GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#930733 - 12/19/13 09:28 PM Vampires Masquerade Redemption
Nikademis Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 12/19/13
Posts: 11
Loc: Pennsylvania
I found my Vampire disks and decided to put it on my Win 7 64 bit computer and I get a message that says cant play on 64 bits. seen millions of solutions....changed compatibility, ran the setup inside the folder not in main directory..... nothing works any clues???

Top
#930734 - 12/19/13 09:38 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Nikademis]
Marian Offline
Moderator
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 19576
Loc: near Yosemite in California
Hi Nikademis, and welcome to GameBoomers.

Hopefully the experts here will be able to give you some good advice about your problem.

Top
#930743 - 12/19/13 10:58 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Nikademis]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9710
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Nikademis, I double checked the Windows 7 and Games thread stickied at the top of the Glitches forum and found that my disk version of Vampire Redemption installed using XP compatibility mode with no problems on my 64-bit Windows 7.

Have you tried going to the disk itself, right clicking on setup and running it in compatibility mode from there?

If all else fails, GOG has Vampire Redemption for $2.99 and they have already done all the tweaks for it to run on Windows 7 and 8.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#930744 - 12/19/13 10:59 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Marian]
Mad Offline
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23216
Loc: United Kingdom
This is what was said on the Gameboomers original "Windows 7 & Games" thread :

Vampire Redemption
The only thing I had to do was change the in-game video options which I also had to do with my video card upgrade on my old XP computer. Played for about 2 hours with no problems at all. Needed to install and play in XP compatibility mode in 64-bit Win 7.

Alternatively, you can buy it from GOG, ready tweaked for Win7, for just $2.99

luck wave12
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#930802 - 12/20/13 09:56 AM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Nikademis]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9710
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Looks like we were on the same wave length last night, Mad!
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#930855 - 12/20/13 01:09 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Draclvr]
Mad Offline
True Blue Boomer

Registered: 11/21/00
Posts: 23216
Loc: United Kingdom
Hehehe !! One minute apart !! So you were "posting" as I was "composing", Draclvr lol12

Just hope our advice was useful !! wink12
_________________________
Time : The Most Precious Commodity

Top
#930860 - 12/20/13 01:13 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Draclvr]
Nikademis Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 12/19/13
Posts: 11
Loc: Pennsylvania
Originally Posted By: Draclvr
Nikademis, I double checked the Windows 7 and Games thread stickied at the top of the Glitches forum and found that my disk version of Vampire Redemption installed using XP compatibility mode with no problems on my 64-bit Windows 7.

Have you tried going to the disk itself, right clicking on setup and running it in compatibility mode from there?

If all else fails, GOG has Vampire Redemption for $2.99 and they have already done all the tweaks for it to run on Windows 7 and 8.



yep, read a post that said open the disk and try using the setup folder inside of that, tried changing the compatibility (to all types), tried running as admin, tried copying the files to hard drive and try install from there. The game is old enough it should be freeware by now, I can't see spending $3 plus tax on a game I already own, lol

I will go back and check it out Draclvr......

When I run it, it runs for many 3 min and stops. The bar (install shield bar)goes to 99% or sometimes 100 then pauses and then finally crashes

Top
#930866 - 12/20/13 01:20 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Nikademis]
Nikademis Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 12/19/13
Posts: 11
Loc: Pennsylvania
Ok, I am not a kid. I know how to operate my computer, but I am not as adept to things as these kids today. Maybe my computer is too good for the game. Tell me what I can post to show my computers stats and how to get them..... Maybe that can be a start on solving this,

Top
#930880 - 12/20/13 02:41 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Nikademis]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9710
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I've been able to run it on my Windows 7 and Windows 8 computers, both with fairly high hardware specs as I play lots of Darkside games. I don't think I've installed it since I upgraded to Windows 8.1... I'm going to try that and see what happens.

The best way to get your computer specs is to run DXDIAG and get them from there. Just click on Start and type DXDIAG in the search box.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#930886 - 12/20/13 03:04 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Nikademis]
Nikademis Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 12/19/13
Posts: 11
Loc: Pennsylvania
This is what I got, I would have uploaded the file, but I don't see how to....

