GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#896733 - 06/24/13 03:54 PM the black mirror
judith Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/09/00
Posts: 1252
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
About a month ago, I had to do a clean install on my xp; so now I'm loading & replaying a lot of older games. I don't ever remember having this problem before, but after installing black mirror & restarting the comp. which it asks us to do, I click on the desk icon for the game, & it just restarts my comp. I have the boxed version (2cd's). It doesn't even give me a chance to type in the identification code, just keeps restarting my comp. I realize it's an old game, but if anyone can help, I'd appreciate it. Thanks Judy
_________________________
A balanced diet is a cookie in each hand.

Top
#896754 - 06/24/13 05:03 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
Cathy1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 05/10/03
Posts: 7412
Loc: Calgary Alberta Canada
Do a google search for The Black Mirror no cd patch and install that and it should work.
_________________________
" If Cornoil Comes From Corn
Where Doe's Babyoil Come From "

Top
#896773 - 06/24/13 06:52 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
judith Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/09/00
Posts: 1252
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
I found a site to remove StarForce driver, do you think I should try that, or will it mess up my computer? On a serious note, are the floods affecting you Cathy?


Edited by judith (06/24/13 06:55 PM)
_________________________
A balanced diet is a cookie in each hand.

Top
#896849 - 06/25/13 08:38 AM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 36025
Loc: southeast USA
If you're talking about this site
http://www.onlinesecurity-on.com/protect.phtml?c=55
http://www.onlinesecurity-on.com/info.phtml?c=91

Download link at
http://onlinesecurity-on.com/downloads/sfcdrvrem.zip

That's the company that makes StarForce, and the tool should be safe.

Top
#896899 - 06/25/13 12:15 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
Cathy1 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 05/10/03
Posts: 7412
Loc: Calgary Alberta Canada
Hi Judith
The floods are 3 blocks away from us. We were some of the lucky ones. We have electricity. a lot of folks don't. Thanks for asking. How about you ?

Cathy
_________________________
" If Cornoil Comes From Corn
Where Doe's Babyoil Come From "

Top
#896904 - 06/25/13 01:03 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6935
Loc: Arizona
That's interesting, the version of Starforce that shipped with the game was compatible with XP, newer versions are not. If I had to guess, I'd bet that you've installed another game that updated the drivers to a newer version.

Use the links Jenny provided, remove Starforce, and re-install the game.

Top
#896907 - 06/25/13 01:16 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
judith Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 09/09/00
Posts: 1252
Loc: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Hi everyone; thanks for all your help. I waited until my hubby came home. We got rid of the starforce, but It took 3 tries to get the no CD patch to work. I don't know what to tell you InlandAZ, I never had a problem before with the game, it played perfectly, & this time I had problems. When I installed the game, I also installed Black Mirror 2 & 3 that I bought at Walmart. Maybe that's where the problem lies.
Cathy, everyone here is keeping an eye on the Ft. Saskatchewan river, it is very high. You keep safe. Judy
_________________________
A balanced diet is a cookie in each hand.

Top
#896911 - 06/25/13 01:53 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6935
Loc: Arizona
The Black Mirror 2 & 3 used Starforce V5, the original V3 - that's probably why you had the issue.

Top
#897457 - 06/28/13 03:03 AM Re: the black mirror [Re: InlandAZ]
oldmariner Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/29/07
Posts: 1468
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ
The Black Mirror 2 & 3 used Starforce V5, the original V3 - that's probably why you had the issue.


Inland

That is exactly why I bought 2+3 from GOG. I have a no Starforce policy. That includes anything SONY.

Top
#897523 - 06/28/13 11:08 AM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6935
Loc: Arizona
Wow, I wasn't aware that GOG sold the games -

Top
#897637 - 06/28/13 10:15 PM Re: the black mirror [Re: judith]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 36025
Loc: southeast USA
He probably bought them at Shiny Loot
http://www.shinyloot.com/adventure-games

According to Shiny Loot, the Black Mirror 2 and 3 they sell have no "protection" type.

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
10 registered (Yankee Clipper, The Haze, BobH, Space Quest Fan, flutist, Cari, InlandAZ, soot, Marian, Mr. H), 56 Guests and 20 Spiders online.
Newest Members
zen, Prom361, ivanka, jctl, Osvfe
8694 Registered Users