, with no problems. But I've heard of people with QuickTime 2 and 5 having problems playing QuickTime 2 games.
Bottom line is that it is possible for multiple versions of QuickTime to co-exist on the same system. Problem is that newer versions of QuickTime (such as 5 or 6) are not backward compatible and can cause major problems with games that require older versions of QuickTime (such as 2, 3 or 4).

Blackstone Chronicles chokes if 6 is found and the Puzz3D games draw the line at 4.1. And the original Traitors Gate requires that both 2 & 3 be installed...but probably nothing more recent. Or not. wink

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Lex), 129 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Gotfrid, u4me, Neeppo, TeeDee, PuppyPooh
9054 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™