GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
Big Fish Games Homepage    
Topic Options
#927794 - 12/03/13 05:01 PM Alter Ego Glitch
Tinalyn48 Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 12/03/13
Posts: 9
Loc: Oregon, USA
I know this is an older game, but could anyone help me figure out why I can't see the characters during gameplay? I have updated my video drivers, reinstalled the game twice, but no luck. It installs and runs perfectly fine but the characters are invisible. Makes for frustrating play!! I would appreciate any insight:)

Top
#927795 - 12/03/13 05:03 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35620
Loc: southeast USA
Doesn't sound like a glitch.
Sounds like your video card doesn't meet the system requirements. Either that or you have the wrong video drivers for the game. The latest aren't the best if you have an older card.

What type of video card do you have?
If you don't know, check the Display tab of dxdiag (Start button, search for dxdiag with Vista or Win7), or run a utility like BelArc or Speccy to find out what video card you have.

Top
#927800 - 12/03/13 05:21 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
Tinalyn48 Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 12/03/13
Posts: 9
Loc: Oregon, USA
Intel (R) HD Graphics (3icore)
64MB of dedicated memory
and driver date is 7/28/2010

Top
#927801 - 12/03/13 05:25 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6860
Loc: Arizona
It's the graphics processor, it doesn't support the game.

Top
#927803 - 12/03/13 05:26 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
Tinalyn48 Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 12/03/13
Posts: 9
Loc: Oregon, USA
So...there's nothing I can do?? Bummer:((

Top
#927804 - 12/03/13 05:29 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
Tinalyn48 Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 12/03/13
Posts: 9
Loc: Oregon, USA
Are there still such things as patches or are those just for older games?

Top
#927806 - 12/03/13 05:31 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10208
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
If you're asking about a patch for this game, it won't help because your graphics processor does not support the game.
_________________________
Fireplace, yarn, knitting needles, books, wine... check. Yup, I'm ready for winter.

Top
#927809 - 12/03/13 05:41 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
Tinalyn48 Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 12/03/13
Posts: 9
Loc: Oregon, USA
So that means that I cannot play it? Is my card that out of date?

Top
#927811 - 12/03/13 05:59 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10208
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
No, you just have a graphics processor that is not meant to play games. The Core i3 is a fine computer processor with a graphics chip built in to the processor itself. It's not really a card, but is an integrated graphics processor - it is not meant for playing games. Even newer adventure games have higher graphics requirements.

Especially if this is a laptop, there is nothing you can do. If it were a desktop you might be able to install a stand-alone video card.
_________________________
Fireplace, yarn, knitting needles, books, wine... check. Yup, I'm ready for winter.

Top
#927821 - 12/03/13 07:19 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Draclvr]
Tinalyn48 Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 12/03/13
Posts: 9
Loc: Oregon, USA
Thanks so much for the advice. I am going to try it on my desktop. Maybe that will be compatible:)

Top
#927823 - 12/03/13 07:52 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
Draclvr Offline
Adept Boomer

Registered: 06/03/05
Posts: 10208
Loc: In Missouri near St. Louis
Good luck and let us know how it works out!
_________________________
Fireplace, yarn, knitting needles, books, wine... check. Yup, I'm ready for winter.

Top
#927943 - 12/04/13 11:28 AM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6860
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: Tinalyn48
Thanks so much for the advice. I am going to try it on my desktop. Maybe that will be compatible:)


I would imagine you'd be just fine, even the lowest end desktop graphics processors provide full support for DX9.0c - If your running a GeForce 6200 or greater you'll at least be able to see the characters.

Let us know how it goes.

Top
#927992 - 12/04/13 04:36 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
HandsFree Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 07/05/08
Posts: 1104
Loc: Netherlands
I had the same problem with Alter Ego on my win7 64 bit laptop with intel graphics. But got it working.
I have the Shiny Loot download version; not sure if it's different for other versions but this worked for me:
Go to the folder where the game is installed. With my version I had no option of choosing where it would install (I hate that) and it went to C:\Program Files (x86)\Viva Media\Alter Ego US and run AlterEgo.exe from there. This way you get a screen with a 'Setup' choice. Somehow I didn't get that choice if I just started the game from the startmenu.
In the setup screen set Shader Level and Antialiasing level both to 0 (null).
_________________________
The Bass is the basis

Top
#927996 - 12/04/13 05:39 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: HandsFree]
InlandAZ Offline
Glitches Forum Moderator
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 08/14/02
Posts: 6860
Loc: Arizona
Originally Posted By: HandsFree
I had the same problem with Alter Ego on my win7 64 bit laptop with intel graphics. But got it working.
I have the Shiny Loot download version; not sure if it's different for other versions but this worked for me:
Go to the folder where the game is installed. With my version I had no option of choosing where it would install (I hate that) and it went to C:\Program Files (x86)\Viva Media\Alter Ego US and run AlterEgo.exe from there. This way you get a screen with a 'Setup' choice. Somehow I didn't get that choice if I just started the game from the startmenu.
In the setup screen set Shader Level and Antialiasing level both to 0 (null).


Now that's a handy piece of info smile

I happened to have this game installed on one of my (long ago retired) work laptops with an Intel IGP. It does get the job done, although I didn't have to lower the AA level - thanks.

Top
#928185 - 12/05/13 04:50 PM Re: Alter Ego Glitch [Re: Tinalyn48]
Tinalyn48 Offline
Junior Boomer

Registered: 12/03/13
Posts: 9
Loc: Oregon, USA
You guys are awesome. Thanks for the intel. Got it installed and running through Steam on my desktop, no prob...except

Problem I am having now is I have made it to the part where Briscol is viewing the contents of Lockley's suitcase in the archives; gest Dr. Sewards number and calls his wife: when I try to read Mad Williams diary, it does not give me the prompt to go to the tailor shop, therefore no tailor shop visible on map...any ideas? was I supposed to read the diary prior to that somewhere?

I will post this in game discussion also:)

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
13 registered (bermag45, Chief, Marian, Gimme, Billy the Kid 64, Chuck M, CanukDenis, BrownEyedTigre, barlouwin, hagatha), 89 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
Elentgirl, tiathyme, Mr_Underhill, Lani, Rachissa
8581 Registered Users