GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Max Payne #132937
08/03/03 12:27 PM
08/03/03 12:27 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
T
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer
TheDerman  Offline
Addicted Boomer
T

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
Zanthia - you are right, however the way I remember it, that way didn't seem to work for me, plus if you change the desktop icon link, you're stuck with it starting in developer mode then, unless you create a second icon, which is almost as time consuming as going to start/run.

When you have located the maxpayne.exe file once and added -developer to the run line, it's there to return to any time you like, and your desktop file can still be used to run the game normally.


Derman
Re: Max Payne #132938
08/03/03 12:40 PM
08/03/03 12:40 PM
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,329
ex-new yorker
Zanthia Offline
BAAG Specialist
Zanthia  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,329
ex-new yorker
derman, it is a snap to have 2 desktop icons. just copy the current icon and paste. it will already be called a copy to differentiate. then if you want just rename it to max payne cheat or anything else you like. then if you want to use the cheats when starting up you can.


Zanthia
Re: Max Payne #132939
08/03/03 12:51 PM
08/03/03 12:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
T
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer
TheDerman  Offline
Addicted Boomer
T

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
I know this smile

But I already have 59 million desktop items - I don't want anymore than I need - another option would be to just use start/programs and find the maxpayne folder to start without cheats.

Your way was the way I tried to do it all those years ago, but it didn't work - so that's why I did it the start/run way - did it work for you?

Anyway, how complicated either way is, depends on the individual - I just mentioned the start/run way because I know that way works.


Derman
Re: Max Payne #132940
08/03/03 12:56 PM
08/03/03 12:56 PM
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,329
ex-new yorker
Zanthia Offline
BAAG Specialist
Zanthia  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,329
ex-new yorker
yes it works for me, i do it all the time. i once tried your way and found my way to be much easier. also even if you don't want 2 desktop icons just because you have the line added to enable the cheats that doens't mean you have to use them unless you just can't resist temptation. i know there are a couple of games that does add stuff running across the top or bottom of the screen, those would be the rare occasion one might want separate icons to start the game.


Zanthia
Re: Max Payne #132941
08/03/03 02:44 PM
08/03/03 02:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
T
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer
TheDerman  Offline
Addicted Boomer
T

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
Well, there you go - I prefer my way because personally I find it easier than yours and not complicated at all - keeps everything seperate and as it should be.

Neither way is complicated really - the only thing about "my" way that might be difficult is finding where the actual file is located - then again, you could just right click the shortcut to find out where the file is, rather than having to go to "find" - I admit, I didn't think of doing that.

Each to their own.


Derman
Re: Max Payne #132942
08/03/03 10:44 PM
08/03/03 10:44 PM
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
R
Renee63 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Renee63  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
R

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
Hi Derman It isn't working. That is where I went the first time before my husband butted in. It says "DProgram files/Max Payne/Max Payne.exe" and when I type in (space)-developer, I put the game in and hit F12 and nothing happens. I looked at the cheat website you sent and it shows it having Quotation marks before and after developer and no space. What am I to do? Nothing should be this complicated.


Renee A Worrell
Re: Max Payne #132943
08/03/03 11:05 PM
08/03/03 11:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
T
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer
TheDerman  Offline
Addicted Boomer
T

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
Just to be sure, the (space) represents a space (with the space-bar) - you should not write (space) laugh

So, you put the CD in the drive - when the autorun kicks in, cancel that - then go to start/run and.....

.....in the RUN box, it should be:

"d:\Program Files\Max Payne\maxpayne.exe" -developer

.....I think that should work (if D: is your main drive, rather than C:).

I am sure that is how it's supposed to be, but I haven't played the game in 2 years - try putting exactly what is written above.


