GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod #806810
05/06/12 10:37 AM
05/06/12 10:37 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
Hi, I've been reading other probs with this game none of which has been a problem for me but I have just got to the start of Chapter 3 where Bent is tied to the shower handle. As I couldn't seem to do anything, I looked at a few walkthroughs and I am supposed to use the curtain pole on the handle but I cannot "use" the pole. The option appears but when I select it nothing happens. Can anyone help? Maybe a savegame immediately after this (tho I'm not all that techie so I'd need instructions as to how to use it) Thanks.

Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: lynthorpe] #806819
05/06/12 11:45 AM
05/06/12 11:45 AM
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 262
Netherlands
genf Offline
Settled Boomer
genf  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 262
Netherlands
Same problem here. I can't find any website that addresses this problem.

I have the download version of this game, from an offer of the justadventuregames site. Maybe the problem is specific to that version?

Anyway, for me a savegame right after this would be very helpful too.
Thanks for any help.

Last edited by genf; 05/06/12 11:49 AM.
Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: lynthorpe] #806831
05/06/12 12:23 PM
05/06/12 12:23 PM
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,962
MaG Offline
Sonic Boomer
MaG  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,962
See if the screenshots here or this German video walkthrough helps.

I am not sure about saved game. Still looking for one.


-----


Hi Lyn and Gen,

I sent you the closest saved game I have - this is when Bent is out of the bathroom. luck

Last edited by MaG; 05/06/12 12:35 PM.
Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: lynthorpe] #806832
05/06/12 12:43 PM
05/06/12 12:43 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
Hi Genf, yeah got mine on the same offer (with Whispered World?) too so maybe you're right.
Mag, thanks I looked at walkthroughs on Youtube as well as GB text w/ts. Think genf will agree we know what we have to do but just can't do it. Very frustrating!
Let's hope someone has a savegame.

-------
Thanks Mag I'll give it go

Last edited by MaG; 05/06/12 01:07 PM. Reason: combined stacked posts
Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: lynthorpe] #806839
05/06/12 01:07 PM
05/06/12 01:07 PM
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,962
MaG Offline
Sonic Boomer
MaG  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,962
luck Hope the saved game helps.

Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: lynthorpe] #806848
05/06/12 02:35 PM
05/06/12 02:35 PM
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 262
Netherlands
genf Offline
Settled Boomer
genf  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 262
Netherlands
MaG - Thanks for the savegame, but... the trick didn't work.
I followed your instructions as well as I could (using a different savegame location... on my Windows 7 system it's C:\Users\<my username>\AppData\Local\Daedalic Entertainment\A New Beginning\Savegames.)

Anyway, I replaced the latest savegame there by yours, but the game refused to recognize it.
I also noticed that yours is considerably larger than my savegames... around 1.4 against 1.1MB. I bet it has to do with a different patch level.
The question now is, do I have to apply a patch and where do I get it?
Any ideas are welcome!

Lynthorpe, do you have more luck?

Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: lynthorpe] #806857
05/06/12 03:15 PM
05/06/12 03:15 PM
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 262
Netherlands
genf Offline
Settled Boomer
genf  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 262
Netherlands
I noticed a thread on the justadventure forum about this problem... here: http://www.justadventure.com/forums/posts.asp?t=24138&pg=1

Looks like they are searching into it as well, and even having contact with Daedalic itself.
I will keep an eye on both threads.

Last edited by genf; 05/06/12 03:16 PM.
Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: lynthorpe] #806880
05/06/12 06:47 PM
05/06/12 06:47 PM
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,962
MaG Offline
Sonic Boomer
MaG  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 69,962
Good luck. Hope you find a solution.

Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: lynthorpe] #806932
05/07/12 04:41 AM
05/07/12 04:41 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
Had exactly the same prob as genf... I'm also on 7. When I launched the game my original savegame was just an empty slot but I also couldn't save over it...overwrite option came up so it must have recognised something being there.
Thanks for trying Mag.
I'm watching both threads as well.

Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: lynthorpe] #807004
05/07/12 11:38 AM
05/07/12 11:38 AM
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 262
Netherlands
genf Offline
Settled Boomer
genf  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 262
Netherlands
There is a thread about this subject on a forum of the developers' website:
http://forum.daedalic.de/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1297

So, they are aware of the problem but not yet of a solution... Let's see what they come up with.

Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: genf] #810412
05/22/12 02:33 AM
05/22/12 02:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 130
J
JoAJ Offline
Settled Boomer
JoAJ  Offline
Settled Boomer
J

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 130
Just been reading the JA forum regarding this game. Apparently if it's their download that you have, there is a link on the forum to redownload the whole game. Evidently the bug with the curtain rod part has addressed. You've probably already seen this but just in case....... They say you need to uninstall the original download and reinstall the new one http://www.justadventure.com/forums/posts.asp?t=24138&pg=4

Re: A New Beginning unable to use curtain rod [Re: JoAJ] #811723
05/28/12 02:32 PM
05/28/12 02:32 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 170
ergggo Offline
Settled Boomer
ergggo  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 170
Thanks everyone for posting the question, suggesting solutions and posting the link to the JA site. I was stuck in the same spot with the curtain rod problem, but the procedure they gave took care of the problem. Lost all my previous saves, but they provided a save for the spot in the game where the curtain rod problem was encountered.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Marian 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Uncle Reg), 32 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Sean, dibbzlive, Parobot, Fitzie, Beckymc
9255 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™