GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#1170891 - 12/04/18 06:22 AM Syberia 3
petert Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/26/03
Posts: 792
Loc: Hampshire, UK
As I noted in the hints forum I am having trouble with a Gog download of Syberia 3. I contacted them explaining my problem a couple of days ago but I have not yet heard back - not even an acknowledgement.
Simply said, the game announced that it had crashed and said that I should contact the game developer, which I assumed was Gog?
The folk on the Hints forum suggested that I post here on Glitches so here goes.

It is a Dell Inspiron N5110.
Intel Core i5 2410M
2.3GHz 6Gb Ram , 500Gb HDD, 1 Gb Ati Radeon,
HD 6470 15.6"

System Spec.
Code MLN962.
Intel Core i5 2410M 2.3 GHz
Memory 6144
HDD 640
Screen 1366 X 768.
Video 1Gb Ati Radeon HD 6470 & Intel HD.

Win 7 Home Prem 64bit.

Is it good enough for the game?

I did print and sent off the DxDiag for Gog - would that be helpful?


petert

Top
#1170909 - 12/04/18 10:26 AM Re: Syberia 3 [Re: petert]
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 35413
Loc: near Yosemite in California
It looks like your video card doesn't have enough memory to run the game properly. I believe you need a minimum of 2 GB of video memory.

Hopefully GOG will issue you a refund. They will be able to look at the diagnostics that you sent them and see why the game isn't working for you. I imagine that you will be hearing from them soon.

And GOG is one of the distributors of the game, not the developer.

Top
#1170916 - 12/04/18 11:04 AM Re: Syberia 3 [Re: petert]
Draclvr Online   content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13634
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
This is why I suggested you make sure your computer has the system specs to run the game. I don't know if this is causing your crashes, but your computer does not even meet the mininum system requirements.

Minimum system requirements:
Windows 7 / 8 / 10
Processor: Intel Core i3
Graphics: AMD R7 260X - Nvidia GTX 550 Ti 2GB
Memory: 4 GB RAM
DirectX: Version 11

Recommended system requirements:
Windows 7 / 8 / 10
Processor: Intel Core i5
Graphics: Nvidia GTX 960 2 GB
Memoryy: 8 GB RAM
DirectX: Version 11
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, my little heater by my side, to game, read and knit.

Top
#1170922 - 12/04/18 02:02 PM Re: Syberia 3 [Re: Draclvr]
petert Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/26/03
Posts: 792
Loc: Hampshire, UK
Thanks for the information.

I will stop wasting my time trying to get the game to run.

petert

PS - no word from Gog yet!

Top
#1170924 - 12/04/18 02:17 PM Re: Syberia 3 [Re: petert]
Draclvr Online   content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 13634
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
It will probably be at least 4 days before you do.
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, my little heater by my side, to game, read and knit.

Top
#1170930 - 12/04/18 02:51 PM Re: Syberia 3 [Re: petert]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 39287
Loc: southeast USA
Hopefully GOG will refund you so you can choose another game.
Watch out for the video card requirements on adventure games.
Except for the video card your computer would have met the requirements.

Top
#1171045 - 12/05/18 12:24 PM Re: Syberia 3 [Re: petert]
petert Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/26/03
Posts: 792
Loc: Hampshire, UK
Gog have indeed offered to refund the money and said that I can use it to buy another game.

They also made some suggestions about what I could do to try and make Syberia 3 work but it would seem to be a tall order to make 1Gb behave as 2Gb.
They include:
Use 'run as admin' during install and when selecting 'run'
Add Syberia3 and Galaxy to Avast exception trusted list
Try to install outside of Program Files.
Download DirectX web installer - will only add 9.0c
Open Radeon Setup-preferences-additional settings to access switchable graphics (I think)

Also download Dropbox archives and extract 2010,2012,2015 redistributable packages X86 and X64.

Given all of that, and recognizing my gross incapability on computers, I think I will find a cure for cancer and fix climate change.

petert

Top
#1171047 - 12/05/18 12:42 PM Re: Syberia 3 [Re: petert]
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 4590
Loc: Chicago
LOL. Maybe someday in the future you will upgrade your computer or have a different computer that you can play the game on. Good that they will refund you anyway!

Top
#1171049 - 12/05/18 01:51 PM Re: Syberia 3 [Re: oldbroad]
Mad Offline
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 28778
Loc: United Kingdom
"Given all of that, and recognizing my gross incapability on computers, I think I will find a cure for cancer and fix climate change."

Wow !! What ambition !! bravo happydance12 wink
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top

Moderator:  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
5 registered (ergggo, Draclvr, curly, Sherlock, revco), 303 Guests and 11 Spiders online.
Newest Members
PuppyPooh, PeterRosThir, DigiJockey4, TensionSplice, crofootski
9050 Registered Users