GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 #1208059
01/22/20 12:29 PM
01/22/20 12:29 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
petert Offline OP
Settled Boomer
petert  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
I recently bought a new laptop - following advice from Jenny100 and Draclvr - and downloaded Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 (despite the underwhelming reviews on GB) and am having problems on both.

Problem 1 on Syberia 3 is that there is no mechanism for me to save my progress at will.
Is there any way in which this can be achieved? The automatic save is all very well but it is too 'coarse' and when I leave the program I cannot restart from where I left off.
There is a minor problem that qite a lot of the action on board Krystal is carried out in semi-darkness. Can this be overcome?

Problem 2, with LH2. is that there appears to be no menu explaining the controls. The mouse works fine but there is no data concerning Save. Load etc.

I,d be grateful for any tips.

petert

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208060
01/22/20 12:38 PM
01/22/20 12:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,897
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,897
In Missouri near St. Louis
With Syberia 3, that's because you can't. Nothing frustrates me more than auto-saving.

Can you change any settings temporarily to lighten the scene?

Have you tried the ESC key to bring up a menu in LH2?


Snuggled in my PC corner for the winter, my stinky Bloodhound and a few so-called barn cats at my side.
Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208061
01/22/20 12:39 PM
01/22/20 12:39 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
Hi Peter, as far as I know, Syberia 3 only has autosaves with no way to manually save your game. Hopefully someone will come along and correct me if I am wrong.

Did you download Lost Horizon 2 from GOG or from Steam? I don't know if this game comes with any instructions or manual. I am not familiar with it. Let's wait and see if another player knows for sure.

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208075
01/22/20 03:30 PM
01/22/20 03:30 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
petert Offline OP
Settled Boomer
petert  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
Draclvr,

ESC key worked well on LH2 Thanks - there is a tutorial available there to help me.
At least I can now save etc..

I can probably lighten the scene in Syberia 3 but only by doing it for the computer, not for only the scenes that need it - I think!
I'll try it tomorrow.

As far as autosaving is concerned, I shall have to find out how to do what I want some other way. I had just stuck on the radiation goggles and set out in Baranour, but I seem to have forgotten to do something in Baranour before leaving the scene down the steps, and I cannot find my way back to the Krystal.

petert

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208081
01/22/20 04:17 PM
01/22/20 04:17 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,897
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,897
In Missouri near St. Louis
Good luck! There is a good walkthrough available from Mr. Bill if you need it.

http://www.mrbillsadventureland.com/


Snuggled in my PC corner for the winter, my stinky Bloodhound and a few so-called barn cats at my side.
Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208082
01/22/20 04:29 PM
01/22/20 04:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 6,870
Chicago
oldbroad Offline
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 6,870
Chicago
Just in case you haven't noticed it, I believe there is a rotating circle in the lower or upper right corner when the game is saving. If you watch for that, then exit out of the game if you think you cannot play much longer.

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208091
01/22/20 06:45 PM
01/22/20 06:45 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,897
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Draclvr  Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 14,897
In Missouri near St. Louis
Thanks, oldbroad. Haven't played it, so I didn't know that. Maybe that will help, Peter.


Snuggled in my PC corner for the winter, my stinky Bloodhound and a few so-called barn cats at my side.
Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208151
01/23/20 01:58 PM
01/23/20 01:58 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
petert Offline OP
Settled Boomer
petert  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
It seems that I have really made a mess of trying to play Syberia 3.

Unless I can find a way to get back to the Krystal from the amusement park, I fear that it will be necessary to start again, because my earlier progress has been wiped out bythe automatic save system. The only two games I can load are The Clinic, right at the beginning, and my current
state.

Pity, really. But at the moment, unless I can do something to get to the Krystal, the game will have to wait until I have the energy to start all over.

petert

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208152
01/23/20 02:12 PM
01/23/20 02:12 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
Peter, you can find some saved games for Syberia 3 here. Maybe one of them would help you? I see one of the saves is labeled Krystal.

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208154
01/23/20 02:33 PM
01/23/20 02:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 6,870
Chicago
oldbroad Offline
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 6,870
Chicago
I don't think there were any dead ends and am sure you can get back but I cannot say exactly how (and if you really can't it is because you don't need to OR you need to do some other stuff first). I'll try to take a look at the walkthrough but my memory is not very good so I don't know if I'll be able to help or not.

Maybe something in Mr. Bill's walkthrough can help you. I am really not sure where you are or what you need to do. http://www.mrbillsadventureland.com/


Oops. I see Draclvr already posted the link to the walkthrough.

If you are actually inside the amusement park I think there is an opening in a fence or something somewhere or you may have to go through a building. There is a building with 2 entrance/exits, maybe you went through it and have to go back out that way. And I think you go up something to get back to the Krystal. I'm sorry but this is the best I can remember/picture it.

Last edited by oldbroad; 01/23/20 07:47 PM.
Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208193
01/24/20 05:08 AM
01/24/20 05:08 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
petert Offline OP
Settled Boomer
petert  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
OK, I am trying again.

I have just climbed a ladder and plugged a cog into some part of a Ferris wheel. and I can see the Krystal from up here, but I can't see how to get to it yet. I will carry on, obviously, but if anyone can tell me how to proceed from here, I would be grateful.

petert

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208210
01/24/20 08:43 AM
01/24/20 08:43 AM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
Peter, did you see the link to the saved games I provided in my post above? Just want to make sure, even though I don't know if they will help.

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208231
01/24/20 10:46 AM
01/24/20 10:46 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
petert Offline OP
Settled Boomer
petert  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
Hi, Marian,
Yes I did see the link, and progress has now been made, albeit haltingly! And Thankyou !!

I somehow managed to get back to the Krystal, and I finally managed to recover the telescopic device for the power line. But now I can't find.the 'switch on the wall' so that I can get the power on.

I am reluctant to come out of the game until I manage this for fear of saving mechanism messing up all my hard-won progress.

petert

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208242
01/24/20 12:29 PM
01/24/20 12:29 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
You are most welcome for the help.

Would the written walkthrough help locate the switch on the wall? If not, a video walkthrough probably would.


Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208253
01/24/20 02:35 PM
01/24/20 02:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 6,870
Chicago
oldbroad Offline
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 6,870
Chicago
It's "at the top of the pole" per the walkthrough. If that helps??

Looks like I'm in the wrong place. The walkthrough says " that switch is on the wall past the Ice breaker".

Last edited by oldbroad; 01/24/20 02:39 PM.
Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208381
01/26/20 06:54 AM
01/26/20 06:54 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
petert Offline OP
Settled Boomer
petert  Offline OP
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 818
Hampshire, UK
Found the switch - I had assumed that 'the switch is on the wall past the ice breaker' meant that the wall was not on the boat but somewhere off the boat. If the walkthrough had said 'past the icebreaker control mechanism' it would have made more sense to me.

However, off I go. Again, thanks to you all.

petert

Re: Syberia 3 and Lost Horizon 2 [Re: petert] #1208389
01/26/20 09:23 AM
01/26/20 09:23 AM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 38,529
near Yosemite in California
Glad to hear you are now able to continue.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Marian 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (curly), 40 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
kenna98, Fenotak, Sean_Parker, salex, didka222
9141 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™