GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#135321 - 07/18/03 03:26 PM Jack Orlando DOS version
Scout Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/17/01
Posts: 1118
Loc: Portland, Oregon
Hi,

I installed and started playing Jack Orlando, the DOS version with Hungarian box and manual. If anyone has played this version of the game, could you tell me how to access my inventory? I know that in the Director's Cut the command is F1 but in the DOS version this brings up the Main Menu instead.

Thanks,

Mike

Top
#135322 - 07/18/03 04:45 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
lakerz Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 08/22/01
Posts: 659
Loc: Los Angeles, CA. USA
Hehe Scout, you are a glutton for punishment even trying to get this game to run. I heard it was very unforgiving, but I guess if anyone could do it it would be you.

So, can't read Hungarian? Heh, another example of the failed US education system...

Sorry, I don't know the answer to your question either. wink I'm useless.
_________________________
What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas...

Top
#135323 - 07/18/03 04:56 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Scout Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/17/01
Posts: 1118
Loc: Portland, Oregon
It took right off, no problem. Is there supposed to be a problem? Other than the Hungarian manual.

It does go looking for Vesa goodies right off the bat but I have Vesa compatibility on everything except, I think, my toaster oven.

Top
#135324 - 07/18/03 05:06 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
syd Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 11/12/99
Posts: 12306
Loc: Body in California/Heart in Ha...
Have you tried hitting the space bar or Escape? I have no clue either - let me get ahold of our resident Hungarian ( wave Zoly) and see if he's played it and can help you.
_________________________
Dark Side : Risen
Light Side:

I can only please one person a day. Today isn't your day. Tomorrow's not looking good either.

Top
#135325 - 07/18/03 07:36 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Scout Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/17/01
Posts: 1118
Loc: Portland, Oregon
Zoly is back? Hi Zoly.

syd, I've banged around a bit with no luck. Will keep looking. I have the Director's Cut too but I wanted to play the DOS version as I just came into possession of a copy.

EDIT: I see on Usenet that Jenny100 has played this version too, so hopefully either she or Zoly can give me a clue. I'm at a sort of a loss for the inventory management. I pick up an item but it doesn't automatically go into inventory. After a bit of false clicking it goes away. But to where?? Heh. Oh the humanity.

Top
#135326 - 07/18/03 09:37 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
syd Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 11/12/99
Posts: 12306
Loc: Body in California/Heart in Ha...
Well, he is unless I scared him off by telling him I was going to send him my first born laugh

I have both the games also - haven't played either one mores the pity.

You of course did what I do and hit all the function keys right? And hit I for inventory ummmm L for Lost Stuff or J for Junk?
_________________________
Dark Side : Risen
Light Side:

I can only please one person a day. Today isn't your day. Tomorrow's not looking good either.

Top
#135327 - 07/18/03 10:10 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Yapette Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/16/02
Posts: 241
Hey Scout,
I played that version, manual in Hungarian.
My notes say F1.

Specifically: "F1 to get inventory, game options."
Also says: "Top screen is inventory & options."

Or did I play in Windows?

See, I'm no help at all....but I care evil .

Top
#135328 - 07/18/03 10:19 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Scout Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/17/01
Posts: 1118
Loc: Portland, Oregon
Yapette,

When I hit F1 I get the main menu:

Load
Save
Game controls (no inventory in there)
Audio controls (ibid)
About game
Quit
Resume

Aren't you glad you answered?

syd,

All those and a 100 more. I've never lost my entire inventory before.

Top
#135329 - 07/18/03 10:45 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35569
Loc: southeast USA
I don't remember what the inventory was. Let me start up the game and see if I can figure it out.

Top
#135330 - 07/18/03 10:56 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35569
Loc: southeast USA
Move your cursor to the top edge of the screen and the menu bar that holds the inventory should appear.

Top
#135331 - 07/18/03 11:00 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Yapette Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/16/02
Posts: 241
Yup Scout,
You just *made* me load the game again wink .
And I did it in DOS just for you.
And Jenny100 is correct.
Move mouse to top of screen & giant bar appears onto which you can put that bloody spoon.
Which I picked up after listening to allllll those intro cutscenes & alllll that dialogue.

Happy Playing.

Top
#135332 - 07/18/03 11:21 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Scout Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/17/01
Posts: 1118
Loc: Portland, Oregon
Thanks Jenny 100
Thanks Yapette
Thanks syd

I don't know why I didn't run the cursor to the top and bottom of my screen. I automatically do that with most old Sierra games, etc. Wierd. All is well now and I'm stealing stuff right and left to a swooping saxaphone solo.

