GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 5 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 15 16
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr] #570650
11/24/09 06:04 PM
11/24/09 06:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
I don't seem to be able to change to 256 color depth through Compatibility mode and an old stand by tool that I have used for this does not work right on 7. Even changing color depth through the advanced display settings does not help. Setting "Disable visual themes" in Compatibility mode fixes the color artifacting for The Neverhood, but not Sanitarium.

I have a couple of ideas that I want to try, but it may be an issue with my graphics card's drivers and I am having trouble getting the ATI installer to work. I had to manually update my driver.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #570654
11/24/09 06:18 PM
11/24/09 06:18 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,298
Near St. Louis, MO
Draclvr Online content OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Online Content OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,298
Near St. Louis, MO
Ahhh... Let me know if you figure something out.


Once again, weeds are my life!
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #570700
11/24/09 09:01 PM
11/24/09 09:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Collector
Still Life - Black screen only, game does not load.

That's probably due to the StarForce copy "protection" used on it, which is an older version that isn't compatible with Vista (and apparently not with Windows 7 either)

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100] #570723
11/24/09 09:58 PM
11/24/09 09:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,052
M
mj2c Offline
Addicted Boomer
mj2c  Offline
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,052
Even the none starforce version has the same problem. Currently playing it on VirtualBox and it plays great on that.

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100] #570774
11/25/09 02:46 AM
11/25/09 02:46 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
Originally Posted By: Jenny100
Originally Posted By: Collector
Still Life - Black screen only, game does not load.

That's probably due to the StarForce copy "protection" used on it, which is an older version that isn't compatible with Vista (and apparently not with Windows 7 either)

Runs fine on my Vista. I have not spent any time investigating it.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #570909
11/25/09 12:02 PM
11/25/09 12:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Collector
Originally Posted By: Jenny100
Originally Posted By: Collector
Still Life - Black screen only, game does not load.

That's probably due to the StarForce copy "protection" used on it, which is an older version that isn't compatible with Vista (and apparently not with Windows 7 either)

Runs fine on my Vista. I have not spent any time investigating it.
For some reason it didn't work for Inland
http://www.gameboomers.com/forum/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=481869

Are there some versions without StarForce?

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100] #570920
11/25/09 12:41 PM
11/25/09 12:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,052
M
mj2c Offline
Addicted Boomer
mj2c  Offline
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,052
Yes, mine is SecuROM. Still didnt work.

Last edited by mj2c; 11/25/09 12:41 PM.
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100] #570923
11/25/09 12:48 PM
11/25/09 12:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
There is no message, just a black screen. I'll try a no-CD patch, just to make sure that it is not StarForce rearing its ugly head.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #570927
11/25/09 01:00 PM
11/25/09 01:00 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,263
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,263
Arizona
I can pretty much assure you it's the version of Starforce (The Black Mirror and Still Life - each shipped with Starforce V3).


Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: InlandAZ] #570942
11/25/09 01:38 PM
11/25/09 01:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,052
M
mj2c Offline
Addicted Boomer
mj2c  Offline
Addicted Boomer
M

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,052
The nocd wont work (famous last words) but there is a French hack/patch if you hunt arround which some people had some success with.

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: mj2c] #570966
11/25/09 03:09 PM
11/25/09 03:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
I got it working on Windows 7 with the No-CD patch and compatibility set to NT4.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #570975
11/25/09 03:41 PM
11/25/09 03:41 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 8,379
Arcadia (twin world of Stark)
venus Offline
BAAG Specialist
venus  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 8,379
Arcadia (twin world of Stark)
I had the same problem with Still Life - the non-Star Force version - and got it to run using the NT4 compatibility mode. I didn't even need the No-CD patch.


Interrogator: [True or false?] All mangoes are golden. Nothing golden is cheap. Conclusion - all mangoes are cheap.

Helena: Where are these mangoes?
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: venus] #571015
11/25/09 04:24 PM
11/25/09 04:24 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
I tried the compatibility after I tried the No-CD, so I was not sure if the patch had anything to do with it, but you are right, restoring the original files works with NT4 compatibility, so it is not a Starforce issue. I had forgotten that that is what I did to make it run on Vista, too.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #571117
11/25/09 10:19 PM
11/25/09 10:19 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,263
Arizona
InlandAZ Offline
BAAG Specialist
InlandAZ  Offline
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 7,263
Arizona
Originally Posted By: Collector
I tried the compatibility after I tried the No-CD, so I was not sure if the patch had anything to do with it, but you are right, restoring the original files works with NT4 compatibility, so it is not a Starforce issue. I had forgotten that that is what I did to make it run on Vista, too.


In NT Compatibility Mode I see this -



Which version of the game are you running?




Last edited by InlandAZ; 11/25/09 10:49 PM.
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: InlandAZ] #571399
11/26/09 04:55 PM
11/26/09 04:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
I assumed I had the Starforce version, but never bothered to check. The No-CD patch I tried was only identified as for the English language version. I am getting ready to leave town and won't have time to check until I get back.

Last edited by Collector; 11/26/09 06:08 PM.

Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #571471
11/26/09 10:22 PM
11/26/09 10:22 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,298
Near St. Louis, MO
Draclvr Online content OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Online Content OP
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
True Blue Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 20,298
Near St. Louis, MO
I added Clive Barker's Undying to my first post as one that installed and ran perfectly. I am now running the 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium.


