GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#1135642 - 12/18/17 08:04 PM Malwarebytes Premium
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 3289
Loc: Chicago
Today when I turned my computer on, my Malwarebytes Premium alerted me that my Real Time Web Protection was not on. It will not let me turn it on either. I tried also to restore default settings but it is not turning on the Real Time Protection.

Any suggestions?

Top
#1135649 - 12/18/17 08:26 PM Re: Malwarebytes Premium [Re: oldbroad]
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 32339
Loc: near Yosemite in California
Googling showed me that others have had the same problem. There are also videos on YouTube showing suggested fixes; one of them was to re-download and install the program again, another suggestion was to make sure that you set the program to run as the administrator.

I am certainly no authority on the topic - just letting you know what I came up with from googling.

Top
#1135651 - 12/18/17 08:31 PM Re: Malwarebytes Premium [Re: oldbroad]
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 3289
Loc: Chicago
I was not comfortable especially when I saw my desktop icons changing while I was typing in the hints forum. Like when you install something sometimes your icons go out and come back in. (I'm not good with words so I hope you know what I mean.)

Anyway, I restarted my computer and it is fine now. Web Protection is on!

Thanks.

Top
#1135654 - 12/18/17 08:40 PM Re: Malwarebytes Premium [Re: oldbroad]
Draclvr Offline
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 12909
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
There was a problem a couple of months ago with Malwarebytes Premium and USB WiFi adapters. But that has been resolved and I know you don't use one anyway. Sometimes an antivirus will turn it off too if they also use real time protection. Defender did for awhile.

But, glad a reboot fixed it for you!
_________________________
In my PC corner for the winter, gaming, knitting and reading.

Top
#1135661 - 12/18/17 09:16 PM Re: Malwarebytes Premium [Re: oldbroad]
oldbroad Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 3289
Loc: Chicago
I'm glad too. I didn't really want to go through trying to contact them as I know somebody here had a problem recently with that (don't remember who).

Even if my Norton for some reason turned it off, why would I not be able to turn it back on though?

Sometimes when things are acting wonky I am reminded of a telephone party line and feel like I am sharing my internet with somebody somehow (no, you're right I don't have WiFi). If I start feeling that way I usually restart just in case there could be something like that happening. Makes me feel better.

ARGH! Just noticed, now my sound is not working!!

Another restart worked thumbsup12


Edited by oldbroad (12/18/17 10:37 PM)

Top
#1135676 - 12/19/17 06:59 AM Re: Malwarebytes Premium [Re: oldbroad]
connie Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 07/12/02
Posts: 10022
Loc: winter springs fl.
I have the same problem, and a reboot fixes it. wave12
_________________________
Connie

Top

Moderator:  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
3 registered (Lion_1251, Lex, CaptainD), 131 Guests and 12 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Dionous_Games, Littlelady1, frekken, CNSeds, Zorkmid57
8982 Registered Users