GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#970012 - 07/26/14 07:13 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/05
Posts: 2310
Loc: Michigan
joanieS have you made any headway? Any success?

Top
#970145 - 07/27/14 06:50 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
joanieS Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/06/00
Posts: 1515
Loc: Piney Woods of East Texas
Just wanted to say I rec'd a quick response from Zodiac with suggestions. I believe I am at the point thru Zodiac where it is not Zodiac's download that's the problem and he has suggested contacting the producers for a "vanilla copy"? and possibly having to resort to a new download. So far, suggestions tried have not produced any results. Glad to know there is a posse out there working on this!!!!
_________________________
"A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words." ...unknown

Top
#970154 - 07/27/14 07:59 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35379
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: joanieS
Interestingly enough, Traveler, with the blankety-blank problem I am having trying to save games with realMyst, switching to administrator was given as a possible fix. So, I have already gone to the administrator position trying to resolve THAT game.

What do you mean when you say "gone to the administrator postion?"
Right-clicking and choosing "Run As Administrator" is not the same thing as logging into an account with administrator privileges. If your RealMyst game came from Zodiac, choosing "Run as Administrator" may not be possible.

Top
#970177 - 07/28/14 12:59 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 10/09/09
Posts: 144
One simple solution to running games that want elevated privileges to run properly is to simply reinstall in a non system folder, since often the problem is because of the limited write permissions of the %ProgramFiles% folder. To address this, GOG has now set a default install locations for the older games of "C:\GOG Games".

You can install somewhere inside your user folder, but other users may not have access to the game. If you create a new base folder for installing legacy games, all users should have access as long as no one takes ownership of the folder.

There are other reasons why a game may need to run as an elevated process, but write permissions are the most common. Note that some clients like steam will offer you any choice of install location, but older games can sometimes simply be moved after installed, provided they do not require paths stored in config files or the Registry.

Top
#970204 - 07/28/14 07:14 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
joanieS Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 11/06/00
Posts: 1515
Loc: Piney Woods of East Texas
No, RealMyst came from Big Fish. All I can say about running as administrator is in my searching trials I found an area that offered the choice to do so, so I did. Sorry, I repeat, I am not a computer person. Can Firefox have anything to do with this?.
_________________________
"A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words." ...unknown

Top
#970232 - 07/28/14 09:15 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/05
Posts: 2310
Loc: Michigan
I have one last question on this problem and then I am going to give up,mainly because I feel I paid my money and I shouldn't have to jump through hoops to get it to run.
The question is, we know that Zodiac has to connect to the game on the computer and it does this via the file with a .zdc extention. That file is in a folder under users and in a subfolder that is my computer name that I made when I activated win7.This folder has a little lock symbol on it. Is it possible this little lock symbol is preventing Zodiac from getting to that folder? Robert Gault if you are following this please comment.
---------------------------------------------------------
After thinking about it they must have access or how could they have put the game in there in the first place.


Edited by Geo (07/28/14 09:47 AM)
Edit Reason: addition

Top
#970235 - 07/28/14 09:33 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35379
Loc: southeast USA
joanieS,
Firefox has nothing to do with a Big Fish game. But it sounds like you have to log into Zodiac online in order to start the game. If that's the case, the Capri game could be effected by your web browser.

The game exe for Big Fish games is a hidden file. If you tell Windows to make hidden files visible, the game exe will show up as the only hidden file in the game folder. Hidden files and folders will look sort of semi-transparent -- not as "solid" as regular files. If you don't see any semi-transparent files in the RealMyst folder, then you probably haven't displayed hidden files and folders and haven't set it to "Run as Administrator." Here's a site with links that tell how to make hidden files visible in different versions of Windows:
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/tipstricks/f/show-hidden-files.htm

Using "Run As Administrator" on the desktop shortcut that Big Fish creates for you doesn't help because it points to the Big Fish Client and not the game executable itself.

You can configure the Big Fish client to install someplace other than C:\Program Files. Open the Big Fish Client, click "Options" at the top right, choose the Downloads tab, and at the bottom is a box where you can type in or browse to the location where you want the Big Fish Client to install your games. Then OK the change.


+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+

and about Capri...

