GB HOMEPAGE

Final Fantasy 14

Posted By: BobH

Final Fantasy 14 - 02/23/15 12:31 AM

I was looking for a new (to me) MMORPG to play and saw that Final Fantasy 14 got some good reviews and that it is a classic style MMORPG. I'm downloading the two week trial now and will give it a try. I'll let you know what I think of it.

Anyone have experience with this game? I didn't find anything from searching the forums.
Posted By: looney4labs

Re: Final Fantasy 14 - 02/23/15 03:26 AM

Bob, lots of my kids' friends have been very caught up in and think it's great, but I have no personal experience with it.

Do let us know what you think? wave

Re: Final Fantasy 14 - 02/23/15 06:44 AM

I've played for a few hours now. I've never played any of the Final Fantasy games before so really didn't have any frame of reference to compare this one. I believe the others were not MMORPG games. I read some reviews and so I did have some idea what to expect. The reviews I read raved about the music and the visuals but had some quibbles with battle mechanics. This is offered for PS3/PS4 in addition to PCs. I think this is the first time I've played an MMO that can be played on a console. So far I haven't noticed any issues related to this.

Here are my first impressions:

The music track is very nice. This is something I don't normally think much about and it's fine with me as long as it stays in the background. This is a little more prominent but is nice. You have a lot of control over controlling volume of different things so can turn it down if you want.