GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#135488 - 11/04/03 09:05 PM Black Mirror-can't get to run
Dagokid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/04/99
Posts: 1182
Loc: Southern Illinois
Okay...have written to tech support and tried everything. Have Direct X 9.1 and the latest video driver for my NVidia. After I install I try to start the game and I get a black screen with a small blue line at the top of the screen with nothing else and a freeze up.
I have tried different screen sizes and 32 bit and 16 bit. To no avail. Tried slowing down the graphic accelerator.
So confused at this point I can't stand it.
Can someone please help me. Have played so many Dreamcatcher games and can't figure out why this won't work.
Have a pentium 3 550
GeForce4 Ti4400
320 mb ram

Can someone please help me get this game up and running. Oh yea, OS Win98.

Thanks to whomever can help.
kid mad <img border="0" title="" alt="[Confused]" src="confused.gif" /> <img border="0" alt="cry" title="" src="graemlins/cry.gif" />

Top
#135489 - 11/04/03 10:16 PM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34866
Loc: southeast USA
It might be a bad install. You might try uninstalling and then reinstalling, making sure all unnecessary background programs are closed.

You might also try reducing your video acceleration to one notch above nothing. Check Billybob's advice here
http://www.gameboomers.com/ubboard/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=5;t=004789#000001

Top
#135490 - 11/05/03 06:04 AM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
Dagokid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/04/99
Posts: 1182
Loc: Southern Illinois
To install I turned off all those programs. But do I have to do the same to play the game? Tried BillyBobs suggestion and I get this whining noise in the background.
But....I will try all this again. Something has to work.
Thanks
kid smile

Top
#135491 - 11/05/03 08:40 AM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
BillyBob Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 01/18/01
Posts: 7858
Loc: North Florida
I think you're saying you got the game installed now but where is the whining noise? Is it coming from your speakers or is it the CD ROM drive reving up? Mine makes a whining/whirring noise occasionally as it goes into action.

Those things I posted that you have apparently read are necessary for me not to have those weird pink squares/rectangles in the pictures onscreen. laugh Maybe, once installed, the game will run for you O.K. If not, try each of those settings until you get it to work right. laugh
_________________________
I didn't do it......and if I did I'm not guilty!

Top
#135492 - 11/05/03 06:24 PM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
Dagokid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/04/99
Posts: 1182
Loc: Southern Illinois
Once I have the game installed and double click on the icon. It asks do you want to run game. I say yes. Then that is when I get the black screen with the blue line across the top.
The loud noise is when I set the accelerator to the spot one notch above zero and it comes out of the speakers.
I haven't even been able to get into the game yet.
Will figure this out sooner or later. But hopefully sooner.
kid smile

Top
#135493 - 11/05/03 06:55 PM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
BillyBob Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 01/18/01
Posts: 7858
Loc: North Florida
Sorry, that one snows me completely. Maybe it's just not compatible with your particular Video Card but who knows for sure. Looks like you're stuck waiting for an answer from the Support people. frown
_________________________
I didn't do it......and if I did I'm not guilty!

Top
#135494 - 11/05/03 08:09 PM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
Dagokid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/04/99
Posts: 1182
Loc: Southern Illinois
They are stumped also. Going to give the game to a friend and see if he can get it to work on his system.
I am bummed because it looks like a cool game.
Something will work out...
kid smile

Top
#135495 - 11/05/03 09:32 PM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 34866
Loc: southeast USA
Wish I could help.
But I don't know what could be causing this problem. frown

Top
#135496 - 11/09/03 04:57 PM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
Dagokid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/04/99
Posts: 1182
Loc: Southern Illinois
Okay, sent my game to a friend. He could get it to work. So...we have figured it is my video card that isn't compatible. But....the company didn't say anything about that.
Is anyone else using a NVidia GeForce4 Ti 4400?
If so, what are the settings that you are using so I can get this game to work.
Thanks to all who can and will help.
kid smile

Top
#135497 - 11/11/03 03:40 PM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
BillyBob Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 01/18/01
Posts: 7858
Loc: North Florida
An interesting side light to problems with this game.........

I had a problem with pink squares and rectangles in the game. Graphics not coming through properly. I solved that with some settings on the computer.

Yesterday I installed a new Motherboard that required I also install 4X / 8X Video Card.
My old Video Card was 2X / 4X.
I no longer have to make adjustments on the computer to avoid the pink squares and rectangles. Apparently, the Video Card was the problem. I'm now using an ATI RADEON 9200 4X / 8X Video Card 128 MB Memory.

So, what I'm driving at is that the Video Card may well be your problem, too, especially since the game worked in another PC. laugh
_________________________
I didn't do it......and if I did I'm not guilty!

Top
#135498 - 11/11/03 06:53 PM Re: Black Mirror-can't get to run
Dagokid Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 06/04/99
Posts: 1182
Loc: Southern Illinois
They figured the same thing. They told me to update my drivers. Did that. Still didn't work so now they told me to go back and install and older driver. LOL
I have Direct 9 on it. So I went to an older version of the Video card driver. Will let you know what happens.
kid smile

Top


Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
5 registered (scampy, meryl, BobH, chrissie, curly), 67 Guests and 24 Spiders online.
Newest Members
shaun9991, weakstorm, 123pazu, dawnmann, Colour
8419 Registered Users