GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#861620 - 01/11/13 06:56 AM Baldur's Gate 2
oldman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/15/00
Posts: 3464
Loc: Lost in the Arizona Desert
Hi all,

Anyone remember game enough to suggest some help?

I don't know what the heck is going on. I've been playing fine and have worked my way through several quests all the way into Chapter 2. I got to the Copper Coronet and was trying to fight the beasts in the slave area and my characters won't use their weapons. I've tried to get them to use swords, bows and what not and no dice. The wands and spells will work though.

Is there some type of setting that can be turned on and off to allow the use of weapons or something? I checked the manual and can't find any solution.

I started a game over again to see if the game will in fact react and when I got into the first combat I was able to use the swords. I reinstalled the game and then played the saves again from the Copper Coronet and the characters still won't use the weapons.

I even left the area and went to the city gates where I got ambushed and my characters still won't use their weapons.

I'm really getting frustrated.

Thanks in advance for any help.
_________________________
You laugh because I'm different
I laugh because you're all the same

Funny I don't remember being absent minded.

John

Top
#861630 - 01/11/13 09:36 AM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
looney4labs Offline
GB Reviewer Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 04/05/04
Posts: 42542
Loc: Alabama
Oldman, if your save file corrupted, then using that file would not let you use the weapons even though you reinstalled the game. Also, if you are using a trainer, that can cause all sorts of strange bugs. Can you go back several saves and work yourself back to that area on a clean reinstall?
_________________________
"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras

Top
#861661 - 01/11/13 01:10 PM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/06
Posts: 1490
Loc: Denmark, Europe
Which version of BG2 are you using, Oldman?

---

The BG games are famous - or perhaps infamous? - for their corrupted save games. It usually helps to go into the temp save folder and delete the files in there, the files, that is, not the folder.
_________________________
Adventure gaming is fun smile


Top
#861670 - 01/11/13 01:37 PM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
oldman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/15/00
Posts: 3464
Loc: Lost in the Arizona Desert
Karsten I have the complete BG2 download from GOG and I did the tweaks that were suggested on the GOG forum.

I have uninstalled the game completely and installed it again and decided to start over rather than try my old saves. I am back at the city once again. Haven't been to the Copper Coronet yet but am holding my breath.

If it happens this go around I will cuss profusely and give up on the game.
_________________________
You laugh because I'm different
I laugh because you're all the same

Funny I don't remember being absent minded.

John

Top
#861735 - 01/11/13 08:54 PM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
Karsten Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 10/25/06
Posts: 1490
Loc: Denmark, Europe
Try to turn autosave off - would be my next suggestion. And save often.

I remember once in, I think BG1, or was it BG2?, I had played for about an hour, I think, and had made really good progess in the game. And then I saved, or rather I thought, I saved. And when I went into the game the next day, the save game wouldn't load. I deleted the save... and had to do it all again. (wiser at it, however, because I knew know what I was facing...)
_________________________
Adventure gaming is fun smile


Top
#861836 - 01/12/13 10:55 AM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
Drizzt Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/22/02
Posts: 3790
Loc: Sweden
Probably my favourite game of all time. Don't give up on it!

I've never heard of this problem before (or the corrupt saved games, maybe I'm just lucky?). Is the weapon slot empty, even though the weapon is equipped in the inventory?

It may be that for some reason the characters switched to an empty quickslot, therefore using their hands.
_________________________
Are they dead? Yes. Unlike you they have but one life...and they wasted it for your sake!

Top
#861862 - 01/12/13 01:19 PM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
looney4labs Offline
GB Reviewer Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 04/05/04
Posts: 42542
Loc: Alabama
Thanks Karsten, Thanks Drizzt...

I hope it works for you Oldman....
_________________________
"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras

Top
#861900 - 01/12/13 04:14 PM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
oldman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/15/00
Posts: 3464
Loc: Lost in the Arizona Desert
Drizzt, I don't know what the problem was in those previous saves but since I'm playing a new game with the new installation, I'm having no problems with the combat (other than my ineptness).