Once again, weeds are my life!
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Draclvr] #571537
11/27/09 08:48 AM
11/27/09 08:48 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
sarahandus Offline
Settled Boomer
sarahandus  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 588
Bonney Lake, Washington
I have been playing Chronicles of Mystery-The Scorpio Ritual for some days now and find it is giving me a few problems. At first it was the voices fading at the end of sentences; which would be a real setback without the subtitles. Now, however it is a serious problem of the pc shutting down unexpectedly, not freezing but actually shutting off. I have changed to a compatibility setting but haven't had time to test that yet.

later: Well none of the compatibility settings I tried worked. Since I don't have the patience or knowledge to experiment, I'll finish this game in XP.
Hope someone with more patience has better luck.

Last edited by sarahandus; 11/28/09 10:59 AM. Reason: update
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: InlandAZ] #572030
11/28/09 09:29 PM
11/28/09 09:29 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
cruise02 Offline
Addicted Boomer
cruise02  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,405
On the computer
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
I can pretty much assure you it's the version of Starforce (The Black Mirror and Still Life - each shipped with Starforce V3).



Perhaps he can use the Starforce removal patch (which is downloadable) solve this problem?


"AlienBZ to Quasar Command...Have completed all tasks on this planet. Beam me up, please." note: AlienBZ = my other name
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: cruise02] #572211
11/29/09 02:32 PM
11/29/09 02:32 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,135
united kingdom
safc Offline
Addicted Boomer
safc  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,135
united kingdom
Hi Guys
I am running the 32 version on my PC and I am encountering the same problems with some of the mentioned games Still Life, protection problem, Dracula 3 as mentioned in an earlier post, I have just loaded Art of Murder FBI Confidential, it runs no problem but I have no sound what so ever, I have selected all 3 options from the flash screen with the Graphics, Sound etc in the sound option, anyone else found this. Windows 7 is excellent but its starting to frustrate me with not being able to run certain games, I got the latest CSI(a prestent from Santa. so I havent tried it yet) also I have ordered the 3rd in the series of Art of Murder and Treasure Island and I am very worried that none of these will play on my PC, are Microsoft aware of these problems, if not I might have go back to good old XP
A very frustrated
SAFC


Old Adventures don't die they just forget to Save
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: safc] #572262
11/29/09 05:06 PM
11/29/09 05:06 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
I should be back home later tonight or tomorrow and will be able to check which version I have, then.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Collector] #572378
11/30/09 01:36 AM
11/30/09 01:36 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,470
Land of Hamlet
misslilo Offline
Addicted Boomer
misslilo  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,470
Land of Hamlet
I'm running the 64-bit version of windows 7 and CSI - Deadly Intent plays just fine smile
The same does Nikopol.


"You can not escape your past, but you can make your future" - Diana Melkumova - @wowdane
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: misslilo] #572542
11/30/09 02:38 PM
11/30/09 02:38 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,135
united kingdom
safc Offline
Addicted Boomer
safc  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,135
united kingdom
Hi All
Just installed Nikopol and its running ok, but what are Microsoft going to do with all the games that now wont/dont run on Windows 7 (for various reasons), is it going to be like the old windows 92 etc after windows XP arrived, they just dont work anymore unless you use alternative methods like ScummV or Dosbox etc, I have well over 100 games that will run on XP, but after the last couple of days I will probably only get a handful of those to run on Window 7. Are most of my games now resigned to the Gaming Graveyard, or do I have to go back to XP, what are your thoughts guys
A now totally frustrated
SAFC

Last edited by safc; 11/30/09 02:40 PM.

Old Adventures don't die they just forget to Save
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: safc] #572546
11/30/09 02:50 PM
11/30/09 02:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
safc,
You may have to wait until someone comes up with a good emulator for a 3D video card that can be used inside programs like Virtual PC.

Have you made a list of which games work for you and which don't? Also do you have the 64-bit or 32-bit version of Windows 7? Have you compared which of your games are working (and not) with the results other people are getting for the same games?

Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: Jenny100] #572553
11/30/09 02:59 PM
11/30/09 02:59 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,135
united kingdom
safc Offline
Addicted Boomer
safc  Offline
Addicted Boomer

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,135
united kingdom
Hi Jenn100
I have been checking games, I tried the VirtualBox for Secret Life, but that didnt work, got an boot install failure, the other games I have tried people have had problems with, I have had no response to Art Of Murder FBI Confidential yet, it loaded but there was no sould, I am using the 32 Bit version, although when I had my processor replaced I was told it was an Athlon 64 3000+ Dual Core, excuse my ignorance but how do I find out if I can install the 64 bit version of Windows 7
SAFc

Last edited by safc; 11/30/09 03:03 PM.

Old Adventures don't die they just forget to Save
Re: Windows 7 and Games [Re: safc] #572556
11/30/09 03:10 PM
11/30/09 03:10 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
An Athlon 64 has 64-bit capability. That's what the 64 in Athlon 64 is about. But installing the 64-bit version of Windows 7 (as opposed to the 32-bit version) is not going to help with game compatibility.

Page 5 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 15 16
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (2 invisible), 83 guests, and 0 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
boxbluestudios, Watcheroftheskys, Darkfallwithin, PierreLombardo, Dux
9391 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™