GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#135596 - 05/03/04 07:47 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Llewton Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/27/03
Posts: 1800
Loc: Ardsley, New York
That's exactly the size of the saved game Mr L, same as the other saves, but other than one at the beginning none of them will load.
_________________________
If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life

Top
#135597 - 05/03/04 08:13 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35295
Loc: southeast USA
I'll send you one of my saves that I think is right after the bird drops you off.
Check your email in a couple of minutes and see if that one loads. It goes in the GameData folder that's inside the Forever Worlds folder.

Top
#135598 - 05/03/04 08:54 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Quote:
Originally posted by Llewton:
That's exactly the size of the saved game Mr L, same as the other saves, but other than one at the beginning none of them will load.
You've probably mentioned this already somewhere, but I'll ask again. Are you running the DivX player or Windows Media Player Series 9?

Someone else ran into this problem, uninstalled the DivX player, installed WMP9, and then ran a video before loading the game.

Yeah, it's a lot of work, but that was the only way this player could get previously saved games to load.

The symptom -- only the first saved game would load -- was the same.

Top
#135599 - 05/04/04 12:06 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Llewton Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/27/03
Posts: 1800
Loc: Ardsley, New York
I followed your "secret sauce recipe" to the letter Mr Lipid. I loaded only the codec and have the latest version of Media player. I play a movie before playing the game then start it up. The opening sequence and the game load come on then the opening sequence with the boat, however I can't, as stated, get any of my saves to work.
Thanks for the saved game Jenny, will see if it works tonight, however I might just give up on this one if I have to ask for saved games everytime I stop playing and go to resume again (already got a saved game from MaG).
Happy gaming all,
Bill
_________________________
If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life

Top
#135600 - 05/04/04 12:12 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
Bill,

What are your system specs? How beefy is your video card? Wondering if this might be a texture loading problem. think

Top
#135601 - 05/04/04 12:16 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Llewton Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/27/03
Posts: 1800
Loc: Ardsley, New York
Athalon 900 784 Ram,ATI Radeon 7000 64 MB, Soundblaster16 Pci, running on Windows 98 SE.
_________________________
If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life

Top
#135602 - 05/04/04 01:52 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
That should be enough. If you'd like, you could send me one of your non-loading saved games and I could see if it will load on my system. If your saved game loads on my system, it will help us narrow the search a bit.

Top
#135603 - 05/04/04 02:26 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Llewton Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/27/03
Posts: 1800
Loc: Ardsley, New York
Will do tonight. Thanks
_________________________
If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life

Top
#135604 - 05/04/04 06:25 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Llewton Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/27/03
Posts: 1800
Loc: Ardsley, New York
Hi Jenny,
The weirdness gets deeper. The saved game you sent me me at first didn't work yet when I moved my Mountain save that didn't work and renamed your save mountain it worked. Go figure. Just hope I don't need a saved game everytime I stop playing and then try to resume from a save where I left off. Thanks again for your help with this one.

Bill
_________________________
If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life

Top
#135605 - 05/04/04 08:11 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35295
Loc: southeast USA
That is weird. It sounds like the problem was caused by something different from what Mr. Lipid mentioned, even though the symptom was the same.

Top
#135606 - 05/04/04 08:16 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
And it gets weirder.

Bill sent me a copy of his saved game...and it doesn't work on my system, either.

So the corruption appears to be happening on his system. It creates a saved game of the proper size that won't load.

Great. Just great.

And TAC is now telling folks that the only thing that needs to be done to get Forever Worlds running on 98, 98SE or ME is to run a second or two of media on any available media player and everything will load and play just fine. In fact, just having the system make a noise when a program opens is enough. Who knew?

Top
#135607 - 05/04/04 09:49 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35295
Loc: southeast USA
If that was true, the Windows startup sound would fix it every time you rebooted.

Top
#135608 - 05/04/04 09:55 PM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
MrLipid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 12/30/00
Posts: 1946
Loc: Land of 10,000 Lakes
And it's not.

I just tried running Forever Worlds with no version of Windows Media Player installed and, guess what? It doesn't work.

It may not have to be WMP9, but it has to be some version of WMP or Forever Worlds just won't come out to play.

No matter how much noise programs kick out when they launch... smile

Top
#135609 - 05/05/04 12:17 AM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35295
Loc: southeast USA
Well it didn't seem to work with WMP 6.4 when I tried it. So it has to be at least WMP 7.

Top
#135610 - 05/05/04 01:58 AM Re: Forever Worlds - Stuck in Part 5
Jenny100 Online   content
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35295
Loc: southeast USA
Mr. Lipid,
I checked your post over at the TAC forum.
I think there must be some codec that does not uninstall when you uninstall WMP 9. I couldn't even get the avi files in the Forever World folder to play using WMP 6.4 - but that was on a system that had never had later than WMP 6.4. It may be possible to install the codecs without installing WMP 9 though, if you can find the download.

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (Marian, traveler, Laurette, Melia, Carrie, Jenny100, auntiegram, Draclvr, kjos, 1 invisible), 76 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
keonie, cattitude, Jerrnej, greacia, Jason_Encore
8507 Registered Users