GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Topic Options
#918426 - 10/12/13 06:37 PM stack overflow
kjos Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5433
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
Once in a while this popped up. What does that mean and how do I stop it. Thanks
Richard
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#918435 - 10/12/13 08:06 PM Re: stack overflow [Re: kjos]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6802
Loc: Arizona
It's an area in storage that contains pointers to other memory addresses, sub-routine execution states, or any number of other values.

I haven't seen a stack overflow in years, so this must be an older program. If it occurs under emulation, like Virtual PC running DOS, you can increase the number of stacks allocated in CONFIG.SYS. The format of the parameter varies based on the version you're running.

What are you running when you see it?

Top
#918447 - 10/12/13 10:09 PM Re: stack overflow [Re: kjos]
Draclvr Online   content
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 9860
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Goodness, I haven't seen a stack overflow since XP and that's been a long time ago...
_________________________
Gardening is better than therapy. Plus you get tomatoes.

Top
#918481 - 10/13/13 05:13 AM Re: stack overflow [Re: kjos]
kjos Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5433
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
I'm running win.xp
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#918484 - 10/13/13 06:54 AM Re: stack overflow [Re: InlandAZ]
mj2c Offline
Settled Boomer

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 893
Originally Posted By: InlandAZ

I haven't seen a stack overflow in years, so this must be an older program. If it occurs under emulation, like Virtual PC running DOS, you can increase the number of stacks allocated in CONFIG.SYS. The format of the parameter varies based on the version you're running.


STACKS in CONFIG.SYS only effects the stacks used by interrupts IIRC. Don't think it effects
an individual apps stack. It's been a long time though so I could be wrong:-)

Top
#918491 - 10/13/13 08:58 AM Re: stack overflow [Re: kjos]
Robert Gault Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/16/06
Posts: 1268
For what it is worth, there is no config.sys in WinXP but rather WINDOWS/system32/config.nt. This file is used to "set up the MS-DOS environment if not already done by a pif file." Config.sys should be from the Win98SE and older OS.

I've not seen any stack overflows with the games I play which means little. My config.nt file contains
dos=high, umb
device=%SystemRoot%\system32\himem.sys
device=%SystemRoot%\emm386.exe
EMM = RAM
STACKS=16,512
files=100
buffers=50

Top
#918507 - 10/13/13 09:55 AM Re: stack overflow [Re: kjos]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35373
Loc: southeast USA
Does this happen when you're playing a game?
Or does it happen sporadically on your XP computer when you haven't been playing any games?
Are you doing anything in particular when you get the stack error.

If you get stack errors in XP and they aren't from any particular program or game, suspect a virus or some sort of misconfiguration or damage to XP.

Top
#918525 - 10/13/13 12:00 PM Re: stack overflow [Re: kjos]
kjos Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 10/11/01
Posts: 5433
Loc: Beverly Hills, Florida
The only time it happens is when I surf the web.
Not to often. should i be worried at all. thanks
Richard
_________________________
***To Error is Human**To Forgive is Divine***

Top
#918526 - 10/13/13 12:03 PM Re: stack overflow [Re: mj2c]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6802
Loc: Arizona
That is correct, but if you're running DOS, or an older version of Windows under emulation, it can still be an issue -

Top
#918527 - 10/13/13 12:04 PM Re: stack overflow [Re: kjos]
InlandAZ Online   content
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6802
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: kjos
The only time it happens is when I surf the web.
Not to often. should i be worried at all. thanks
Richard


Try disabling your plug-ins and surf around a bit - does it still occur?

Top
#918597 - 10/13/13 08:38 PM Re: stack overflow [Re: kjos]
Robert Gault Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/16/06
Posts: 1268
And what program do you use for your Web surfing?

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
9 registered (CanukDenis, Marian, Chief, Pokey, Cathy1, Yankee Clipper, InlandAZ, aretha, 1 invisible), 69 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
maggieann, charlene, mikcik, Trishpatsy, sosiebear1
8520 Registered Users