Derman
Re: Max Payne #132944
08/03/03 11:18 PM
08/03/03 11:18 PM
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
R
Renee63 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Renee63  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
R

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
I am going to do what you did to Zanthia.....I knew that. I thought space meant an extra space right before the - I will try it and let you know. I think the probem is when I put it in. I first have to let autorun work cancel and then type it in..........see.......I knew that


Renee A Worrell
Re: Max Payne #132945
08/03/03 11:47 PM
08/03/03 11:47 PM
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
R
Renee63 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Renee63  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
R

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
I need some help here. I am not sure if the godmode is off. I have climbed in the elevator and I can hear a helicopter but not see it and haven't a clue what to do next. I don't like this godmode at all. It makes Max act differently and I assume that when I hit F12 again, godmode should be off. Agrrrrrrrr I was having such fun playing. Even killing those guys in godmode wasn't so easy. Am I suppose to be in the elevator and it seems like I have no where else to go from the elevator.


Renee A Worrell
Re: Max Payne #132946
08/04/03 12:57 AM
08/04/03 12:57 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
T
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer
TheDerman  Offline
Addicted Boomer
T

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
Isn't there something in the elevator shaft that you're supposed to shoot on your way up, or something?

A walkthru should be able to help you now you are GOD.


Derman
Re: Max Payne #132947
08/04/03 01:45 AM
08/04/03 01:45 AM
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
R
Renee63 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Renee63  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
R

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
If you are thinking of those lasers, that was another elevator. I can't see the helicopter. I looked at a WT and it said the elevator stops which it does and I am to wait until the helicopter leaves, which it seems it never does, and jump to an adjacent elevator on Max's left. I am not seeing this at all. So, how do I take this godmode off? I don't want to be god and it seems you think it is a dirty little secret. LOL


Renee A Worrell
Re: Max Payne #132948
08/04/03 02:25 AM
08/04/03 02:25 AM
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,329
ex-new yorker
Zanthia Offline
BAAG Specialist
Zanthia  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,329
ex-new yorker
renee, just hitting f12 is not enough to turn off godmode. looking at the cheat codes i would say you need to type in mortal. normally you just type in the same word for godmode or perhapss god 0 and god 1 as an example but this game looks like it has an entirely new word to type in. try MORTAL and see if you take damage now and can die. when you typed in "god" did you get a message saying god mode was on.

how does max act differently in god mode. i never noticed anything different. now if you typed in noclip that would make your character act differently such as not being able to shoot, pick up items, etc.


Zanthia
Re: Max Payne #132949
08/04/03 02:30 AM
08/04/03 02:30 AM
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
R
Renee63 Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Renee63  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
R

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,513
Ramona CA
I will try mortal or look at the cheat sheet. I didn't go that far since I knew I wasn't going to keep using it. You're right, you usually just re-type the word and it is gone but nooooooooooo not this time.

The scene feels like it is all in slow motion but more annoying is the fact of having all those words typed in. They explain the godmode you are in. You must remember what it was like. Too much information. LOL It seems like things are frozen. Weird. Have you played Rhem?


Renee A Worrell
Re: Max Payne #132950
08/04/03 03:36 AM
08/04/03 03:36 AM
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,329
ex-new yorker
Zanthia Offline
BAAG Specialist
Zanthia  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 9,329
ex-new yorker
rhem, i sure did. the entire game was one giant maze. I kept getting lost over and over again.


Zanthia
Re: Max Payne #132951
08/04/03 12:02 PM
08/04/03 12:02 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
T
TheDerman Offline
Addicted Boomer
TheDerman  Offline
Addicted Boomer
T

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,254
England
Renee - hitting F12 just toggles the console on/off - you're supposed to hit F12 again after typing in your cheat to turn the console off.

I really can't remember anything past where you are - I remember the helicopter (think the grenade launcher comes in handy for that laugh ).

And.....don't worry your "secret" is safe with all us boomers evil whistle

....I cheat too - well, only after completing the entire game first with NO cheats. laugh


Derman
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Who's Online Now
6 registered members (TLC, Marian, Demosthenes, Draclvr, Debra, jboliver), 5 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Ankara, Distro_GR, Gal_Hajaj, CrisGer, Railwayman
9089 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™