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.130828-1532)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: HP-Pavilion
System Model: NY549AA-ABA p6230y
BIOS: BIOS Date: 08/31/09 13:56:34 Ver: 5.02
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 7928MB RAM
Page File: 4743MB used, 11110MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: None
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

Card name: ATI Radeon HD 4200
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x9710)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9710&SUBSYS_2A92103C&REV_00
Display Memory: 3063 MB
Dedicated Memory: 252 MB
Shared Memory: 2811 MB
Current Mode: 1600 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: SyncMaster
Monitor Id: SAM0497
Native Mode: 1600 x 900(p) (59.978Hz)
Output Type: HD15
Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1083 (English)
Driver Version: 8.862.3.0
DDI Version: 10.1
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 6/30/2011 02:46:02, 811008 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp:
Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D450-11CF-B777-980ABEC2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x1002
Device ID: 0x9710
SubSys ID: 0x2A92103C
Revision ID: 0x0000
Driver Strong Name: oem23.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:ati2mtag_RS880:8.862.3.0:pci\ven_1002&dev_9710&subsys_2a92103c
Rank Of Driver: 00E60001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C

Top
#930888 - 12/20/13 03:11 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Nikademis]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35233
Loc: southeast USA
Run speccy or the Belarc Advisor to get your specs.
http://www.piriform.com/speccy
http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

I doubt the information will help though.

I wouldn't say your computer was "too good" for the game,
but it's a very different computer than the computer the game was made to work with.
***System requirements for Vampire Masquerade Redemption***

That's why most people buy the updated versions that have been made to work with modern computers, even if they already have the original CD versions. Essentially they're paying a programming expert (or experts) for their time making the game compatible.

Top
#930894 - 12/20/13 03:28 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Jenny100]
Nikademis Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 12/19/13
Posts: 11
Loc: Pennsylvania
I saw the game requirements before. I have seen various bits of info on the whole deal. Now what will those 2 sites do for me? Now the game is on GoG or where ever I saw it, is it a download like Origin games or is a patch?

Top
#930895 - 12/20/13 03:32 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Nikademis]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9710
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
And that's why I paid $3 for the GOG version even though I have the disks and they work just fine. In addition, the GOG version is already patched to 1.2 include the ability to save the game anywhere you want.

However... I got the old CD version of game to run on my Windows 8.1 system. I got the "this app cannot run on your PC" error message. So, I went to the game disk. I tried XP compatibility mode on the setup file with no results. Then I tried running the setup file as administrator... same message. Then I simply double clicked on the Autorun application file. I wasn't expecting any results, but the game started installing. After it finished and I had entered the activation code, I told it to put an icon on my desktop. I started the game and while the Activision intro video was choppy, once the game actually started, all the in-game cut scenes were smooth and the game ran perfectly. I met the lovely Anezka and went down into the Silver Mines, killed a bunch of vampire rats and Szchlactas until I got to level 2 in the mines. I noticed that I didn't have to change the in-game graphics at all this time.

I have a 3rd generation Ivy Bridge Core i5 3470 CPU, 8 GB of RAM and a GTX 660 Ti video card running 64-bit Windows 8.1 Pro which is WAY different than the original requirements. But the disc version ran just fine.

EDIT: Saw you posted while I was typing. As Jenny said, she was simply giving you other alternatives to download to find your what your computer specs are.

GOG (Good Old Games) is a website which legally obtains the rights to old games and removes any copy protection, updates the games to run on modern systems and patches them to be current. They are downloads of entire games. Another game which runs from the old CD is Sanitarium, but I paid $3 for that one from GOG too as these two games are worth it in my opinion.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#930899 - 12/20/13 03:40 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Draclvr]
Nikademis Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 12/19/13
Posts: 11
Loc: Pennsylvania
ok, then i shall spend the $3 so i can play it again.....thanks guys & gals for the help

Top
#930904 - 12/20/13 03:44 PM Re: Vampires Masquerade Redemption [Re: Nikademis]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9710
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Did you try double clicking on the Autorun file on the disk which I got to work for me?
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
9 registered (RebKean, Haroula, BobH, Flo NS, kjos, Sassy, CanukDenis, stevefox, 1 invisible), 68 Guests and 19 Spiders online.
Newest Members
LadyCarol, RibaSoma, Gey, Moonbat, kooker1957
8498 Registered Users