Since I don't know exactly how Zodiac works, but Geo says there is no game exe in the game folder, I assume that they require you to run an executable that is on the Zodiac site instead of on your hard drive. If that's the case, there may be a conflict with your web browser, antivirus, or software firewall. Trying to run an executable from off the Internet may not be seen as "safe" by antivirus or software firewalls and may be being blocked. Zodiac may be trying to get around that by storing the game executable in a Temporary folder somewhere on your hard drive, but that may also be blocked. Your antivirus may even be deleting the file in the temporary folder as soon as it's created. And without knowing the name of the file, you can't create an exception in your antivirus.

Geo,
I don't know what the .zdc file does or how Zodiac makes use of it, so I can't really answer your question.

Top
#970243 - 07/28/14 09:49 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/05
Posts: 2310
Loc: Michigan
Yes that is correct Jenny100 you start the game from the Zodiac site.

Top
#970260 - 07/28/14 11:51 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35379
Loc: southeast USA
I wonder if anyone is successfully running the Zodiac version of The Capri Connection.

I cannot even access the www.zodiac-store.com website at the moment. When I try, I eventually get a message saying "500 Internal Server Error" and "The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request."

The ***Down for Everyone or Just Me*** website says it's not just me and the website is down for everyone. I wonder if Zodiac took their servers down to fix a problem on their end.

Top
#970661 - 07/30/14 12:04 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
DocPaul Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/24/00
Posts: 1957
Loc: Georgia USA
I have the same problem as others. and Sadly, no one has an answer. I think that's the saddest thing. wasted 20 dollars. I'll never use Zodiac again, that's for sure.
I don't even have the capri executable on my machine. Zodiac has absconded it with zodiacrun.exe which doesn't start the game.
Honestly, I think I''m done altogether with new games.

Top
#970704 - 07/30/14 03:47 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9867
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Make sure everyone having issues with this game checks out the thread in Adventure Games. Gey, the developer of the game wants everyone having issues to contact him directly. Contact info is in that thread.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#970733 - 07/30/14 09:12 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Gey Offline
Shy Boomer

Registered: 07/30/14
Posts: 16
My friends, what can I say? I have no idea of what Zodiac made of my game and I am not happy too of their support. I am very sorry. If they are unable to solve the problems, try to get your money back and place an order at my site www.caprisaga.com. Unfortunately, I can only accept PAYPAL. Nobody has experienced install problems when downloading from www.caprisaga.com following my instructions. In any case I am here to support you as quickly as I can.

Top
#970734 - 07/30/14 09:19 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 1135
Loc: Chicago
I used a credit card on your site Gey. It went through PayPal but I don't have a PayPal account.

Top
#970748 - 07/30/14 11:38 PM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: Geo]
Robert Gault Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/16/06
Posts: 1268
Originally Posted By: Geo
I have one last question on this problem and then I am going to give up,mainly because I feel I paid my money and I shouldn't have to jump through hoops to get it to run.
The question is, we know that Zodiac has to connect to the game on the computer and it does this via the file with a .zdc extention. That file is in a folder under users and in a subfolder that is my computer name that I made when I activated win7.This folder has a little lock symbol on it. Is it possible this little lock symbol is preventing Zodiac from getting to that folder? Robert Gault if you are following this please comment.
---------------------------------------------------------
After thinking about it they must have access or how could they have put the game in there in the first place.


Geo,
I just looked at this thread today and was surprised to see you asked me for comments. I've no comments on you problem but do about the "little lock symbol."

Browsers, at least the Mozilla family, use the lock symbol to indicate whether the Internet connection is encrypted or clear. You are being told by the closed lock that the Zodiac connection is encrypted with some form of SSL protocol. That is what you want to protect a connection that will be using important personal info like credit card numbers or passwords.

Top
#970758 - 07/31/14 03:07 AM Re: Capri Connection can't get game to open [Re: joanieS]
Geo Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/01/05
Posts: 2310
Loc: Michigan
Why surprised? I think you are very knowledgeable about computers.

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
6 registered (Koala, venus, Moondancer, gymcandy1, Marian, 1 invisible), 50 Guests and 13 Spiders online.
Newest Members
scarend, JALind, maggieann, charlene, mikcik
8522 Registered Users