GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Print Thread
Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136550
04/02/05 01:24 PM
04/02/05 01:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800
Ardsley, New York
L
Llewton Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Llewton  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800
Ardsley, New York
Has anyone tried to play this game in XP and only have the computer go into reboot when trying to start the game? Have tried the sound accel. fixin DXdiag mentioned in previous posts and reinstall. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Bill


If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life
Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136551
04/02/05 03:27 PM
04/02/05 03:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
What kind of video card do you have?
Is your graphics acceleration on full?

Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136552
04/02/05 04:05 PM
04/02/05 04:05 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800
Ardsley, New York
L
Llewton Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
Llewton  Offline OP
Addicted Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,800
Ardsley, New York
Got the game to run in 98SE Jenny. Disabled AGP texturing and moved the sound acceleration all the way to the left in DXdiag. Was getting a black screen when I went to play in 98 SE previously and those fixes did the trick. Don't know what the problem with XP was, go figure a new game that won't run in XP but then TAC games are famous for it, Beyond Atlantis and others.


If the world didn't suck would we all fall off
Now playing Post Mortem, Midnight Nowhere and Still Life
Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136553
04/02/05 11:40 PM
04/02/05 11:40 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
Well Beyond Atlantis was old, and was made for Win 95/98. So that game had an excuse. Sentinel is new.

I played Sentinel in both Win 2000 and XP and it had no problems. I don't know why it wouldn't work with your XP - unless MS has made some update that caused a problem. The XP computer I played it on has never been connected to the net and has no updates other than the SP1 it came with. Also, I played logged in as Administrator on both computers.

Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136554
04/20/05 07:18 AM
04/20/05 07:18 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 62
Australia
sister Offline
Shy Boomer
sister  Offline
Shy Boomer

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 62
Australia
I am having the same reboot problem with 'Sentinel' Just curious, but which section of the game crashes for other users? I have completed a few sections without problems but I'm struggling to get through 'Eska' without it crashing and auto rebooting every few minutes.


Age & treachery will always overcome youth & enthusiasm
Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136555
04/20/05 07:51 AM
04/20/05 07:51 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 9,073
Crazy Town
TLC Offline
BAAG Specialist
TLC  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 9,073
Crazy Town
This happened to me with Uru. The fix for me, was switching from a Radeon video card to Nvidia. Since the switch, I've had no more auto rebooting problems. wave


<3 I am in love with Norman Reedus/Daryl Dixon <3
Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136556
04/20/05 12:20 PM
04/20/05 12:20 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
A new video card might help if the old one is wimpy.
More RAM might also help, or different video card drivers, or setting your virtual memory differently.
What are your system specs?

Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136557
04/21/05 02:34 AM
04/21/05 02:34 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 62
Australia
sister Offline
Shy Boomer
sister  Offline
Shy Boomer

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 62
Australia
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
HD 80g
Ram: 512
DirectX 9.0c
AMD Athlon XP 2000+, MMX,3DNOW ~1.7Ghz
Have installed updated drivers from NVIDIA. no improvement.
You mention virtual memory settings, How do I reset that? I've never had to fiddle with things before on this machine so not too sure what I should be fiddling with!


Age & treachery will always overcome youth & enthusiasm
Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136558
04/21/05 03:13 AM
04/21/05 03:13 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
Check Inferno's site ***here*** for instructions on changing virtual memory settings.

Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136559
04/24/05 02:07 PM
04/24/05 02:07 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,014
united kingdom
safc Offline
Addicted Boomer
safc  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,014
united kingdom
thumbsup cheers all safc


Old Adventures don't die they just forget to Save
Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136560
06/26/05 08:14 AM
06/26/05 08:14 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 44
home
Vanje Offline
Shy Boomer
Vanje  Offline
Shy Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 44
home
I have tried everything to get this game to play. So far to no avail. I have a Pentium 4, 1 gig of Ram, a Radeon 9250 Video card, with 256 mb. When I go into the first "world" Tregett the game reboots my computer both after talking to Dormuse and at the tower area.
I have tried most of the suggestions from The Adventure company's website help desk. None of which have worked! I'm about ready to send them back the game and request a refund!

Re: Sentinel:Descendants in Time Reboot problem in XP #136561
06/26/05 01:17 PM
06/26/05 01:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 39,706
southeast USA
Have you tried ***increasing virtual memory*** ?
Have you tried using different drivers?
Sometimes older drivers work better.

Does the game always reboot your computer after talking to Dormeuse? Or does it sometimes do it and sometimes not?

Are you using the ***Clean boot*** ?

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Demosthenes, Lion_1251), 7 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
leota26, spacetogroundon2, bastwren, Kaiserin, fcbmev
9080 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™