GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#1123647 - 09/04/17 01:02 PM riddle of the sphinx
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3094
Loc: San Diego
just a quick question - would it be better to download from "big fish games" or from a CD ? to play this game with no problems ? duh

Top
#1123648 - 09/04/17 01:18 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: deleterman]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38210
Loc: southeast USA
I assume the Big Fish version would come with a version of QuickTime that works with modern versions of Windows.

Top
#1123649 - 09/04/17 01:19 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: Jenny100]
Marian Online   content
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 31326
Loc: near Yosemite in California
Thank you, Jenny.

And if for some reason the downloaded version gave you problems, if you wrote to Big Fish Customer Support telling them that, they would give you a coupon code for a replacement game.

Top
#1123652 - 09/04/17 02:03 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: Marian]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3094
Loc: San Diego
great thanks good info. I think I will go with Big fish .most of the games that i got from them worked great ... thumbsup praise also what is the best walkthrough- soren andersen or magtro & n kuderna.? thanks


Edited by deleterman (09/04/17 03:26 PM)

Top
#1123836 - 09/05/17 10:35 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: deleterman]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3094
Loc: San Diego
playing big fish game -riddle of the sphinx ,having a hard time using - load game ,saving game and things like that .it said that space bar or right click will get you the menu. esc ends game ,but when playing the game none of that worked ,nada.or clicking any place on control panel. duh woozy let me know what to do.ok. thumbsup

Top
#1123838 - 09/05/17 11:02 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: deleterman]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38210
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: deleterman
it said that space bar or right click will get you the menu. esc ends game ,but when playing the game none of that worked ,nada.or clicking any place on control panel.

What do you mean by "it" when you say "it said?"
Are these instructions from Big Fish or instructions in the manual for your CD version?

It's possible that Big Fish changed the controls for saving.
It may autosave now.
See if that's the case.

Top
#1123842 - 09/05/17 11:27 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: Jenny100]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3094
Loc: San Diego
this is big fish -preference panel that has save ,save as ,quit,but none of these work. then I can't get out of this " preference " panel.i have to restart my computer to get out .yikes. hardwall

Top
#1123855 - 09/06/17 02:18 AM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: deleterman]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38210
Loc: southeast USA
Make sure you don't have an antivirus fighting with it.

Top
#1123899 - 09/06/17 11:25 AM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: Jenny100]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3094
Loc: San Diego
how do i check on that? duh

Top
#1123908 - 09/06/17 12:20 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: deleterman]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38210
Loc: southeast USA
Add the game exe to the antivirus' exceptions list.
You probably also need to add the QuickTime exe to the antivirus' exceptions list.

Did the game install QuickTime during the installation?
There were complaints at Big Fish about the game requiring a separate installation of QuickTime.
Check to see if you have QuickTime installed.

Top
#1125051 - 09/15/17 02:39 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: Jenny100]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3094
Loc: San Diego
thanks for that info , well see if that works, i only have 1 anti viris -webroot.I don't see that anywhere .give me a hint if you know ? thanks


Edited by deleterman (09/15/17 02:46 PM)

Top
#1125052 - 09/15/17 02:48 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: deleterman]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38210
Loc: southeast USA
These are the instructions I found for adding an .exe to Webroots exceptions list.

Quote:
- Open WSA, and click the 'gear tool' next to PC Security.
- Click the Block/Allow files tab.
- Is your program's .exe listed here? If so, and it is marked Block, change that to Allow.
- If the program's .exe is not listed, click the Add File button, navigate to the hard drive location where it is installed, select it and set it for allow.


The info is from here
https://community.webroot.com/t5/Webroot-SecureAnywhere-Antivirus/Exception-List/m-p/270401#M27839

Top
#1125057 - 09/15/17 03:32 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: Jenny100]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3094
Loc: San Diego
thanks for that info i will see if that works. wave2

Top
#1125058 - 09/15/17 04:01 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: deleterman]
deleterman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 05/21/05
Posts: 3094
Loc: San Diego
well that didn't work .i start game and go to the far tent go inside to desk and try to save game nada. i did get this error code 809.i had to restart computer to get out of game.. duh headscratchi will just move on to one of my other games for now.but thanks for your help. thumbsup dance

Top
#1125060 - 09/15/17 04:21 PM Re: riddle of the sphinx [Re: deleterman]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38210
Loc: southeast USA
Here's what Big Fish says about Error Code 809.

https://bigfishgames.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/115001637833-Error-Code-809

Quote:
Error Code 809 appears when a previously opened game may be minimized in the task bar or taking a long time to open or close. Pushing the Play button more than once can also cause this error.

Please select the platform you are using in the table below and follow the suggested steps to help clear up this error:

Windows



1. Close all programs: games, strategy guides, email programs, web browsers, and/or media players.
2. Open the Big Fish Games app (Game Manager) and click the Play button just once. It may take up to a full minute for the game to load.
3. If the error persists, restart your computer and try again.

How do I make sure all games are closed?

1. Press and hold the Ctrl, Alt, and Delete keys on your keyboard.
Next:
2. Windows 7 / 8 / 8.1 / 10 users: Click Start Task Manager.
Windows XP users: The Task Manager will open automatically. From the Task Manager, end any games or applications that are still running.


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Draclvr, Marian 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
4 registered (Sherlock, Marian, Koala, Jenny100), 103 Guests and 17 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Hispoiema, MorpheusDev, NDFan1994, OlderGamer12, Fingon
8965 Registered Users