Cool woodgrain finish for the inventory panel, don't you think? Heh. Actually it's a gorgeous looking game.

Mike

Top
#135333 - 07/20/03 10:25 AM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Zoly Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/14/99
Posts: 1724
Loc: Budapest, Hungary
Hi guys,

Sorry I'm late but I was so absorbed in Harry Potter that I didn't even turn on my puter to read my mail. Ran through the book in 3 days.

Anyway, let me try to redeem myself by posting the complete English translation of the Jack Orlando manual done by yours truly.

Btw, Mike wave , where did you get a Hungarian copy of the game without a translated manual? I'm fairly certain I sent it to everybody I traded with and also to Alan McDonald from Playing Games Interactive, Inc., who's selling the game.

Z
_________________________
The Adventure Games Hall of Fame

Top
#135334 - 07/20/03 11:37 AM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
syd Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 11/12/99
Posts: 12306
Loc: Body in California/Heart in Ha...
Harry Potter huh? A likely story laugh

Well, wherever Mike got his game I must have gotten mine from the same place because my manual is as Hungarian as you are Z lol
_________________________
Dark Side : Risen
Light Side:

I can only please one person a day. Today isn't your day. Tomorrow's not looking good either.

Top
#135335 - 07/20/03 11:47 AM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Scout Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/17/01
Posts: 1118
Loc: Portland, Oregon
Hi Zoly,

Another soul lost to the evil Harry Potter empire. :-)

Thanks for the manual. Just printed it out.

I got the Hungarian version from a person who bought it from PGI. They didn't mention a translated manual. Got it running now though.

Hey, is there any way to clean up the sound or mix down the music track? I've got the voice interruption function and voice text on but some the voices are nearly indistinguishable. Lots of hiss and static too. More annoying than game stopping but still...

I installed the Director's Cut on one computer and the original version on another. It's interesting to play them alongside each other. Cool that the DOS version lets you take in-game screenshots too.

Mike

Top
#135336 - 07/20/03 01:46 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Zoly Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/14/99
Posts: 1724
Loc: Budapest, Hungary
Just to make sure I'm not getting senile at the tender age of xx I went to the PGI website and looked up the Jack Orlando page. There's a notice on there saying "You may request an English manual by e-mail if you wish to have one to download." Apparently, I did send out the translation. smile Of course, if you didn't buy it directly from them then you wouldn't know about it... frown

Your Highness, are you quite sure you got your game the same place as Mike did? Only I seem to remember us trading a couple of games a while back... laugh Next you'll be saying I didn't send you the manual. <img border="0" title="" alt="[Razz]" src="tongue.gif" /> (And the shampoo bills are now sure to come. wink )

Z
_________________________
The Adventure Games Hall of Fame

Top
#135337 - 07/20/03 03:22 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
syd Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 11/12/99
Posts: 12306
Loc: Body in California/Heart in Ha...
Oh I remember where I got the game from your Hungarianess whistle but you seemed so sure you sent out English manuals I didn't want to contradict you laugh I just figured it was your sneaky way of making me learn Hungarian <img border="0" title="" alt="[Razz]" src="tongue.gif" />


And you just better hope the shampoo bills don't come postage due wink
_________________________
Dark Side : Risen
Light Side:

I can only please one person a day. Today isn't your day. Tomorrow's not looking good either.

Top
#135338 - 07/20/03 08:24 PM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Yapette Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 06/16/02
Posts: 241
I bought mine directly from PGI.
No mention of getting an English manual so I stumbled & bumbled my way through in Hungarian smile .

I will print your translation, thanks Zoly.

Top
#135339 - 07/21/03 01:26 AM Re: Jack Orlando DOS version
Zoly Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/14/99
Posts: 1724
Loc: Budapest, Hungary
Hey Yapette, my deepest sympathies for having to go through the Hungarian manual. smile I'm told Hungarian is a pretty hard language to learn, although I never noticed it myself... laugh

Syd, your threats are getting feebler by the minute. smile First it was sending your first born (who, by the by, is downright gorgeous and if she's anything like her mom personality-wise, then... well, I should be so lucky :kiss: ) and now postage due shampoo bills. Tut, tut. smile

Mike, to get back to your question, I don't think there's a way to change the music/speech mixing in the game. I seem to remember (vaguely) having the same problem and I think my "solution" was simply turning on the subtitles.

Z
_________________________
The Adventure Games Hall of Fame

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
6 registered (Marian, mabeco, Chief, curly, flutist, Lagavulin), 76 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Akkad, ViktorTheBoar, ryan_khatam, BabyBloomer, denton9
8568 Registered Users