GAMEBOOMERS provides you with all the latest PC adventure computer games information, forum, walkthroughs, reviews and news.

GB Reviews

Latest & Upcoming Adventure Games

GB Annual Game Lists

GB Interviews

BAAGS

GB @ acebook

About Us

Walkthroughs

free games galore

Game Publishers & Developers

World of Adventure

Patches

GB @ witter

GameBoomers Store

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
DNS Server #1096825
01/15/17 12:08 PM
01/15/17 12:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
When having a connection problem, is a DNS Server something in my computer or is that a Internet Explorer problem?

I'm sorry if I may have asked this question before.

Thank you.

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096830
01/15/17 12:17 PM
01/15/17 12:17 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Online content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Online Content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
This is the "official" definition of a DNS (domain name server).

Quote:
A Domain Name System
(DNS) server is a computer system that answers queries for domain names. Typically, a DNS server is used to resolve a domain name to an IP address.


Probably still doesn't help you, but in any case, it is not on your computer, but rather in your ISP connections and definitely not in IE. When I get this error, it means my wireless router is working, but there is no signal coming into the router from my ISP. In other words, they are having an outage.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096836
01/15/17 12:28 PM
01/15/17 12:28 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
So, my AT&T service? It doesn't have to do with somebody hacking into my computer or service though does it?

Last edited by oldbroad; 01/15/17 12:29 PM.
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096853
01/15/17 01:55 PM
01/15/17 01:55 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Online content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Online Content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
No, it doesn't.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096854
01/15/17 01:56 PM
01/15/17 01:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
A connection problem doesn't have to be caused by a DNS problem. It can also be caused by a routing problem or a problem with a particular website.

What is DNS for?

People tend to remember web addresses like gameboomers.com better than they remember IP numbers.

But computers understand IP numbers, like 74.116.1.2

A DNS service matches the web address (gameboomers.com) to the current IP number (74.116.1.2).

Usually people use the DNS service that their Internet Provider gives them. But you can also manually enter the IP address of a different DNS server (like Google's) into your Windows Network settings, or into your router.

For example, 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 are Google's Public DNS servers.

If you use AT&T you are probably using these DNS servers
https://www.whatsmydns.net/dns/usa/att.html

Say you type gameboomers.com into your web browser. Your computer contacts the DNS server (which is out on the Internet) and asks "What is the IP number for gameboomers.com?"
The DNS server replies "74.116.1.2"
and the computer uses that IP number to send you to the gameboomers.com website.

Occasionally there are problems with a DNS server and it's slow or doesn't answer DNS requests at all (meaning sluggish Internet or not connecting to the website you want at all). If that happens, you can configure your computer to use a different DNS server, at least temporarily (Google's 8.8.8.8 is easy to remember).

There are DNS spoofing attacks that can be very serious. Your individual computer doesn't have to have malware on it for you to become a victim.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DNS_spoofing

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096891
01/15/17 06:19 PM
01/15/17 06:19 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
Thanks Draclvr and Jenny100.

It was very sporadic earlier. I could get on, then I couldn't. I could get on Gameboomers but not GOG or vice-versa. I hope it is okay now. Just came back to it.

I don't have a lot of connection issues so I'm never really sure if it's AT&T or something else.

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096903
01/15/17 06:54 PM
01/15/17 06:54 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Online content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Online Content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
NORMALLY, it's just your ISP being contrary. If it happens all the time and these issues last for a long time, then you should contact your ISP.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096904
01/15/17 06:58 PM
01/15/17 06:58 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
Oh, and Jenny, it said DNS Server isn't responding. I didn't just assume that its was a DNS problem. I wouldn't even know to assume that.

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096905
01/15/17 07:11 PM
01/15/17 07:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
If the problem is with the DNS server that your ISP is using, you can change the IP number for the DNS server in Windows (and connect to a DNS server that is working).

If the problem is that there's no connectivity between your computer and the DNS server because your Internet is down, you have to wait until your ISP sorts itself out.

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096927
01/15/17 09:57 PM
01/15/17 09:57 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
Thanks Jenny. I'm going to say it was the latter. I don't know. I'm just glad it's working right again.

Well, actually, I just tried getting to Outlook and got the couldn't connect because the DNS server isn't responding, so maybe it's not all fixed.

Whatever...

Last edited by oldbroad; 01/15/17 10:04 PM.
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096940
01/16/17 12:59 AM
01/16/17 12:59 AM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
It is still giving me problems. Besides saying the DNS server isn't responding it also says: your computer is trying to use a DNS server that is incorrect or doesn't exist. Won't come up, won't come up, won't come up and then after trying a few times and doing the "fix connection problems" a few times it comes up. Not necessarily all sites though. Very weird to me.

I hope it will be back to normal tomorrow.

Last edited by oldbroad; 01/16/17 01:02 AM.
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1096941
01/16/17 01:27 AM
01/16/17 01:27 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Online content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Online Content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
If it isn't call AT&T...


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1097616
01/20/17 07:23 PM
01/20/17 07:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
C
Collector Offline
Settled Boomer
Collector  Offline
Settled Boomer
C

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
Have you tried to flush the DNS resolver cache? If Windows open an elevated command prompt (search > type "cmd" > right click on cmd.exe and choose "Run as administrator") At the prompt type:

Code:
ipconfig/flushdns
and press Enter.


