GB HOMEPAGE

Motion Sickness with Adventure Games

Posted By: barbarosso

Motion Sickness with Adventure Games - 07/26/21 11:51 AM

G'day All,

I started playing Obduction and noticed to my horror that I was getting motion sickness. I cheerfully admit that I cannot watch films of racing cars or fast moving vehicles taken from the vehicle, but this is the first time that I have observed it with an adventure game.

Has anyone noticed something something similar.

Cheers, barbarosso
Posted By: BrownEyedTigre

Re: Motion Sickness with Adventure Games - 07/26/21 12:40 PM

I think you will find lots of us suffer motion sickness in games! I know I do! Here is a previous thread with suggestions on how to reduce motion sickness in Obduction: Motion Sickness....

Ana wave
Posted By: Simon

Re: Motion Sickness with Adventure Games - 07/26/21 12:52 PM

Unfortunately I also suffer of motion sickness, and I can confirm, barbarosso, that you're not the only one! It is one of the reasons why I could never finish playing Obduction and Quern, sadly... (And working on the tests of my game Myha was terrible for me).

I have never understood why I have motion sickness with these adventure games, because I could play games like Skyrim or Fallout III in the past without too many problems.
It would seem that I have found a link (in my own case) between screen resolution and motion sickness. Playing in 1280x720 is quite ok for me, when the same game in 1920x1080 will make me sick. I don't know why (fps/speed, maybe?).

If anyone has found a way to fix motion sickness in 1st person 3d games, I'm interested!
Posted By: oldbroad

Re: Motion Sickness with Adventure Games - 07/26/21 07:06 PM