GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.
GB Reviews Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games GB Annual Game Lists GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

GB @ witter

About Us
Walkthroughs free games galore Independent Games World of Adventure Patches Game Publishers & Developers GameBoomers Store
The Adventure Shop Big Fish Games Homepage
Topic Options
#954062 - 05/04/14 01:57 PM Question about Firefox menu
Pokey Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/01/99
Posts: 5488
Loc: California
This has been bothering me for a while. The Firefox menu in the upper left---File, Edit...Bookmarks has always looked bad, black text on dark gray. With updating to Firefox 29, the menu is a bit brighter. My husband's laptop and desktop have a menu that is white text on a bright blue band. I have searched to find a way to make mine look like his with no luck. Does anyone know how to do this?

Top
#954072 - 05/04/14 03:14 PM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
Go to the Firefox addons site at
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/
and click on Themes

or go straight to
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/themes/

When you see a theme you like, add it to Firefox.

One interesting thing this site does is to let you see what the theme looks like on your Firefox before you choose it. Just position your mouse over the picture of the theme, and your menu area will take on the theme in a sort of preview. It may take a couple seconds to register, depending on your computer. If it doesn't, move the mouse away from the theme and move it back and it will usually "take" on the second try.

This one is white on bright blue
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/blue-to-blue/

Here's a darker blue
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/blue-transition/

Top
#954074 - 05/04/14 03:20 PM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5460
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
Pokey see if this Mozilla help page lets you do what you want.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#954082 - 05/04/14 03:39 PM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Pokey Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/01/99
Posts: 5488
Loc: California
Thanks Jenny, lots of choices. I didn't care for the blue used in that theme, so I chose Dark Fox, white on black. Looks good.

Homer, that page doesn't want to load.

Top
#954083 - 05/04/14 03:51 PM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA

Top
#954090 - 05/04/14 04:11 PM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Pokey Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 06/01/99
Posts: 5488
Loc: California
That's a nice one. White on black looks good and a bit of color to jazz it up. I had fun looking at all the themes. The owls and Snoopy were cute.

Top
#954097 - 05/04/14 04:43 PM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Marian Offline
Moderator
Graduate Boomer

Registered: 07/04/00
Posts: 19481
Loc: near Yosemite in California
I just put the Snoopy one on my web browser. smile

Thanks for those links, Jenny. wave

Top
#954100 - 05/04/14 04:59 PM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
Originally Posted By: Pokey
Homer, that page doesn't want to load.

Homer's link had an extra https in it.
I removed it, so the link should work now.
https://https:// isn't going to work.

Originally Posted By: Pokey
That's a nice one. White on black looks good and a bit of color to jazz it up.

I like the contrast, overall dark, but with a touch of color to keep it from being a flat black.

Top
#954303 - 05/06/14 01:34 AM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Jenny100]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5460
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
That's interesting. I simply C&V the url for that page.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top
#954369 - 05/06/14 10:42 AM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
I don't know where the extra http:// came from, Homer, but on occasion I've gotten it too when using "automatic" link makers where you type in the link and the name as prompted. That's one reason I like typing in my links manually using the [ u r l = ... [ / u r l ] instead of using the automatic thing.

Top
#954373 - 05/06/14 10:58 AM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Jenny100]
traveler Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/14/10
Posts: 3205
Loc: Rivellon
Jenny,

When you click on the link icon in Gameboomers, the space for the link to be pasted already contains http://.
I'm reasonably sure more than one of us hasn't paid attention and removed the extra http:// before hitting OK.
I know I've done it.

Gil.
_________________________
"Best not to think about it. I don't want to fall to bits 'cos of excess existential thought."

Top
#954376 - 05/06/14 11:13 AM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
That's probably what happened with Homer's link then.
I've noticed it more with other websites, where the procedure for creating a link is more complex than using the [ u r l = ... [ / u r l ]
I've also had it happen at the web archive. Even after removing the extra http:// it can sometimes come back. Very annoying.

Top
#954379 - 05/06/14 11:28 AM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Jenny100]
traveler Offline
Addicted Boomer

Registered: 01/14/10
Posts: 3205
Loc: Rivellon
Yeah, I'm fairly sure that's what happened to Homer6's link.

The trouble with typing a URL is that the thing is often miles long.
It's so much easier to copy and paste.
So I guess we're stuck with having to pay attention and removing the extra http://.

Gil.
_________________________
"Best not to think about it. I don't want to fall to bits 'cos of excess existential thought."

Top
#954381 - 05/06/14 11:32 AM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Pokey]
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Registered: 10/24/00
Posts: 35199
Loc: southeast USA
You can copy and paste the link using the [ u r l = ... procedure too.
The manual part is typing in the [ u r l = ... ] ... [ / u r l ] part, not the link.

Top
#954433 - 05/06/14 04:20 PM Re: Question about Firefox menu [Re: Jenny100]
Homer6 Offline
BAAG Specialist

Registered: 04/18/02
Posts: 5460
Loc: Oklahoma, USA
Now that Gil mentioned it, I believe both of you are right how the extra http: was added. This isn't the first time I've run into this and it isn't the first time I didn't catch it.
_________________________
If something gets your goat, it just proves you have a goat to get.

Top

Moderator:  InlandAZ, Jenny100 

Who's Online
Key: Admin Global Mod Mod Staff  )
8 registered (RebKean, Sassy, kjos, curly, flotsam, Volkana, frazap, bermag45), 70 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Newest Members
GreenBoat, Spidermna133, kamoj, RebKean, gerald
8493 Registered Users