GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria #1023954
07/19/15 11:12 AM
07/19/15 11:12 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
I've just seen the original game has popped up on Steam. Yaaaay! There do seem to be a number of comments on their forum that it doesn't run on Win7. I'm on Win8 so I'm hoping it works. Anyone else had a go yet?

Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: lynthorpe] #1023963
07/19/15 12:04 PM
07/19/15 12:04 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 42,321
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 42,321
near Yosemite in California
Originally Posted By: lynthorpe
I've just seen the original game has popped up on Steam. Yaaaay! There do seem to be a number of comments on their forum that it doesn't run on Win7. I'm on Win8 so I'm hoping it works. Anyone else had a go yet?


That's interesting news - hopefully they will get the kinks out so that it runs without difficulties for players. wave

Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: Marian] #1023964
07/19/15 12:34 PM
07/19/15 12:34 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 31,280
United Kingdom
Mad Offline
Sonic Boomer
Mad  Offline
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 31,280
United Kingdom
I remember this little gem very well - in fact I wrote a brief review for it - and was sad that the developers weren't able to give us more yes


Time : The Most Precious Commodity
Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: Laurette] #1023967
07/19/15 12:51 PM
07/19/15 12:51 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
It's running ok on my Win8. Bit stuttery but ok. But.....I can't access the game menu. With Win8 all I get is Windows Help. What do I have to do to the F1 key to access the menu?

Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: lynthorpe] #1023985
07/19/15 04:12 PM
07/19/15 04:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
You may have to wait for help from Steam.
They list their version as compatible with XP/Vista/7/8

The original CD version was made for Windows 95/98/ME/2000/NT4.0

The person who posted in the Steam forum that it didn't run in Windows 7 had the disc version, not the Steam version.
http://steamcommunity.com/app/365730/discussions/0/598199244893921468/

Who knows if Steam actually made any changes to their version that would improve compatibility over the original.

It's interesting that the Steam page for the game at
http://store.steampowered.com/app/365730/
lists the Wikipedia page for the game as the "game website" and
the Gameboomers walkthrough for the "game manual."

Did your game come with a pdf manual?

I've emailed you a scan of pages 16-17 of the manual, which are about the Options screen.
It should give an idea of what you're supposed to see.
However if F1 isn't working to bring up the manual, I don't think it will help much.

Quote:
What do I have to do to the F1 key to access the menu?

Just press it. The screen to save, load, quit and adjust options should appear.
If it doesn't, the game isn't working as described.
You could try other keys to see if any of them brings up the Options screen.

Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: lynthorpe] #1024034
07/20/15 03:27 AM
07/20/15 03:27 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
FI defaults to Windows Help so doesn't work ingame. I tried restarting and pressing Esc but nothing happened. So as things stand, I can play the game fine but can't save! I've posted on Steam but heard nothing yet.

Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: lynthorpe] #1024042
07/20/15 05:31 AM
07/20/15 05:31 AM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 979
Kiev, Ukraine
Iurii Offline
Settled Boomer
Iurii  Offline
Settled Boomer

Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 979
Kiev, Ukraine
I have tried launching this game in Windows 7 & Windows 10 - everything works fine for me in both of them!
I have original Russian disks, not Steam version though - but it is still the same game with F1 for the menu.
I don't have Windows 8 and have no idea why F1 does not work there - you can try enabling Windows 95 compatibility mode, or wait and update to Windows 10 smile

Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: lynthorpe] #1024059
07/20/15 09:06 AM
07/20/15 09:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
I've figured it out. Yaaay! After a lot of trawling I found a very simple solution. Press and hold the function key at the same time as F1. So I can now save my game and access other options.
Iurii..I think it was you who also replied to me on Steam. Thanks.

Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: lynthorpe] #1024076
07/20/15 09:53 AM
07/20/15 09:53 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,644
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: lynthorpe
After a lot of trawling I found a very simple solution. Press and hold the function key at the same time as F1.

Are you using a laptop?
I've only seen function keys on laptops.
Maybe this is a quirk of certain laptop models and nothing to do with Windows 8.

Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: lynthorpe] #1024101
07/20/15 12:31 PM
07/20/15 12:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,649
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Draclvr  Offline
Reviews Editor - Hints/Glitches Mod - Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,649
In Missouri near St. Louis
I'm working on a laptop right now on which you can only invoke the F1 etc. functions by using the function key. I'll bet that's what lynthorpe has.


114 tomatoes planted!
Re: Gilbert Goodmate and Mushroom of Phungoria [Re: lynthorpe] #1024191
07/21/15 04:18 AM
07/21/15 04:18 AM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
L
lynthorpe Offline OP
Settled Boomer
lynthorpe  Offline OP
Settled Boomer
L

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 254
UK
Yup. It's an HP laptop. I'm not very techie and there was lots of stuff about restarting and hitting Esc on startup to access BIOS and disable the F keys. I tried that but it didn't work. You seem to have to time it just right and that is NOT easy. Being so IT illiterate, I worry about messing too much with settings.So glad I found such a simple solution. I'm well into the game now.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Uncle Reg), 32 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
Sean, dibbzlive, Parobot, Fitzie, Beckymc
9255 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™