GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#901921 - 07/18/13 03:11 AM Face Noir install problem
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 03/20/08
Posts: 1012
Loc: Hicksville, NY USA
Hi fellow Boomers. Tonight, I downloaded the Face Noir Setup file
from a link that I received in my e-mail from PO Studios. After I downloaded the setup file it was unusable because the file was named: Face Noir Setup. Remembering a similar situation in the past, I added ".exe" (without the quote marks, of course).. Now the game installed just fine, but when I clicked on the game desktop icon, I got an error message as follows: "Some of the essential game files cannot be loaded. Please reinstall the game and try again." I didthat, but the same error message ocurred again. I just contacted "help@postudios.com" by e-mail, so I expect a reply from them tomorrow (hopefully).
I posted this in case anybody is having the same problem.
Sandy

OOPS! I goofed on something. The game is running fine now.
Please disregard what I said about the game not running.
My info about the bad Face Noir Setup file still stands, however.
Just remember to rename the file by adding the .exe at the end.


Edited by sanford (07/18/13 03:51 AM)
Edit Reason: added text

Top
#902055 - 07/18/13 01:28 PM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: sanford]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6800
Loc: Arizona
Glad you got it sorted out thumbsup

Top
#902073 - 07/18/13 03:09 PM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: InlandAZ]
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 03/20/08
Posts: 1012
Loc: Hicksville, NY USA
Thanks, InlandAZ,
It's been well worth the wait for this game. I was fascinated with it since I played the German demo about a year ago. BTW, I DID get a reply from PO Support, and I explained my "goof" to them, and told them the game was running just fine. HAPPY GAMING
Sandy

Top
#902127 - 07/18/13 08:35 PM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: sanford]
lexxy Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 04/02/00
Posts: 3144
Loc: Southern Exposure
I plan to download the game tomorrow, an if I understand you correctly I can expect to have to add .exe at the end of the file setup in order to get my game to install properly. Peraps they will have corrected that over sight by now and I won't have to alter the file.
_________________________
carol
It doesn't cost a dime to be kind
----------------------------
Currently playing Companions Of Xanth

Top
#902128 - 07/18/13 08:54 PM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: lexxy]
Starcom Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 03/17/04
Posts: 436
Loc: Ottawa
That depends which Browser you use to download it from, if you use
Internet Explorer *10 they have their own Virus checker as you download and it tells you that this "Name of Game or Software you are downloading that the .exe file is considered dangerous", or something to that effect, I know because it happened to me with the Face Noir download and I didn't know about the trick submitted by sanford, so I re downloaded the game using Firefox and I got the game with the .exe.

*(might happen with 9, not too sure, been a long time I haven't used 9)

thanks Sandy for that tip, it wasn't the first time I got this message with downloads using IE 10, now I know what to do, and NO before the IE haters pipe in, I will Not ditch IE 10, I love it as much as FF.

Top
#902427 - 07/20/13 01:19 AM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: Starcom]
sanford Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 03/20/08
Posts: 1012
Loc: Hicksville, NY USA
I'm glad it worked for you, Starcom. My default browser is IE 8. Because I have WINXP, I cannot upgrade to a newer version, but I really don't have any issues with my present version of IE.
Enjoy the game!
Sandy

Top
#902590 - 07/21/13 07:06 AM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: sanford]
aretha Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/16/05
Posts: 383
Loc: near London Gatwick Airport
If I use IE8 I get error that FaceNoir.exe is not a valid Win32 application. By using Firefox I get a FaceNoirsetup.exe.part that I can't open on my XP system and the Part file claims it's in use and wont let me rename it.

Tech support, as mentioned is via email but I thought I'd ask here first. Thanks for any suggestions.
_________________________
I'm getting too old for this!

Top
#902625 - 07/21/13 09:23 AM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: aretha]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35363
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: aretha
By using Firefox I get a FaceNoirsetup.exe.part that I can't open on my XP system and the Part file claims it's in use and wont let me rename it.

A .part file appears while the file is still downloading. Let it finish. It may take a long long time for a large game.

You can periodically check the size of the .part file to make sure it's not "stuck" by right-clicking it and choosing Properties. The size should increase over time.

The makers of Firefox have decided to hide download boxes in their most recent versions. There is a way to restore the download box, but you have to edit Firefox's about:config.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/955545

Top
#902650 - 07/21/13 10:32 AM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: sanford]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9850
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
I don't mind the new little download arrow up at the top of Firefox, but I do miss the Pause option.

aretha, did you dry using compatibility mode on FaceNoir.exe? Right click, select Properties and the Compatibility tab.
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#902651 - 07/21/13 10:38 AM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: sanford]
aretha Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 09/16/05
Posts: 383
Loc: near London Gatwick Airport
Thanks for all the help. It was that simple. I didn't wait long enough to see that part file would be followed by setup.exe. Did eventually spot a small download bar on firefox that did a countdown for me and 45 minutes later I completed the download. Couldn't have done it without you...Thanks
_________________________
I'm getting too old for this!

Top
#902723 - 07/21/13 05:18 PM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: Jenny100]
Starcom Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 03/17/04
Posts: 436
Loc: Ottawa
WooHoo thank you praise Jenny100 for that link, after reading though it and finding the simplest solution offered by one of the users, BidABoom BidAboom, I now have the wonderful download manager back.

And I made myself quick and easy notes to follow if ever the next updates kill the download manager again.

Top
#902749 - 07/21/13 08:13 PM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: sanford]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9850
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Starcom, does it have the pause feature back too? If it does, I'm going for it!
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#902756 - 07/21/13 09:34 PM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: Draclvr]
Starcom Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 03/17/04
Posts: 436
Loc: Ottawa
Yes Draclvr, It has the Pause, Cancel, Clear list just like before.

And what I liked is that IE 10 (maybe even IE9) copied this wonderful feature from FF.

Top
#902760 - 07/21/13 09:57 PM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: sanford]
Draclvr Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9850
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Thank you! I'm off to get it back. And thank you, Jenny for posting it...
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#902761 - 07/21/13 10:15 PM Re: Face Noir install problem [Re: sanford]
SharonB Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 01/23/09
Posts: 934
Loc: Delaware, USA
I'm having a serious problem installing/running this game. I think it installed correctly. When I press the icon to start it I get the screen where you choose your display - 32bit, graphic card, etc. When I press the okay on that I get a black screen with a game cursor then my system reboots. I thought the aspect display might be a problem so I chose it both ways and still get the reboot.

Anyone have any ideas where I might have gone wrong with the installation? I originally downloaded to my external drive and tried to install it from there. When that didn't work I copied it to the desktop/games and installed it from there after extracting.

I don't know what else to do. It doesn't sound like anyone else has had this problem.

Sharon

PS: I let it install to C:\ProgramFiles\FaceNoir if that makes any difference. Also, I'm using XP.

PPS: AHA! I finally got it working. I extracted the setup file from within Program files. Don't know if that had any effect. Anyway I chose T&L this time (didn't notice it before) and now the game starts with no problem.

As usual, no sooner do I ask for help then I manage to solve the problem. Anyway, this might help someone else.

Yahoo! I can play!

Sharon


Edited by SharonB (07/21/13 10:51 PM)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
10 registered (Chuck M, abby, unowen, traveler, B_McAtee, Uncle Reg, RebKean, Marian, 2 invisible), 75 Guests and 14 Spiders online.
Newest Members
maggieann, charlene, mikcik, Trishpatsy, sosiebear1
8520 Registered Users