GB HOMEPAGE

Everquest II vs World of Warcraft

Posted By: JeanK

Everquest II vs World of Warcraft - 05/03/10 04:12 AM

Hey all:

Any of you doing either of these games? I've been playing Wow for almost 4 years and have just started playing Everquest II, Sentinals Fate online. Both games are fantastic, but there are interesting differences between, and I wondered if any of you have, or are playing them, and what differences you've found.

World of Warcraft is more popular and much more smoother running, but it's been kind of "dumbed down" lately to appeal to mass audiences. Mobs are easier to kill and quests are much easier. Everquest, on the other hand (and I've only been playing for a few weeks), seems to be more complicated, more like a traditional rpg, (except, of course, online). Even at lower levels attacking one mob can bring 3 or 4 on you.

I've also gone back to adventure gaming. Can you tell I don't have a life? lol

Jean
Posted By: Mugsy

Re: Everquest II vs World of Warcraft - 05/03/10 05:49 PM

Hi Jean,
Thanks for asking this question, I've been wondering what Everquest is like. I've been a WoW player for years but I haven't tried EQ and have often wondered if I should check it out too. I've never been into serious raiding in WoW and lately I've been getting even more discouraged that the main emphasis in the game seems to be on the raiding element and gear scores. I appreciated the achievement feature they introduced into the game, at least achievements are something a person can work on solo. It still irritates me that unless you do arena's or raid your level 80's will never have a hope of getting any really nice gear. wave

Re: Everquest II vs World of Warcraft - 05/03/10 07:12 PM

Hi Mugsy: