GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#914678 - 09/20/13 11:02 PM power button problem or ??
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1165
Loc: Chicago
Hello,

Lately I have been having some problems turning my computer on. Sometimes it comes only halfway up and I have to shut it off (with the power button) and start over. By this I mean that my taskbar will come up but none of my desktop icons and if I hover down there it is just spooling (or whatever you call it). I cannot click on anything like the start button etc.

It seems if I don't hold the power button down long enough, the computer doesn't come all the way up but if I hold it down just a little longer, it shuts off before even starting to come on. Hope I'm making sense. I'm having trouble finding just the right length of time for it to catch and I never had to pay attention to it before.

What do you think is breaking down?

Thank you.

Top
#914749 - 09/21/13 10:22 AM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35469
Loc: southeast USA
I don't understand why the power button would have an effect. If it was just that the computer didn't fully boot and the icons never came up, I'd suspect a bad driver or a hard drive problem. But you say if you hold the button down a little longer, the computer boots normally.

I've had computers not fully boot when their power supplies were starting to fail, but they never got as far as the desktop. In those cases, letting the computer fail the first attempt, sit there stuck but still running for 10 or 15 minutes , then rebooting would often result in a successful boot. Of course the real solution was to replace the power supply.

Do you have any peripherals connected by USB that might be trying to power up after you get to the desktop?

Top
#914754 - 09/21/13 10:28 AM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/05
Posts: 2326
Loc: Michigan
Sounds like the hard drive isn't loading the entire program which could be some component or the hard drive itself.Here is what I would try:
1).Turn off the computer and open the side panel.Pull out and re-seat all the memory cards and any Pci cards.
2).Turn computer back on and boot into Safe mode.In safe mode run malwarebytes.If there is some virus this should catch it.
3).Try booting normal and see if there is an improvement.

Top
#914763 - 09/21/13 10:49 AM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10026
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
As a quick stab at the problem, I'd say a failing power supply. It might not be providing enough power to let the computer finish booting up.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#914776 - 09/21/13 11:48 AM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6817
Loc: Arizona
If you look in the event logs you should see the culprit. Expand the Windows section and review both the Application and System events for errors.

How to view and manage event logs in Event Viewer in Windows XP

Open Event Viewer Windows 7

Top
#914833 - 09/21/13 04:02 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1165
Loc: Chicago
Well, my thought is the power supply also. When I first set up this computer I had to have the power supply replaced (straight out of the box the computer didn't work) and Dell replaced it with a refurbished power supply. That was 2-1/2 years ago.

Inland, I looked at those logs but didn't see anything I could understand.

Jenny, it just seems like it is having something to do with the power button and how long I hold it down. It may not really have anything to do with that.

Geo, I'll probably end up buying a new computer before attempting to open it up and move anything around.

Top
#914844 - 09/21/13 04:30 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10026
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
My step-son had a Dell and after the power supply croaked the 4th time in 3 years, they gave up. This was a top of the line Dell gaming computer at that time. For Christmas that year they had me assemble components for my grandson and me to build a new computer together. It's been almost 3 years and this one is still running like brand new. I don't know if they had a bad run of power supplies for awhile or what, but the aggravation was just not worth it for them.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#914853 - 09/21/13 05:14 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1165
Loc: Chicago
I wish you lived near me Draclvr. I'd love for you to work on my computers for me.

The Dell Dimensions I had was a pretty good computer but I don't care for this XPS too much.

Top
#914854 - 09/21/13 05:16 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: Draclvr]
Darleen03 Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 12/13/03
Posts: 14788
Loc: Northeast NJ
I had the same dang thing happen with my windows 98 years ago.....It to was a Dell...

The power button would start up sometimes, and other times no good....Finally I never shut the computer off....UNTIL I had a power failure in my home so I needed to use the power button....Then it wouldn't start at all...

I had a tech guy look at it..He told me my mother board was fried....

So I had to trash it...
_________________________
Luv Dar


GameBoomers
"Games Are More Enticing Because Of Our "MaG"nificent Efficient Radiant Site"

Top
#914858 - 09/21/13 05:32 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10026
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Funny, oldbroad, that their's was an XPS too.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#914866 - 09/21/13 07:31 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/05
Posts: 2326
Loc: Michigan
Consider a Cyberpower for your next computer.You can select your power supply,(along with all componants), and put a 1000 watt PS in there if you want.

Top
#914875 - 09/21/13 08:27 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1165
Loc: Chicago
This computer is too new to dump, especially just because of a power supply. If it does go out on me I'll have to fix it or have it fixed, however, I have still been thinking about a new computer lately. What for - I don't know. I really don't have any room for another one.


Edited by oldbroad (09/21/13 08:32 PM)

Top
#915030 - 09/22/13 03:10 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35469
Loc: southeast USA
Replacing a power supply shouldn't cost that much. And if you're able to have one installed with higher wattage, the new one will be able to support a faster video card.

Top
#915034 - 09/22/13 03:45 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
Winfrey Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/11/06
Posts: 4435
Loc: The Country
I had that happen and it was the power button broke.. it is plastic and the back end split.. when I opened the computer I was able to pull it out.. glue it and it has worked for the last 5 years.
_________________________
Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody
Gibran

Top
#915035 - 09/22/13 03:51 PM Re: power button problem or ?? [Re: oldbroad]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10026
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Hopefully if oldbroad does have to replace the power supply, it won't be as much of a nightmare as my step-son had. The power supplies were proprietary to the Dell motherboard! So they couldn't just pop in a new power supply. At least that's what Dell told them.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
9 registered (Jarkeld, Lex, darkhallow, maryjo, niteowl07, curly, Olga, Rushes, kjos), 79 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Veilant, tookiebgirl12, Adam_B, Polikolp, efmouse
8541 Registered Users