GB HOMEPAGE

Error during install

Posted By: RenFair

Error during install - 03/15/05 02:53 AM

When I attempt to install a game a window pops up that reads:

16 bit Windows Subsystem

C:\Windows\System32\Autoexec.nt. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'close' to terminate this application.

It's not just one select game I get this message on either, I tried with a few others and yet the same box pops up. I tried doing a search to see if I could correct this but everything I tried didn't work. frown
Any help is greatly appreciated.
thanks
Posted By: Jenny100

Re: Error during install - 03/15/05 02:58 AM

What did you try?

Does this sound like your error?
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;314452
Posted By: RenFair

Re: Error during install - 03/15/05 03:00 AM

Yep tried that, but still get the dang error. I even tried rebooting after that fix but no luck. frown
Posted By: Jenny100

Re: Error during install - 03/15/05 03:10 AM

Does this happen with every game or only with older games that were made for Win 95/98 instead of XP?

Which XP do you have? Do you have SP2 installed?

Have you checked for spyware?

Here's some other things to check
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;142271
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;324767
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;840987
Posted By: RenFair

Re: Error during install - 03/15/05 03:31 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by Jenny100:
Does this happen with every game or only with older games that were made for Win 95/98 instead of XP?

Which XP do you have? Do you have SP2 installed?

Have you checked for spyware?
Not every game.. it seems my 'older' games (for instance, I tried Gabriel Knight and Beyond Atlantis) but The Sims was perfectly fine.

I'm not sure which XP it is.. didn't know there were different kinds. oops I just know it's XP Home Edition. And it says I have the SP2 on my computer.. I'll check out those links and see if I can get the games working.

thanks
Posted By: Jenny100

Re: Error during install - 03/15/05 04:37 AM

It might be an SP2 problem.
Check this thread for more ideas.
http://www.gameboomers.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi/topic/5/6459.html?

There is a patch that may help.
Posted By: RenFair

Re: Error during install - 03/15/05 07:43 AM

That was it exactly! laugh Thank you so much for the help and quick response Jenny!

thumbsup
Posted By: Visionism

Re: Error during install - 03/16/05 07:21 PM

I'm not sure how it happens but the files that allow 16 bit programs to run in a 32 bit environment can get damaged. I keep a copy of a small file you can download HERE on my system in case I run into this and it fixes it every time.
Posted By: infernoj13usa

Re: Error during install - 03/17/05 07:49 AM

SP2 actually deletes some of those files. So do a few of the early hotfixes for SP1...not to mention that spyware and adware can play havoc as well.

There's two short articles about it here in the general drill

Inferno
© 2019 GameBoomers Community