GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#851209 - 11/22/12 01:45 PM slow pc
kjos Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5013
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
Wondering what would cause my other xp to run slow when I'm using the enternet. Would it be cpu,ram or my graphic card. This is what I have on my pc.

Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz
Memory: 2040MB RAM
Page File: 319MB used, 3616MB available
Thanks
Richard
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#851219 - 11/22/12 02:26 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34871
Loc: southeast USA
Viruses?
Slow Internet connection?

Assuming you have XP, your processor speed and memory are fine.

Top
#851220 - 11/22/12 02:31 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
kjos Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5013
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
I have a Slow Internet connection,
Richard


Edited by kjos (11/22/12 04:11 PM)
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#851250 - 11/22/12 05:16 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34871
Loc: southeast USA
A slow Internet connection has nothing to do with your computer -- unless your network card is bad.

What speed are you paying your ISP for?
If you run a broadband test at
http://www.speedtest.net/
or
http://www.speakeasy.net/speedtest/
how fast does it say your connection is?

If you use wireless, there are a host of other problems that could cause a slow connection. Many things can cause interference with the wireless signal.

Top
#851261 - 11/22/12 06:10 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
kjos Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5013
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
I have two computers xp.
the fast one is.
ping 37-ms
download speed-44.37 mbps
upload speed-5.42

the slow one is
ping 27 ms
download speed-44.91 mbps
upload speed-5.45 mbps

The two of them are about the same speed. It has to be the computer don't you think.
Thanks Jenny.
Richard


Edited by kjos (11/22/12 06:22 PM)
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#851265 - 11/22/12 06:27 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9379
Loc: In my PC corner for the winter
kjos, for your reference, my speeds right now are:

ping 25 - ms
download - 4.84 mbps
upload - 1.45 mbps

Since I would sell my firstborn for your internet speeds (sorry, Jason!), the problem is not your internet connection.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#851267 - 11/22/12 06:34 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
kjos Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5013
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
Thanks Draclvr at least it's not my Internet connection.
Richard
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#851271 - 11/22/12 07:05 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34871
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: kjos
I have a Slow Internet connection,
Richard

It looks like you don't have a slow Internet connection after all. If one of your computers is slow when you access the Internet, there must be another reason.

What web browser are you using? IE? Firefox? Chrome? Something else?

Are you sure you don't have a virus on the slow computer? How full is the hard drive? Have you emptied your Internet cache recently?

Top
#851278 - 11/22/12 07:38 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
kjos Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5013
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
It must be my hard drive.
Pretty small---37.2 GB Hard drive
free space--17.1 GB
used space--20.1 GB
Would it make much of a difference to put a bigger HD? I'm using IE. I checked and found no virus
Richard


Edited by kjos (11/22/12 07:40 PM)
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#851283 - 11/22/12 08:18 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34871
Loc: southeast USA
It could be the hard drive -- not because it's small but because a drive that size must be quite old by now. A new drive with a fresh install of Windows XP would probably run quite a bit faster.

Top
#851297 - 11/22/12 10:25 PM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6698
Loc: Arizona
It would run faster, but... it also depends on the chipset. Does this PC support UDMA at ATA 100 or ATA 133? If you've got a model number we can look it up for you.

I'm guessing that your interface is IDE/EIDE because of the hard drive size.

Top
#851359 - 11/23/12 06:55 AM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
kjos Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5013
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
maybe it's time for a new pc.
FAST HP DC5700 Desktop Computer Tower Intel Pentium D 2.8GHz/ 4GB/ 2TB/ XP Pro. Does this look any good.
Richard
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#851376 - 11/23/12 09:35 AM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9379
Loc: In my PC corner for the winter
Where are you buying a computer with XP on it from? This is a very old PC and is a form factor they call a "micro-tower." At the most it has an old GMA 3000 graphics chip in the motherboard. Do not expect it to play even newer casual games. Unless your finances are extremely limited, this is not a good computer for a gamer.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#851386 - 11/23/12 10:21 AM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
kjos Online   happy
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5013
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
My wife doesn't play any games at all. If I wanted to put a graphic gard in the pc would it take a AGP. thanks
Richard


Edited by kjos (11/23/12 10:46 AM)
Edit Reason: added more
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#851402 - 11/23/12 11:42 AM Re: slow pc [Re: kjos]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6698
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: kjos
My wife doesn't play any games at all. If I wanted to put a graphic gard in the pc would it take a AGP. thanks
Richard


There are no AGP expansion slots on the motherboard. According to the docs there is a single PCIe x1 slot and 2 full length PCI slots. The power supply is 300 watts, so that would be another limitation to consider if you upgraded the graphics card.

Here's a link to the specs -

HP DC5700 Business PC

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
11 registered (Kayc, kjos, dorish, GBC, Chief, mayday_, Midge, ipad_Lover, Redz, 1 invisible), 74 Guests and 27 Spiders online.
Newest Members
SamCarterX, Challyn20, Poppysmom, shaun9991, weakstorm
8422 Registered Users