Owner, author of The Sierra Help Pages
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1097618
01/20/17 08:23 PM
01/20/17 08:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
Thanks Collector and no, I didn't.

After a couple of days it was somewhat better but I went and unplugged and re-plugged everything and it has been fine since then.

Do you think the weather could have caused problems? It was fine in my area but maybe wherever the signal bounces around was having some of that bad weather that was going around last week.

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1097622
01/20/17 09:17 PM
01/20/17 09:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA

Originally Posted By: oldbroad
Do you think the weather could have caused problems?

No, I think it was AT&T having issues.
The signal doesn't "bounce around" unless you're using wireless, and you mentioned unplugging and re-plugging so I assume you're using cables.

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1097633
01/20/17 10:56 PM
01/20/17 10:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
No, I'm not wireless. It was just a thought that maybe the weather affected the DNS server or somehow was causing AT&T to have issues. Whatever, as long as it's better now and wasn't totally unusable then either.

Thanks!

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1115903
06/30/17 01:33 PM
06/30/17 01:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
My internet or DNS server or something (I think it said something about my router not connecting to the DNS Server) kept going in and out last night. I could not even look at all of the new GB posts or my email. cry

I sure hope it is working tonight!

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1115905
06/30/17 01:35 PM
06/30/17 01:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,046
near Yosemite in California
Marian Offline
Global Moderator
Marian  Offline
Global Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 41,046
near Yosemite in California
I sure hope so too, oldbroad. Being cut off like that is an awful feeling.

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1115912
06/30/17 02:41 PM
06/30/17 02:41 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
You can always use a different DNS server.
By default you'd probably be using your ISP's DNS, but there are multiple public DNS you could use.

Google's is easy to remember

8.8.8.8
or
8.8.4.4

But you can find more online.

You can temporarily set your computer to use a specific DNS server on your computer, then change it back when you think the problem is cleared up.

Here are instructions
https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-change-dns-servers-in-windows-7-2626271

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1115933
06/30/17 07:27 PM
06/30/17 07:27 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
Thank you Jenny. You know I am not too confident "fiddling".

It was not working when I turned the computer on. From my PC to Ruby Fish was ok but from Ruby Fish to internet was not. The troubleshooter said my broadband modem was experiencing connectivity issues. I unplugged the router and the modem and let the (very hot) modem cool down. It is working for the time being. I hope that was all it needed.

I have no other access to the internet and find I do panic a little without it now that I'm so used to having it.

Fingers crossed.

Maybe next week when I am back at work I will print out some info from your link in case I want to ever try it. I never replaced my broken printer.

Would changing the DNS server be something that Steam would detect and question?

Last edited by oldbroad; 06/30/17 07:28 PM.
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1115936
06/30/17 07:35 PM
06/30/17 07:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Originally Posted By: oldbroad
Would changing the DNS server be something that Steam would detect and question?

No, Steam won't be looking at what DNS server you're using.

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1115939
06/30/17 07:40 PM
06/30/17 07:40 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
Thanks.

Just wondered since they know when you're on a different computer in the next room.

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1115958
06/30/17 09:49 PM
06/30/17 09:49 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
Draclvr Online content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Draclvr  Online Content
Hints & Glitches forum Moderator Site Support
Graduate Boomer

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,918
In Missouri near St. Louis
Many of my secure websites also "know" when I'm on a different computer. When I use my Surface tablet, I'm often told I need to re-enter my security information.


Still at home, snuggled in my computer corner with my little heater and secretly loving not having to go anywhere!
Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1116786
07/06/17 11:11 PM
07/06/17 11:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
oldbroad Offline OP
BAAG Specialist
oldbroad  Offline OP
BAAG Specialist

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,676
Chicago
Same darn thing tonight. Internet came on for awhile, then has been out for the last 4 hours. Don't know how long it will stay on now and I should be sleeping now anyway. Unplugging and plugging didn't do the trick this time. Argh!! Since it said again the my broadband modem is experiencing connectivity issues, I was wondering if it might be my equipment. Or maybe because DSL comes through my land line and AT&T is trying to do away with land lines so they are sabotaging my internet. duh

Re: DNS Server [Re: oldbroad] #1116792
07/07/17 12:41 AM
07/07/17 12:41 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
Jenny100 Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Jenny100  Offline
GB Reviewer Glitches Moderator
Sonic Boomer

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 40,608
southeast USA
If it's the DNS server, you can just use a different one.
All the DNS server does is map www addresses to IP numbers, so if you type www.gameboomers.com into your browser, the DNS server says "that's 74.116.1.2" (at least it is at the moment), and so the router knows where to send your website request. DNS servers should all have the same information, though some can be faster than others.

But if the problem is all connectivity being lost, there's not much you can do about it other than complain to your ISP.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Draclvr, Jenny100 

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Demosthenes), 52 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Staff, Mod
Newest Members
boys5times, alibab2004xx, AdipsonStudio, booooo, anon
9215 Registered Users
Powered by UBB.threads™