GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#1131353 - 11/10/17 12:53 PM Syberia 3 keeps freezing
Melia Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/31/04
Posts: 2607
Loc: Texas
I just purchased the game on GOG I'm still in the beginning of it. Kate is in the 'hospital' and using the key on the elevator. As soon as she uses it, the screen goes black and the game stops responding. I've tried running it as administrator, disabling visual themes, use compatibility for my win 7....what else? I'm out of ideas. What now?
_________________________
The four food groups: Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate and HOT chocolate.

Top
#1131356 - 11/10/17 01:06 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Upsydaisy Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 07/23/05
Posts: 973
Loc: Sunny Devon, United Kingdom
Try this website https://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/requirements/syberia-3/13468 it will tell you if you can run the game on your system.

Top
#1131365 - 11/10/17 02:00 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12756
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Good suggestion, Upsydaisy... Melia, if you are still running that older video card, it might not be up to snuff.
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top
#1131366 - 11/10/17 02:06 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Melia Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/31/04
Posts: 2607
Loc: Texas
Thanks. It says I need more RAM. I have 4GB and need 6. I've told my husband and he'll work on it. I'll let you know.
_________________________
The four food groups: Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate and HOT chocolate.

Top
#1131369 - 11/10/17 02:45 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12756
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
If anyone can get you going, it's your hubby!
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top
#1131384 - 11/10/17 04:49 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Melia Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/31/04
Posts: 2607
Loc: Texas
The video card I have is NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti.

My husband checked the computer and told me that we have 16 GB on the motherboard, not 4 as the analysis was showing. He put in two 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 240-pin DDR3 SDRAM DD when he upgraded the computer. The upgrade was 3 years ago.

Edit: Checked memory usage. We have 16 GB installed but have only 3.09 GB usable. Earl is having trouble finding what's eating up the memory. He checked processes but couldn't find anything. I'm going to search online for an answer. Any ideas? Edit again: I'm using a 32-bit computer and my husband said that that's why all the memory is not being accessed. He has the hardware to bring it to 64-bit but said my games might not run...among other things. Is that true?


Edited by Melia (11/10/17 05:24 PM)
_________________________
The four food groups: Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate and HOT chocolate.

Top
#1131392 - 11/10/17 05:43 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38314
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Melia
Edit again: I'm using a 32-bit computer and my husband said that that's why all the memory is not being accessed. He has the hardware to bring it to 64-bit but said my games might not run...among other things. Is that true?

Your computer hardware is almost certainly 64-bit unless it is over 10 years old. But if you are running a 32-bit version of Windows, how much memory you can use will be limited to between 3 GB and 4 GB.

The games that won't run natively on 64-bit Windows are mostly older ones with 16-bit code that were made for Windows 3.1, DOS, or early Windows 95 -- games from the 1990's that haven't been updated to run on newer computers. Most of these games wouldn't run well on a modern computer anyway -- at least not without DOSBox or some other form of emulation.

Considering that you'll mostly be wanting to run newer games on the computer -- and not games from the 1990's -- you should either switch to a 64-bit version of Windows -- or install 64-bit Windows on a second hard drive so you can choose which to boot from depending on your game.

Top
#1131410 - 11/10/17 08:01 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Melia Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/31/04
Posts: 2607
Loc: Texas
Thanks Jenny100
_________________________
The four food groups: Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate and HOT chocolate.

Top
#1131421 - 11/10/17 09:57 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12756
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Can't add to anything else that Jenny said. I've been using 64-bit Windows operating systems for at least 8 years now and it hasn't affected gaming at all. If I want to play really old games that need an old system, I have an old XP computer I use.

Upgrade to a 64-bit OS and you can then access all that extra RAM your husband installed. If you don't, it's just sitting there unused.
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top
#1131491 - 11/11/17 02:41 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Melia Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/31/04
Posts: 2607
Loc: Texas
He was thinking of going to win 10. We have the 64-bit upgrade for win 7. I was thinking it would be less destructive to just upgrade the bits rather than the whole system. Any thoughts?
_________________________
The four food groups: Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate and HOT chocolate.

Top
#1131494 - 11/11/17 03:04 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12756
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
If you are going from 32 bit to 64 bit you will not be able to keep files etc. A clean install is the only option whether you stay with Windows 7 or go with Windows 10. From Microsoft...

Quote:
...you can't do an in place upgrade from a 32 bit system into a 64 bit system, the only way is to do a custom clean install.


However, you can back up your files to an external drive and restore them from there. Of course, all programs will need to be reinstalled anew. If it matters, all support for Windows 7 will cease in a little over 2 years.
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top
#1131495 - 11/11/17 03:16 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 38314
Loc: southeast USA
Going from 32-bit Windows 7 to 64-bit Windows 7 means installing a whole new operating system. Despite that they are "both Windows 7" they have less in common "under the hood" than different 64-bit versions of Windows. So you'd be doing a "Custom install" which means the installer would back up certain files, do a clean install of the 64-bit operating system, and then copy back the files it backed up (to the best of its ability).

It's up to you if you want Windows 7 or Windows 10.
I suggest you look at a Windows 10 computer in a store or at a friend's house to see if you are OK with the changes in the interface.

You have to decide for yourself if you can live with Windows 10, or if you'd rather have Windows 7.

Another thing to consider is that 64-bit Windows 7 will probably be more "compatible" with certain older games than 64-bit Windows 10. Check the Windows 7 and Games thread as opposed to the Windows 10 and Games thread. This isn't limited to "games from the 1990's" and can apply to much newer games.

Windows 7 will be supported with security updates until 2020 according to
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/13853/windows-lifecycle-fact-sheet

So there's no hurry to get Windows 10, and you may want to wait until you get a new computer or upgrade your current one with hardware that requires Windows 10 before switching to Windows 10.

Top
#1131497 - 11/11/17 03:27 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12756
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I agree with considering waiting on Windows 10 because you already HAVE the 64-bit Windows 7 disc. But, it's up to you.

I love Windows 10.
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top
#1131498 - 11/11/17 03:51 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Melia Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/31/04
Posts: 2607
Loc: Texas
Have you been able to play older games on it? I looked at the Win 10 discussion on this site and found that a lot more of the games I like (Grim Fandango, and other GOG games I have - Tex Murphy??) play on Win 7 but so well if at all on Win 10. I have a laptop with Win 10 and 64-bit. I'm in the process of downloading this game on it to see if it'll play.
_________________________
The four food groups: Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate and HOT chocolate.

Top
#1131499 - 11/11/17 04:01 PM Re: Syberia 3 keeps freezing [Re: Melia]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12756
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
The only games I've run into that won't play are those with certain forms of DRM which is blocked. However, as I understand it, an update to Windows 7 also blocks those on Windows 7 too.

If a GOG game says it will run on Windows 10, it definitely should. I've played the GOG remake of Grim Fandango and many other older games with no problems at all on Windows 10. For instance I was able to load up Scratches from 2006 from CD and had no problems with it at all. Darkfall the Journal from 2002 installed from a disk and plays just fine.
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top

Moderator:  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (mrbill, manxman, kazzmo, Barb, gymcandy1, looney4labs, Jenny100, misslilo, Marian, 1 invisible), 120 Guests and 16 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Marinus_Louis, tuna, danait13, mozkito314, LeonDaydreamer
8972 Registered Users