So evidently it was some corrupt saves on the old files. I've done a lot of quests in chapter 2 and it's working fine but I've been hesident to return to the particular quest that caused me problems. I may back up my present saves and venture into the slave pits once again to see if the problem repeats itself. Who knows?

Anyway, thanks all for the help and advice and I'll keep on trucking.

As a side note, I was wondering about the mods that are listed. Supposedly you can mod the two games so that you can play from Baldurs 1 right through all the Baldurs 2 and addons etc but when reading the instructions it had me install everything into the Baldurs Gate 2 folder. I was just wondering how that can happen. I mean it states that, after installing everything you can then delete the old Baldur's Gate 1 folder. Either I didn't get it installed right or I'm missing something because I can see no way to play from Baldurs 1 through the end of Baldurs 2 as stated in these instructions.
_________________________
You laugh because I'm different
I laugh because you're all the same

Funny I don't remember being absent minded.

John

Top
#861921 - 01/12/13 05:46 PM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
looney4labs Offline
GB Reviewer Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 04/05/04
Posts: 42542
Loc: Alabama
Oldman, we didn't use any mods after the one trainer corrupted our saves. wave
_________________________
"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras

Top
#862559 - 01/16/13 10:05 AM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
oldman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/15/00
Posts: 3464
Loc: Lost in the Arizona Desert
Back again. I'm so stuck here that I may have to go to a previous save and skip this dungeon.

I'm in Chapter 5 in the underdark and am in the Mind flayers dungeon.

I'm stuck in this place and can't get out. I've awakened the mind flayers and have the collars from the machine that is supposed to control the mind flayers. For the life of me I can't figure out how to use the collars. hardwall

I put a collar in my quick slot and use it on a mind flayer just like a scroll or anything else. I get a sound indicating that the collar was used but the flayer won't follow me. Basically I can't figure out how to command the flayer to go and open a door as it is supposed to. Is there a trick to commanding them or have I run into a glitch?

Would appreciate any help.
_________________________
You laugh because I'm different
I laugh because you're all the same

Funny I don't remember being absent minded.

John

Top
#862596 - 01/16/13 02:21 PM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
looney4labs Offline
GB Reviewer Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 04/05/04
Posts: 42542
Loc: Alabama
Oldman, are you in ToB or SoA?

There is a list of hints for defeating the mind flayers Here, though I didn't see anything that addresses your problem.
_________________________
"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras

Top
#862613 - 01/16/13 04:36 PM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
oldman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/15/00
Posts: 3464
Loc: Lost in the Arizona Desert
Thanks Looney I was doing something dumb (again). I finally figured it out and I was trying to control the slaves rather than the mind flayers. One of those duh moments. duh

Anyway thanks for the response.
_________________________
You laugh because I'm different
I laugh because you're all the same

Funny I don't remember being absent minded.

John

Top
#862653 - 01/16/13 08:21 PM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
looney4labs Offline
GB Reviewer Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 04/05/04
Posts: 42542
Loc: Alabama
Oldman, glad you figured it out! rotfl wave
_________________________
"Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole."
-Roger Caras

Top
#862673 - 01/17/13 12:36 AM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
hagatha Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/19/00
Posts: 4443
Loc: West Vancouver, B.C. Canada
I'm just finishing up a quick game of BG2SOA/TOB right now with my ranger/cleric. What character class are you playing, Oldman?
_________________________
Keep them mowing blades sharp...

Top
#862729 - 01/17/13 10:00 AM Re: Baldur's Gate 2 [Re: oldman]
oldman Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/15/00
Posts: 3464
Loc: Lost in the Arizona Desert
Hi Hagatha,

I just went with the basic Fighter. I use my companions for all the thief and magic stuff. This game really taxes your brain with all the options needed to cure various wounds received in combat like fear, confusion and the like.

Without the internet I'd be very lost,(or more lost than I already am) but I am enjoying this replay. It's been so long since I first played it that it's like finding a new game.
_________________________
You laugh because I'm different
I laugh because you're all the same

Funny I don't remember being absent minded.

John

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  looney4labs 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
4 registered (oldbroad, Milica, Lex, GuybrushThreepwood), 50 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Akkad, ViktorTheBoar, ryan_khatam, BabyBloomer, denton9
8568 Registered Users